We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, mediocre rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarnic Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sarnic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sarnic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Caddesi No. 26 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #467 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, mediocre rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sarnic Hotel. I thought I'd booked a room at the Sarnic Premier, a sister property that's connected to the Sarnic Hotel. The hotels share a lobby and staff, but the rooms in the Sarnic Premier look nicer (my friend was in the Premier).

The price was right, and as others have said, the location is spectacular. Walking distance to all the key sites and countless shops and restaurants. It's true that the morning prayers make noise, but that comes with the territory. The hotel offers an airport pick-up service for a reasonable price, which I used both ways. The staff were very friendly, and helpful in giving advice on what to see and do.

On the other hand, the room itself was unimpressive. My biggest complaint is with the mattress - I usually have no issues with hotel beds (I frequently stay in 3-star U.S. hotels), but the Sarnic Hotel's mattress was rock hard. The room was otherwise acceptable, albeit fairly small. The shower had great pressure, but seemed to be running short on hot water one morning at 9am. The free breakfast was quite basic; perhaps better than a typical American continental breakfast, but not by much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    162
    69
    25
    9
See reviews for
65
157
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Went at the end of February for a long weekend! Simply a great little hotel close to the central attractions, perfect for a couple of days for a city break. You are walking distance to the the main places with a number of restaurants accommodating all the nearby hotels. All the locals speak English unless they don't agree with your handling skills!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I thought all the negative reviews were a bit harsh. It is rather basic, and if you are sensitive to noise you might have a bit of an issue. However, it is so central that it was a joy to be anywhere within a short walk. The staff were really lovely and helpful as well. The breakfast was fairly typically Turkish. The roof bar was a lovely place to sit and drink coffee and beer, but the view is a bit disturbed by a building which is half demolished.
Our next door neighbour could be clearly heard through the connecting door, but we put the air conditioning on a comfortable temperature, and it blocked out the sound. The call to prayer at 530 would be heard at every central hotel, and it only lasts a short while.
The shower was amazing, it was useful to have wifi in the hotel, and there were 2 English speaking TV channels.
So, with the staff, the location, cleanliness, price etc, we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have nothing really bad to say but for the price the hotel was a bit on the too basic side. We were on 4 th floor and very curvy smooth stairs. Basic twin bed and sheets were a bit short. Staff was great and the buffet breakfast was always fresh and items were replaced as needed. I'm 6'2" and it was almost impossible to reach my legs in the small tight shower. There was plenty of room in bathroom to make shower larger. I made the mistake of booking hotel via expedia and did not qualify for free transport to airport. Suggest you book directly with hotel as ride to airport will cost 20-25 euros on your own. The rooms were clean and always fresh smelling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mala, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stopped for 2 nights at this delightful small friendly well run hotel. The staff were very helpful, collected us from Airport. The rooms are small and basic but adequate and warm. This hoel is inexpensive and represents great value for money being in the centre of the prime sights of the old city. T walk out and see the Blue mosque lit up is a joy. Istanbul is extremely friendly safe and has great eateries. Thoroughly recommended and thank ypu.

Room Tip: For a longer stay ask for back of hotel as it can be a little noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked this hotel on he reviews of previous Tripadvisor reviews.
This hotel is as all the previous reviewers have stated.
We did get landed with rooms on the 4th floor, room 401 & 403 and now for some negatives, bed was two singles pushed together, rock hard, pillows far to soft with the duvet not fully covering the whole bed area. The shower was very narrow and if you dropped the soap it was a most difficult job to retrieve with also if a shower was taken later in the morning, don't expect hot water. The shower tray also did not drain and on a few occasions over ran into the bathroom floor.
Positives on the room, it was of a good size, excellent Turkish delight provided free, great room temperature, not to much noise apart from the 05:30 call to prayer which was really beautiful,
very, very clean and kept that way with clean towels every day.
The breakfast was more than excellent with a fantastic selection every morning.
We only had one evening meal on our 1st night arrival but again well cooked and of a decent standard.
The actual location of the hotel is perfect for visiting the main sites by foot all within a maximum of 20mins to the furthest being the Tokapi Palace.

The thing that really stood out about the Sarnic is the staff from the cleaners, waiters, reception desk and managers all could not have been more helpful and on a few occasions actually went way beyond the line to provide a service that is second to none.

the question is "would we stay at the Sarnic again"? You bet you life.

Room Tip: Asked for either 401, 402 or 403 avoid any of the rooms behind reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Its my first time to visit Istanbul and from Dubai i checked all the hotels for me i really like the stay in Sarnic for so many reasons, its walking distance to all the historical sites of Istanbul you just walk, staff and management are perfect tour guide too,rooms are not too big but its ok, its clean and nice ambience.Very safe to walk alone lots of street lights .Another thing here breakfast are so perfect i really love their menu everyday resto staffs are so kind as well for your request.I would happy to stay again in this hotel and i would suggest to everyone ,very affordable rate with great service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarnic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarnic Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Caddesi No. 26 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #467 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarnic Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Istanbul, why not take the time to learn some delicious Turkish recipes which you can share with your friends and family when you return home? The class is held in the hotel???s kitchen and features a local chef as instructor. During the four-hour class, you will prepare a four-course meal of traditional dishes. Recipes are provided for your keeping and the group enjoys a delicious meal of their own creation in the rooftop restaurant at the end of the session. Come with your own group or meet new people in the class. The class size, ranging from 4 to 10, allows for each person to actively participate in the food preparation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sarnic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarnic Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarnic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.