We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Avicenna Hotel to your Saves list
Avicenna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Mumbai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome location and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Background: Came via Ireland here with spouse (10 weeks pregnant)

Great location: 5 minutes to Blue Mosque, 7 mins to Aya Sofia, 10 minutes to Topkapi palace and 15 minutes to Grand Bazaar. All this by walk from the hotel !!! Helpful staff: They call and book tours, evening dinner with a belly dancer show and generally help you with everything.

Two grouses: Our Air conditioning gave up cooling the room every day at around 3 am. They fixed it but it gave up still. But it worked finally on the day we left !!! Breakfast is the same stuff each day. Its a good spread but eggs (other than boiled) and fresh fruit juice are chargeable as an extra.

Shopping Tip: Walk to Grand Bazaar and take a tram ride to Spice Market and Taksim Square instead of using the Cab or asking the tour operator. You would have an enjoyable ride through Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    310
    110
    37
    39
See reviews for
107
339
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for three nights. The hotel was very handy for the main tourist sites – 10 – 15 minutes on foot max. We had room 102 which was on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel near the reception. The room was reasonably well appointed with electronic safe and good wifi access, beds comfortable, air conditioning worked well, but was rather too small with barely enough room to open two average-sized suitcases. The room overlooked a rather tatty area at the back towards although not directly adjacent to the railway line, the noise from which did not disturb us. There were rooms in an annex building that were directly adjacent to the railway line that could be impacted due to its close proximity. The room was ok for a 3-night stay but we would not have wanted to stay longer due to the fact that it was cramped. Breakfast was served in a bright and airy basement room overlooking a small courtyard. The food was more than adequate but an extra charge was made for certain items. The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a small but attractive veranda bar area on the top floor which had nice views across the Bosphorus. The hotel is close to a number of bars and restaurants. We had a couple of nice meals at the ‘Cosy Garden’ less than 3 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went to Istanbul as a surprise to celebrate our daughters 21st birthday. The hotel location was excellent within walking distance of Blue Mosque, Palaces and Grand Bazaar etc. Our rooms were small but clean and they replaced the towels everyday. There were tea and coffee facilities, but you had to pay for tea bags/coffee/milk etc and there was a mini bar in a fair sized fridge. We used the kettle but went and bought tea bags, small bottles of water etc as the prices were quite high to use the hotels own.The breakfast was good and it was nice to take it outside onto the courtyard.The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had told the holiday rep at Thomas Cook that it was a surprise treat for our daughters birthday, and that morning at breakfast they bought in a lovely cake and sang happy birthday!and shared out the cake with everyone in the breakfast room which was a nice gesture. We had an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant which was good value and the view from the restaurant is good. There is a small balcony with amazing sea view, but the surrounding area around the back of the hotel is grotty. The railway line runs behind the hotel and the trains are covered in graffiti and fairly frequent, but this wasn't a problem for us and we didn't hear them at night.
Avoid a room in the annex, as this is next to the railway line and noisy. The Grand Bazaar and Spice markets are fascinating and my poor husband endured three visits as he was with three women who like to shop! We would probably stay again, but would book directly with the hotel for a better rate.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the annex as although it looks nice next to the courtyard it is next to the railway l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked this hotel because its closeness to the touristic buildings of Sultanhamet and because it clearly stated in the website they would guarantee a quite night. Nothing of the sort. This particular hotel is few metres away from a rail line and trains run regularly during the night. The first night we were given a room that was pretty much by it, the noise and the rumble left us exhausted after a day spent flying into to the city. I asked for a new room and we were changed but it was not much better. We were told they do have quite rooms but you have to pay extra for them (!!!), that is not stated on the website!!. I noticed another couple complaining of the same so this seems to me is normal practice. On the bright side, service is good an the restaurant on the rooftop much better and cheaper than the touristic traps around so I suggest to have your meals here the first day before you adventure to find good eateries (none around, only very expensive touristic traps as I said)

I will be back to Istanbul but will stay in Galata, which is residencial, quite, and only 15-20 minutes walk from the touristic sites in Sultanhamet.

