We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

lovely hotel in a great location - close too all atraction in the old city. Qualified staff. The room we stayed in is the phenthase suite it was very big with great balcony with amazing sea view. I would like to thank one amazing employee of the hotel – his name is Samet. He is simply an amazing man, he helped me for almost 3 hours to find my I-phone that I forgot in a taxi. He done such an amazing work till the taxi driver agreed to return my phone. He is one of a kind and again thank you dear Samet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    778
    159
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
158
455
46
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

As we sat on warm, sunny mornings enjoying our breakfast on their rooftop overlooking the Sea of Marmara and the ships lining up to go through the Bosphorus on route to the Black Sea, I thought about how perfect this hotel was as to location and service. Admittedly the rooms vary from small to luxurious and one should plan ahead by asking which room they will get and looking on the hotel's website to get an idea, however we found them all to be workable. There are street sounds (voices etc) but it is the old quarter and everything is very close together. We stayed for two nights when we got to Istanbul. Then left for two nights for a tour out to the Gallipoli battlefield. Then we returned for three nights while touring Istanbul, and then returned again 10 days later after touring Izmir/Antalya/Cappadocia regions. Each time they gave us a totally different style room and overall it was a lot of fun. I cannot say enough about the staff. They were so helpful (and will answer your emails from abroad if you have questions). The location is walking distance to many of the 'must see' spots in Istanbul. The tram is an uphill walk but we used it to go to the Golden Horn and visit the Spice Market and once just took it all the way to the end of the line just to get an overall feel for Istanbul. Bottom line, the location, staff and breakfast more than make up for any room's shortcoming, IMHO.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After reading the positive reviews of this place online, I decided to stay at this hotel for the first several days I was in Istanbul. My stay was extremely disappointing and the hotel was not good. I will not say it was horrible, but it was depressing, to say the least. My room was so unpleasant, I did not want to return to my room until bedtime. The location is good, which is about the only positive thing I can say about it. I do not like to write negative comments about a place, but since I relied on Trip Advisor for recommendations, I think it is important to convey all opinions. I should also say, that I stayed in wonderful places, and this hotel was the only disappointment. First, my room was small, dingy, and had no ventilation whatsoever. It was extremely warm outside and inside, and the air conditioning system was apparently broken (first explanation). When I complained the next day, I was advised that the air conditioner was not broken, but instead, it was turned off automatically in October, and the only ventilation available was heat (second explanation). When I continued to complain (my room was sweltering), I was told that a technician was called to repair the air conditioner, but he did not work on Saturdays (third explanation). Needless to say, no one ever repaired the air conditioner and I never received an apology. On the third day, someone brought a fan into the room (by this time, I was looking to move). As for the shower, it was so small that I could not move once inside. It would be impossible for a man to fit inside the shower. There were virtually no amenities. The bed was uncomfortable and the bedding was awful - the sheets did not look clean, and the pillows were terrible foam. When I requested alternative pillows, they brought me one pillow. When I requested additional pillows, the woman on duty said "you only asked for one". The service was completely not at the level it should be. The breakfast was the worst I had at any of the hotels in Turkey - the toaster was broken, so we could not toast the bread (which was sitting out and was stale). The meat looked like a poor quality American hot dog. The internet access was also not working the entire time I stayed there. The place is really tired, and needs renovation. While the location is good, I must also add that because I had no air in my room, I had to leave the window open. The street noise was terrible until extremely late hours (2 am). The only positive thing I can say, is that some of the hotel staff were very nice and pleasant. I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: I do not recommend this hotel, however if you find yourself there, do not select a room with a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Breakfast included Turkish specialties like tahin&pekmez, cokelek and nice local pastries. Rooms felt homely and were very clean.

Front office kindly agreed to pick up our things from the dry cleaner/laundrette around the corner when I realised I wouldn't be back in time to pick them up myself.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

It was just the perfect place to stay not only for the location (we were close to the Blue Mosk, Topkapi Museum and Sainte Sophia), but more importantly for the kindness and the efficiency of the staff, giving all the information we need and doing its best to facilitate our stay in Istambul.
We were very pleased with the charm of this small hotel, and the comfort of our room; we enjoyed the fabulous breakfast on the roof terrasse, with a very special view on the Marmara Sea.
We visited Istambul fo its historical, cultural and tourist attractions, and we will certainly return in this “hotel de charme”.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel, and my husband's third. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we felt welcome from the moment of arrival when guests are seated and given tea and Turkish delight while they fill in the check-in paperwork.

Bathroom spotless - this is very important to me!

Roof terrace with view on one side over the Blue Mosque and the other over the Sea of Marmara is a lovely relaxing place to sit at the beginning and end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Dersaadet is a meticulously appointed hotel, well run and friendly, great location, great roof top terrace. They have a helpful, friendly woman concierge/excursion planner who checks in with you every morning to see what she can do for you; she comes to you, you don't have to go to her, great idea..The only fly in the ointment:a little pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#12 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#17 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.