We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel in a perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Avicenna Hotel to your Saves list
Avicenna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel in a perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I always worry that the really good reviews on Tripadvisor are probably by people who work at the hotel but this is really genuine. The hotel is in an amazing location only 5 mins walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. The call to prayer at 5:30 took a bit of getting used to but other than that we thought it was brilliant. The hotel have clearly responded to people's complaints as breakfast was excellent every day despite the fact that sometimes we turned up at 8:30 and sometimes at 9:45. There was still always plenty of food available and plenty of friendly staff to ask if you wanted anything else. The room was great, and again in response perhaps to people's complaints, there was a range of shampoo/shower gel/soap on hand provided by the hotel. The staff were always very helpful, particularly with upgrading us to a sea-view room and arranging for us to visit the florence Nightingale Museum on the Asian side. We would definitely recommend the hotel to any friends who were travelling to Istanbul!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Reg,

We would like to thank you for your comments. We appreciate your good observations and great experience about our Hotel. Also for taking your time and sharing your opinions with everybody else.

It was really nice to host you in our Hotel and we wish to see you again when you come back to Turkey.

It’s our commintment for us to make feel all our guests comfortable. I’m glad to hear that we had the chance to meet somebody like you.

Your are always welcome to our Hotel,

Best regards,

Fikriye Yilmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    311
    110
    37
    39
See reviews for
107
340
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Staff are nice and friendly, last day asked them to bring my suitcases down no one turned up to take it down so I took it down my self. Breakfast is ridicules the cereals were damp food selection was very little if you want fresh juice you need to pay extra asked for an omelet said need to pay extra. Location is very good walking distant to all tourist destination. But the general local public are very rude and ignorant airport staff are very rude and unhelpful. Istanbul is a nice city but not the best and will never return there again. We had 2 double room booked me,my wife my 16month old son and 2 sister we were given a double room with 2 single beds pushed together but the room was good size with a bath and shower. My sister got a very very small room 1 single bed a 1 broken fold up bed but they did change the room the following day to a double room. TV in the room has only 2 English news channels internet connection is working only certain times the tv in the room is very small and far from the bed it's not worth having the tv on.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Kabirmoynul
I would like to extend special thanks to you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. Before I begin my feedback I would like to extend my sincere apology. Only we need to know how we can make your vacation most enjoyable while you are still in the hotel.
Breakfast: We are offering Turkish Style Breakfast to match up with your Istanbul experience. Also we are purchasing the best quality of products because we don’t want to compromise the breakfast quality. That’s why we have four types of country cheeses 12 kinds of preserves, olive selections, cold cuts, fresh fruits and vegetables etc. We have also 4 types of cereals every morning on the buffet breakfast. If you have Caribbean vacation you are not able to see the selections above I mentioned but you have potential to see lots of tropical fruits.
Room: I believe Front Desk made an effort to change your stateroom which it solved the problem. As I mentioned above we just need to know. Resources might be limited but we want to show maximum effort to resolve your concern. Sorry for the limited English Channels.
Luggage service must be miss communication. Otherwise shouldn’t be issue.
Please contact with us if you are planning to stay another time I promise to made it up within possibilities and resources. We are still appreciated you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was just a nightmare, the rooms/nights overpriced, and the service very poor. The location was good. The bathroom was dirty, and when I asked why we couldn't get another room, since we asked for one on the first floor they said that we needed to pay 60€ extra per night (btw. Our room was in the basement).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear dinah001,
I would like to extend special thanks to you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. Before I begin my feedback I would like to extend my sincere apology. I know very well my apology is not going to bring the time back. I wish I met with you while you were in Istanbul. At the same time while we are receiving many positive comments about the service and hotel I am sad to hear that we weren’t able to meet your expectation. This is completely out of the frame of our commitment regarding guest service. If only the issue was cleanliness of the bathroom House Keeping team could made it up quickly and we could do something to recovery procedure. Regarding the room and prices are a different subject. As a matter affect your booking is for standard room and I admired our weekend prices higher than business days like other hotels. This is absolutely normal worldwide practice.
Please contact with us if you are planning to stay another time I promise to made it up within possibilities and resources. We are still appreciated you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have stayed there 3 times in the last 18 months. I travel for business and when I have days off that I want to spend at the Grand Bazaar I stay here. Rooms are very small. Hot water is scarce. The staff is friendly.
I have another trip to Istanbul next week and decided not to stay here again. The last time I stayed at this hotel I prepaid for a particular room and was told it was available, and when I got there the next day it was not.
Very close location to all the places you want to visit. While there you must go to "Sultan Ahmet Kufteci" a great treat to eat there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Balcony. Do not stay in top floor, you do have a limited view, but a narrow wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sudi T
It was pleasure to have in Avicenna Hotel Istanbul. We are extremely happy to hear that most of your experience met your expectation. Also I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your great experience and constructive comment with us. Also I sincerely apologized for missed communication about your room request. We are not able to promise specific room for future reservation but we take the guests request and try to accommodate depending of availability. We know there lots of choices but we are highly appreciated you stayed with us. We are looking forward to see you in near future. Thanks a Million.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was the best hotel that we have stayed in, the staff was very helpful and always happy to help .Staff at this Hotel where very fluent in English and you could actually have a conversation. The morning breakfast had a great choice of variety and very child friendly. The Hotel is ideally located with only a 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and the main high street. We have enjoyed our stay at this Hotel so much that we have made plans to revisit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sufian1982
Your comments and observations are extremely helpful to improve our product in order to serve you better on your next stay. What a wonderful pleasure to have in Avicenna Hotel Istanbul and hear that we were able to meet your expectation during your stay. Also I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your great experience with us. Thanks a Million.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel has many good things about it.We had a very warm welcome and the staff were very helpful at all times.I was helped to checkin on line and my boarding passes printed out.

It is in an excellent location within easy reach of the main sights but in a quiet area.

Our room 212 was quite small, but probably not too bad for central Istanbul. On the last night I was kept awake by a very noisy air conditioning unit under the window outside.
We were delighted to find that there was a kettle in the room, but disappointed to find that each tea bag costs 4TL.!! I went out early in the morning to a local store to get some so TAKE YOUR OWN!!!!!

We were also disappointed also with the breakfast which was adequate but unexciting.No danger of over eating!!! Would have liked a choice of fresh fruit.

All in all we were happy wit this hotel and glad we stayed in this area.

Room Tip: Not near the outdoor air conditioning unit!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Judithannewebb
Your comments, observations and experience are extremely helpful to improve our product in order to serve you better on your next stay. I sincerely apologized some of our offers didn’t meet your expectation. We are working on many projects and we want to implement earliest possible to see you back to our hotel near future. I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your great experience with us. Thanks a Million.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

hotel is very nice decorated, all rooms have new beds and furniture, bathroom is bit small but you have all you need and istanbul is for citytrip, not for spending day in room.
breakfast very well, cofee not super but i got some new cop when i asked. rooms downstairs have bit much steps to get there and no terras,better book groundfloorrooms or higher,
location is very good, just behind blue moscee and bazars. hotel has taxi service to airport.

Room Tip: best book on groundfloor or higher,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Marymena
Your comments, observations and experience are extremely helpful to improve our product in order to serve you better on your next stay. Absolutely we want to insure your stay is most enjoyable possible. We are trying our best by utilizing all resources to reach 5 Stars level hospitality. I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your great experience with us. Thanks a Million.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#176 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#201 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That‘s our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avicenna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.