We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and central!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sokullu Pasa Hotel to your Saves list
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:3, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable and central!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable six night stay at the Sokullapasa Hotel in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are tastefully decorated in traditional Turkish style and have air conditioning, mini bars and en suite facilities - the beds were very comfortable. The lobby area is cool and airy and very well furnished with lots of comfortable settees and a bar. Breakfast is available in a beautiful courtyard/covered garden room and there is a quiet garden area ... lots of cats to keep you amused! The hotel is less than 300 metres from the Blue Mosque and 30 minutes ride in a taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    81
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
152
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney,australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place is located close to main sites but is in a small street that has a local flavour, you will see locals going about their daily lives. We found many delightful restaurants nearby.
The staff were pleasant , the breakfast was fantastic and we loved the outdoor terrace, perfect for relaxing with a drink in the late afternoon. The rooms are opulently decorated with plenty of amenities including kettle, tea, coffee.
Unfortunately our first three nights were spent in a very noisy room at front of the hotel, not only noise from outside but also above us where guests came and went ,dragging bags in heavy boots at 3 am for 2 of the 3 nights. Also, despite blinds, it was still very bright due to the infiltration of bright streetlights.
On our return for 2 more nights at the end of the trip we were given a room at the back which was wonderfully quiet overlooking the terrace.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 104 if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a small family run hotel in the 'old city'' within walking distance of all the major attractions.
A very friendly and helpfully run hotel that cannot do enough to be of help with all of our questions.
Wonderful Turkish breakfast served downstairs off a serene courtyard. A treat in this part Istanbul.
Small but well appointed rooms with character aplenty.. Always a pleasure to return too after a long day sightseeing.

Room Tip: Maybe a room not on the street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Anna and I stayed here for four nights before leaving on a Treasures of Turkey tour and three when we returned before leaving for Thessalonika. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms were comfortable (if a little heavy on the decoration - our second room was much less overpowering than the first) We found the staff very friendly and accommodating, thoroughly enjoyed our half-price drinks during happy hour from 4 to 6 each day, loved the outside courtyard with its mosaic floor and small marble fountain, and enjoyed sitting out on the upstairs decking and the amazing assortment of feline visitors, both kittens and more mature individuals. Breakfast was excellent with a variety of cereals, fruit, meats and cheeses and cakes. Loved the location in the old city just downhill from the Hippodrome and would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Istanbul.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor was more airy and less ornate than that on the third (with less lion-head dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, NSW, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

In two visits, my wife and I enjoyed a total of seven nights in this delightful hotel in the south of Istanbul's old city, a short (uphill) walk from the Hippodrome and many major sights. Service and breakfasts were very good and the place was clean and very pleasant, although early nearby morning calls to prayer interrupted sleep. However, rooms -- modest in size -- and bathrooms showed small signs of poor painting and maintenance, suggesting a lack of attention to the fabric of the hotel. This is readily addressed. It is not easy to find very attractive restaurants close by, although Cesme is tasty and well priced.

Room Tip: The larger rooms without access to the lower courtyard seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Sokullu Pasa is very well situated, close to the Blue Mosque and attractions of Sultanhamet. We stayed for 5 nights in two different rooms, both of which were good. Not huge but more than comfortable, clean with good beds. No views to speak of. In fact our first room was in the basement but the good bed, quietness and more than compensated.
Very comprehensive breakfast, great coffee served by a delightful girl in a very attractive setting.
It was the helpfulness of the staff, particularly those on the front desk that really is appealing in this hotel. They are great, particularly Feta who was absolutely brilliant. If every hotel had a Feta travelling would be hassle free.
Great hotel but even better staff

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep and don't need a view ask for a basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

PROS (well mostly!)
GOOD LOCATION - in the "old town" if you're wanting to see the historic sites...the streets are v narrow, even the locals having trouble with the narrow streets, eg we saw a taxi side swipe a parked car. So, we feel we made the right decision in organising a driver/guide to show us sites that we could not walk to eg the "newer" (circa 1843) Sultans' Palace on the waterfront.
NICE BREAKFAST - usual fare with a nice outdoor courtyard -unfortunately filled with smokers on our visit. Would also be good if tea could be served (with more of a smile!) in tea pots when requested - Turkish tea is very strong & the only type on offer there. Coffee tastes like instant variety.
CLEAN/COMFORTABLE ROOM plus tea/coffee facility
FRIENDLY CLEANERS - maybe these women need a promotion! (See "Cons")
ONE FRIENDLY YOUNG MAN WELCOMED US...unfortunately other 2 did not...
CONS:
2 of 3 STAFF (all young men) INATTENTIVE As we usually do, when walking past reception we cheerily said "good morning" etc to staff - we usually learn a little of the local language but found Turkish difficult! On all 6+ occasions we were ignored - at the end I made a point of waiting for a response & finally did get a half hearted greeting. We stayed 3 nights and on checking out, needed to wait in reception for 30 minutes or so for our driver...2 young men were on reception-1 made a Turkish tea for himself (twice!) but neither of them even acknowledged we existed.
STUFFY ROOM as window didn't open much and we looked out onto an ugly concrete space. We relied on the air conditioning even though the weather was good.
LOCATION has a downside too - hard to find a restaurant with good food/service - 2 poor experiences...1 place was recommended by young man on reception. Also beware of aggressive men near hotel trying to take you to see "rugs"...after politely saying "no thanks" twice, we became more assertive & said "No" - he then followed us & yelled "why not?" in my ear. Not the hotel's fault of course but we were surprised as we had no problems like that in other regions of Turkey or anywhere in the world in fact.
If you decide to stay here we would suggest you ask about getting a room with a better outlook as our room was quite dark as well. There are rooms overlooking the pretty courtyard so if they don't cost much more, we would recommend a room there. However, if you plan on being out & about a lot during the day, as we were, maybe the room with no view would be fine if well priced??


Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sokullu Pasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokullu Pasa Hotel

Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:3, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokullu Pasa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling to Turkey and looking for an excellent place to stay? You will find Sokullu Pasa Hotel exactly what you are seeking . It is a fine example of an historic Ottoman house, which features modern facilities and excellent services. The hotel building, which was the first built as the house of Sokhollu Pasha, was later restored to become a modern accommodation for visitors. Hotel Sokullu Pasa, featuring typical 16th-century dwellings in its periphery, is at a short distance to the Centrum coastal road and the sea, only a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sokullu Pasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokullu Pasa Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sokullu Pasa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.