Room Tip: If you do book this hotel, call first to ensure they give you a quieter room, otherwise tiredness wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Avicenna Hotel looks a lot better in it's pictures than it does in reality. It took about 40 minutes to get to from the airport and costs about 40 Lira which is about 13 GBP. It is situated on a narrow cobbled street and you step directly into the street from the front door of the hotel. The location is about 200 metres from the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace so that is very good. Also the cobbled street leading up the hill to the Blue Mosque has a lot of similar small hotels and street cafes with good food and mini marts. The rooms are very small as is the bathroom. We had nowhere to store our luggage in the room so had to squeeze past it when going to bed. The bed was about 2 feet from the walls. There was a small table and chair but they were almost touching the wall and the bed. Coffee and tea making in the room was available but had to be paid for. There was no lift so access to the breakfast room was down a spiral staircase or two floors up to the small roof restaurant. The breakfast was poor with limited options and pastries that all tasted the same and cheese that had no taste. The staff were helpful and friendly and the decoration of the hotel pleasant. We were there during the high season and Istanbul is a very congested hilly town with not much open space so there are many very small hotels close to each other. For a decent sized room in a better hotel in high season expect to pay at least 145 GBP per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is quiet since some rooms are noisy. Our room on the ground floor level at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was thinking long time what opinion I should give for this hotel. Normally I will put Average for problems that I have but I decided for Very Good (... but should be only Good).
Hotel is located in the end of Sultanahmet close to train station but everywhere is close distance.

I was booking room for 5 nights plus transport from airport.

Transport was on time, driver can't speak english but he was smiling and offer something to drink after journey.

When we arrived to hotel, staff was kindly welcome us ... and offer rooms in basement !
I was little shocked becouse when I would like to look from the window I saw only beton wall !
After talking with hotel manager they offer me another room but from next day, one day I must stay in this basement room. It is only one night and I was tired after journey so go sleep and leave changing rooms for next day. Next day started from news that I will get new room on higher floor in the evening. I agree for this and started to sightsee city.
In the evening I have nice surprise - they gave me apartment on last floors so I was satisfied.

Apartment maybe was not very big but decoration was very nice in turkish style.
From room it was possible to go on balcony when was sitting all the time cat :)
It was also nice see on mosque.

Breakfast was little poor, everyday the same. To drink was some coffe, tea and juice (extra paid)but not any water. In the hotel was also some restaurant but it was nothing special to eat - much more better idea to go for meal outside.

In the end - I paid some extra charge for mini bar beverage but it was counted from two days before I come. Maybe only mistake (... I hope).

In average - hotel was ok, staff friendly but some minuses for down floor rooms and food.

Room Tip: Rooms in down floor (same floor that breakfast room) - see from window beton wall; Choose only room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The visit in June 2012 was a bit of a mixed bag. Our visit didn't begin well as on arrival our room had been given away. However, we were put up in the hotel next door that gave us the creeps (thank god not for too long)! As it was early morning we agreed and awaited to be moved to our room later that day. Unfortunately, the earliest time the room was available was at around 11am. We were provided the room right next to the reception area which was noisy, hot (a broken down AC and a toilet). After much deliberation I spoke to the manager and was upgraded to a room upstairs.

The rooms are small but clean and so are the bathrooms (quite tight). TV entertainment was pretty much all in Turkish, however we were out most of the day so was not an issue.
Once we were settled in this room service improved, incl. the use of the wifi. The breakfast was great but i still didn't understand why the fresh orange juice was at an extra cost. Staff in the kitchen were very accomodating.

The hotel is on a street where most boutique hotels are lined up so location cannot be discounted. We also tried the drinks in their restuarant upstairs - could be improved really but a good view should you want a view of the marmara. Nothing compared to that of the next door hotel though.

Room Tip: Don't get the one next to reception if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#174 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#201 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That‘s our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avicenna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.