We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nena Hotel to your Saves list
Nena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #60 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent three nights here at start of our istanbul holiday in September. Comfortable room. Wonderful breakfast served on great roof terrace with amazing views. Staff excellent and very friendly. Dinner awful, although night views from roof terrace were amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    331
    40
    13
    0
See reviews for
200
534
75
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We chose Hotel Nena (because of its reviews) to stay during August 2013, booking two rooms for a family of six (with grandparents, one disabled). Being our first visit to Istanbul we were wary - but there was no need. The hotel management and friendly staff were excellent, taking care of our every need, from our pick up at the airport to drop off at the end.

Rooms were a bit small, but clean. There was a good choice at breakfast, including vegetarian options, and special soya milk for this lactose intolerant reviewer. The balcony views were superb in the morning.

The location was great for getting to the main attractions, including the Blue Mosque and the Market, and there was a good choice of eating and shopping places around the hotel. Some lunches comprised hot corn on the cob off the street pedlars (cheap at T£1!), which the hotel kindly let us have in the garden lounge area.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for any first time visitor.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing rooms, just for the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My parents, friend and I traveled to Turkey during the last week of July and first week of August, 2013. We stayed at Hotel Nena for 8-9 days. The staff were attentive and gracious, the rooms small (tiny bathtubs in most rooms except those on the top floor), but clean and comfortable. The food offered by the in-house restaurant was tasty and filling. The front desk staff, including Ergin, the GM Mr. Sahin and others, were charming and helpful - Ergin even arranged for us to meet with a travel agent working at a nearby agency, who set up a wonderful tour of just the places we wished to visit around the country. Chef Erhan in the restaurant went the extra step toward making us feel comfortable, by providing us with delicious vegetarian food, and Batuhan in the dining room always offered us a smile and cup of delicious Turkish coffee. All of the staff, from the bellboys (young Faruk in particular), to the housekeeping staff, restaurant staff and up were simply wonderful to us, despite themselves undergoing the rigors of the Ramadan fast. Oh - and the view from the restaurant at the very top of the building is breathtaking - the Blue Mosque to the right and the Hagiya Sofya to the left, with the Bosphorus a glistening, glorious blue backdrop. We are very grateful to all the staff for their kindness and hospitality. - Our many thanks to:
Mr. Sahin
Cumhur Ozgen
Ergin Akar
Sedat Zorlu
Fatma Demir
Dilkek Inandirici
Mutar Catir
Bathuan Guler
Ezgi Cundogdu
Umit Kilic
Faruk Memisoglu
Ugur Oruc
Erhan Alakurt
Iihan Civelek
Ali Caylar
(and any others we may have inadvertently left out).

Room Tip: If you are able to get the large room on the top floor (below the restaurant), that comes with the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a nicely presented and homely hotel, in the heart of the main tourist area in Istanbul. The rooms and reception area are very well presented and clean, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is large and well stocked, and the view from the breakfast terrace truly stunning. The transfers to and from the airport were well arranged and on time, and the gift of a box of turkish delight on departure a lovely warm touch indicative of the great service we had. For the price, this is a great value hotel and we would definitely stay again - recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Nena for 3 nights after a cruise. When we arrived at the port we waited almost 30 minutes for the hotel to pick us up (this had been prearranged). We finally called and apparently they had gone to the wrong port-I was slightly annoyed at this because I had given them the ship name and assumed they would check before coming for us. Our room was as pictured, big enough for a few nights, the bed a little firm for my taste but not uncomfortable and the bath was fine. We were on the 1st floor and only had problems with noise on our last night. The people in the room next to us were arguing (or just very passionate about their discussion!) at 1 AM and we had to call the front desk 3 times to get them to quiet down. The best part of this hotel was the top floor dining room with fabulous views for breakfast, which was nice and plentiful, and dinner, though we didn't dine there. Overall not a bad stay. We would probably stay somewhere else next time, mostly because we like to try out different places and different areas, but would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on arrival in Istanbul and then for another 2 nights before leaving Turkey. This hotel was booked as part of our tour.
We were in room 101 and it was tiny and noisy. We were just above the reception and next to the stairs so we could hear everyones noise as they came and went. The bathroom was tiny and you couldn't get 2 people in there at the same time. When we came back to the hotel for the second time we asked for a quieter room and were given a room on the same floor but at the back, this was a much better room, bigger and quieter.
This would have made our experience with this hotel a lot better if it hadn't been for the manager having a go at me the next day for scaring off some of his other guests. Apparently the other guests over heard me saying room 101 was noisy and that is the room they had been allocated. The hotel was fully booked and so they decided to leave the hotel. The hotel asks for feedback but doesn't really like it when its negative.
On the plus side the beds were comfy, the breakfast nice enough and the roof terrace view lovely and the location of the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in room 101- very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER, ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband & I have recently returned from our second visit in twelve months to the Nena & can only reiterate what almost every other reviewer says on this site, it is a wonderful hotel in every way from the unbeatable location to the ambience of the hotel to the fantastic, friendly & professional staff. When you consider that out of over 800 hotels in Istanbul the Nena is rated in the top thirty then you realise what a massive achievement this is for such a small hotel & it is richly deserved. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#66 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.