We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sultanahmet - not the place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sultanahmet Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sultanahmet Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torun Sokak, No:19 | 34122 Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sultanahmet - not the place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A positive - location. Right between the Bosphorous and the Blue Mosque. Ask for room on Bosphorous side away from the mosque as the call to prayer is VERY LOUD! Close to lots of interesting things. Lovely view of Bosphorous from roof top.
Many negatives - food wasn't great. The internet was TERRIBLE - didn't work half the time and when it did - it as weak and sporadic. Had to go down at 2 p.m. to ask for my room to be cleaned. The 'cleaning station' - where cleaning staff gathered and sheets etc kept - was right across the hall from our room - and the staff that were in there on a regular basis during the day were also very loud - visiting and chatting while guests were trying to sleep. Bought soccer tickets from man at front desk - as in he arranged for us to buy them - paid through the nose, didn't have seats per se - he didn't tell us it wasn't the normal stadium but a stadium that was over one hour by cab away, etc. The television was a joke - few channels, tiny and crappy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    57
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
62
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had four nights at this hotel while in Istanbul recently. 5 min walk through the Arasta Bazaar brought us straight to the Blue Mosque and all the other main attractions in the old city.
Beautiful gardens in front of and down the side of the hotel. Lovely decor in the main foyer and bedrooms. Breakfast on the deck overlooking the Maramara Sea was a great start to the day.
Staff weren't particularly friendly - just did what they had to; but everything else made up for their lack of service.

Room Tip: try and get a room on the top floor on the side overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a great stay at this Hotel. Travelling with a 10 mnth baby we had certain demands, which was all met professionally by the staff. We have visited IST many times before, but this was our first stay at this Hotel. We will definately stay here for all of our coming visits. Great experience in every way!

The location in almost unreal. Ask for a room with balcony

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located close to major attractions inc. Blue Mosque, Spice market, Grand Bazaar. Very comfortable, nice breakfast. Stayed with two other couples and it was a great base for our stay in Istanbul. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Bosporus side I suspect were the queiter ones away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in Byzantine style, with a roof top restaurant overlooking Bosporus, where breakfast is served. The rooms are nothing spectacular, but very clean. The announced hammam in the room was quite a disappointment as we could not figure out how to use it properly, but as the bathroom was tiny, presence of hammam made it inconvenient to take regular shower.

Due to extreme proximity to the Blue Mosque (the view is absolutely stunning) be prepared to wake up with the first prayer at 4 AM, which was quite unexpected. Closed windows and turned on AC do not muffle the sound.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently stayed at this establishment (with Wife of 31 years) for our first trip to Istanbul. Having stayed in various mid level hotels throughout Italy and Greece, this was the best. The hotel is very clean, the rooms spacious and it is within walking distance of all major sites. Our room was on the eastern side, 1st floor, spacious with excellent air conditioning and a Turkish shower which, if you havent experienced, you really are missing a treat.The only thing better than the accomodation was the service from the staff at the hotel. They could not do enough to assist and their recommendations and advice was 'gold'. Would look forward to returning to this hotel and recommending it without hesitation.

Room Tip: In the hot weather it would be best to not have a room exposed to the setting sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 days at this hotel in Istanbul. Prior to our booking it, we did extensive research to find a hotel we thought would measure up to our needs and requirements. We are so pleased that, for us, we made the correct choice. It is ideally situated in the "old" part of Istanbul, close to the various famous mosques and other places of interest. It is a 5 minute walk to get a tram and two stops from the Grand Bazaar as well as many restaurants and shops. We paid a little more in order to have a deluxe room and were not sorry to have done so as the room and its amenities were "top drawer", while the view from the outside balcony of the Bosphorus River was superb. The staff were really good, helpful and efficient. Special mention must be made of Cevat, on reception when we checked in, who was professional and able to impart excellent advice as to how/where to go, to eat etc. We will return to this fantastic city and will have no hesitation whatsoever of staying at this hotel again.
Peter Francis, Cape Town, South Africa. (pwfrancis@yahoo.co.uk).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultanahmet Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet Palace Hotel

Address: Torun Sokak, No:19 | 34122 Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#114 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#116 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#213 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanahmet Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Palace hotel( Otel Sultanahmet Sarayı ) is a boutique hotel located at the centre of the old city of Istanbul next to the mosaic museum and historic blue mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sultanahmet Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultanahmet Palace Istanbul
Hotel Sultanahmet Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultanahmet Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.