We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avicenna hotel: very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avicenna Hotel to your Saves list
Avicenna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avicenna hotel: very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed for four day's in the Avicenna hotel. The employees were very friendly and helpful. A big compliment for them! The hotelroom was clean and nice furnished and the beds were comfortable. The room was not big, but big enough. We definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    348
    125
    41
    42
See reviews for
121
378
43
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a great stay 2 nights - friendly staff, good breakfast in a beautiful small boutique Hotel. Clean basic accommodation in a perfect location close to the Blue Mosque. Also great value & I would highly recommend this Hotel to which we will be returning soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for your comment.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have just had a 3 night stay at The Avicenna and it was wonderful. It is a very pretty hotel in a tiny cobbled street close to so many of the main attractions. The rooms were clean, spacious and the beds very comfy. The breakfast room was lovely and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. We pre booked a people carrier before leaving the UK and it was an excellent service, for four of us it cost €20 each way. We used Istanbul Airport Taxi's and would recommend them. The Blue mosque is literally around the corner and is an impressive site. We visited Sophia Hagia and the Topaki Palace and a must see are the roman cisterns. The lovely tour advisor at the hotel will greet you and give you a map so ask her to point it out. The only problem is finding it in the street! It is not too well signposted but ask at any of the cafes across from Sophia Hagia and people will direct you. We walked to the grand bazaar and then decided to walk down to the Galata Bridge all through what seemed to be the local's bazaar, it was great. The people of Istanbul are very friendly and helpful and everybody were always polite. We have to add about eating at West Town Cafe Restaurant, just around the corner from the hotel. It was fantastic. Omar is the man to see, he is a real character and all the other guy's there are great too. Sherife, Yusef, Mr Curios, they are very friendly. We had our son and his friend with us and they spent time talking with them and we all had a great laugh, it was hubbie's 60th birthday and they brought out some cake and sang Happy Birthday in English and Turkish! So it made it really special for him. If you go say the Geezer sent you, they will know who you mean! We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for your comment.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights in Istanbul at the Avicenna Hotel. It's about a 30 min drive from Ataturk airport and you can expect to pay around 40 lira for a taxi ride. Make sure you have the hotel's name and phone number to give to the taxi driver. The hotel offers a return coach shuttle to the aiport for €6 per person which worked out only slightly cheaper for 2 of us than a taxi so if there are more than 2 of you - take a taxi. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff and there is one particular lady there who spoke very good English who gave us a map and told us a little about the area and asked if we wanted to book any trips etc. We booked the Bosphorous Boat Cruise half day for €25 each (make sure to ask for the shorter trip as she only offered us the whole day at €70 we had to ask if there was a shorter/cheaper one) There were also trips to the Turkish bath and Belly dance shows etc.

The hotel has a modern design, the rooms are small but cleaned everyday.
There is a minibar in the room with drinks and canned nuts. Beware that the teas and coffees are also chargeable at 4 or 5 lira a go and they do count them!
The breakfast buffet is served downstairs, it was basic but enough variety to keep everyone happy - cakes, various jams, bread, cheese, salad etc.
There is a restaurant upstairs called 'Sipsi' which was empty whenever we went up there. However, this meant that the service was really quick, the waiters are very polite, constantly changing ashtrays and refilling water etc. The food there is reasonably priced and tasty but the cheapest bottle of wine you will find in any restaurant there is 60 lira. There is a nice view from the terrace outside the restaurant which overlooks the Bosphorous.

The hotel in a really good location for the sites - 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Haga Sofia, Topkapi palace. 15 mins from the Grand Bazaar. It's a long walk across the other side to Beyoglu/Taksim so would recommend getting a tram or taxi there. There are plenty of restaurants up and down the street. Though be prepared for restaurant owners to ask you into their restaurant every time you pass. There are also a lot of little shops to buy supplies and gifts in which will be cheaper than the Bazaars. There is a nice restaurant which is quite hidden called 'Palatium' which we enjoyed, the prices were reasonable, the food and decor was nice and they have shishas/nargiles there. Not a lot of places have them as there is some sort of rule of the type of restaurant where they can and can't be smoked in.

The only complaint with the hotel really is the noise. The rooms are all very close to one another and have TVs built into the full length mirror on the wall which means that you can hear next door's TV really loudly. Also, the cleaning staff talked and shouted outside our door from 8am as we were right next to their cleaning supply cupboard! Also, the windows are so thin you can hear everything on the street morning and night- people shouting, vans coming up and down, birds squawking, cats fighting etc. This would be the thing that would put me off from staying there again. Perhaps the rooms on the other side of the hotel are better as they don't border the street but instead the walled garden area inside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor. We are happy to host you again in our Hotel.

As you know our buıldıng ıs hıstorıcal thats why we can not touch the constructıon.we apologıse for the noıse.

We try our best for talkıng wıth the guest to be quıet.we would lıke to tanks for your remark.our stuf wıll take consıderance of your opınıon for a better servıce.

Your always welcome back to hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattaya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

we staid in Avicenna for 4 nights and were pleased with the Hotel. The stuff is very kind and give good advises about sights and trips you should do in Istanbul.
the breakfast buffet is moderate, delicious and the changing warm dishes are very nice and welcome.
The room in the ground floor was good and had a good size for our time there. Unfortunately the bed was too soft and sagged. A new mattress seems required. The housemaid is very fast by preparing the room during breakfast and the cleanness is acceptable. Some dark spots on the flaggings and gouging is still OK but should to be renewed in near future.
Altogether we were very happy with the hotel and will suggest it to friends and relatives.

Room Tip: rooms in first floor are clairaudient
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to receive your generous comment.

We will take advantage of your comment for improving our service. For us the most important thing is your satisfaction.

Best regards,
Fikriye Yılmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very happy with the location as the main attractions of Istanbul are within walking distance of this location. We took a sea front walk also which was very pleasant.
We paid an extra £20 for balcony and sea view, and were lucky to enjoy warm sun in the morning even though it was January.
The hotel is a nice size, not too big nor too small.
The staff were approachable, helpful and friendly. Breakfast is served between 7:30 and 10:30 giving us time to lie in if we wished. (Would advise wearing earplugs early morning for anyone visiting Istanbul if they don't want to be woken by the wailing calls to prayer at 6 am(ish)).
There is a whirling dervish to music each night just outside the Arasta Bazaar at the top of the street. Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby for you to enjoy the typical delights that Istanbul has to offer. Overall a very nice hotel in an ideal location. If we go back to Istanbul, we'd definitely stay at the Avicenna Hotel again.

Room Tip: We paid an extra £20 for balcony and sea view, morning sun and less noise from the prayer calls whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor.

Our Hotel is 5mn to Blue Mosque by walking and 15 mn to the Grande Bazaar. So our location is great.

But it's not enough for us. The service is also very important. Our Hotel staff makes their best to help you.

We wouls like to see you again in our Hotel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Spent 4 nights last week. Very nice hotel. Clean room, friendly helpful staff. Great location, right near the major sights and easy to get over Gelata bridge by tram. I've seen comments about paying for coffee etc in room and at breakfast. Don't let it put you off, just part of the deal and only a few pounds over 4 days. Well worth it. I also saw the comment about wifi, it worked for me downstairs at breakfast, on the terrace at the top looking over the sea with a beer (nice view) and from my room. Thoroughly recommended.


Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the precious comments that you made through the Trip Advisor.

Our prices are very reasonably balanced with the service that we provide. Our guests have a good experience of Istanbul when they leave.

We are glad to hear that you want to come back to Turkey and want to say that you are always welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#203 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#208 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avicenna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.