We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place both to stay and to tour Istanbul from” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalyon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kalyon Hotel to your Saves list
Kalyon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kennedy Caddesi No:34 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent place both to stay and to tour Istanbul from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this excellent hotel in April 2013 . From the moment we checked in we we're made to feel at home . The staff are super friendly and very efficient . The rooms are very well appointed and impeccably clean and the location is excellent .
Just exit the back door and you are no further than 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque , the Haja Sophia and the the Topkapi Palace . All of Sultanahmet is just a quick walk away .
This hotel is well priced and provides free WIFI that works to all guests .
Well worth a stay .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your last stay with us back in April
We thank you for your thoughtful comments, and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    177
    45
    11
    4
See reviews for
53
138
29
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This stylish & modern hotel is ideally situated for exploring the old town area of Istanbul. With the great advantage of being situated on the sea, the standards within the hotel are of the highest in every respect, the service is immaculate as are the reception areas and rooms. Breakfast was a delight with a fantastic choice of fruits, breads, cheeses and the best scrambled egg I have ever tasted in a hotel. There were also traditional Turkish hot items such as cheese pastries and savoury soups which were nice to try. After a hectic day in the busy streets of Istanbul, this hotel is like an oasis of calm with modern decor and everything you need for a relaxing stay. We had a room to the rear of the hotel which had no view, but a plus was it was lovely and quiet and had the most comfortable bed. There was also a safe, a well stocked mini bar and a very modern bathroom with glass surfaces, a trendy wash bowl and a powerful shower. We travelled with another couple and we all agreed we could not have chosen a better hotel for our trip.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear may have no view, but are peaceful and quiet. In the heat of the summer, I suspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KALYON, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Jackie

Kalyon Hotel team is delighted to read you review on your recent stay and thank you for describing your positive experience at our Hotel. Your kind words drives us to do the extra step to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights due to a work meeting. Everything functioned very well - quick check in. Nice room (terrible view of backyard but the pro is the total lack of noise). Breakfast - splendid! Good sleep. Bathroom with rain-shower. Good pressure on water. Meeting room facilities and lunches also very perfect.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufyIstanbul, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Hans
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your stay with us during your business trip to Istanbul.
We thank you for your comments, and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I think compared to other hotels in the area it was good value for the price. We stayed April 19-24th. Here's the pros/cons.

Pros:
- clean and in good condition
- no bad smells or leaks or bugs (mind you last day the shower tap seemed to be leaky and some bugs on our return in the evening)
- nice friendly staff one person at desk and one person at restaurant seemed to have good english
- good breakfast
- walking distance to major sites (blue mosque, toppaki palace, haga Sofia and tram line)
- get little chocolates for turn down service
- close to water beutiful area great for walks
- great shower
- can hear athan (call to prayer, would be a con for some)
- they very kindly held our luggage while we went for a trip to Cappadocia for free

Cons:
- Although clean bed and pillows are very hard not very comfortable
- terrible view we were in room 168 if you care ask for a better view, normally I would care but didn't bother me just kept curtains shut and we were out all day anyhow I'm sure there are rooms with much nicer views
- although close to sight it's through the back which u need staff to let you out/in (they are always available to do this) and u have to walk uphill if you have any mobility problems I wouldn't do this
- wifi not very good keeps disconnecting
- you get nice extras such as slippers, sewing kit, shower cap, shoe horn
Tips:
- if taking a cab tell the cabbie to drop u to the back going to the front will cost u more as it takes lomger the path you walk via back is where they should drop u. I read somethings about cabbies trying to rip u off which suggested to get out of any car where they won't turn on the meter we took this advice, also read clearly outloud and show what bill u are giving cabbie or they pretend you gave another amount (we did not experience this but did this anyways)
- cab was about 10 tl when they took the long way from the front
- hagga Sofia and topakapi palace are closed some days so find out before planning (for 72 tl u can buy a museum pass that works for 3days
- stray dogs roaming the area (I'm terrified) but they seemed to mind their own business we just steered clear of them, there's a million cats everywhere (I don't like them either but again easy to avoid)
- late night room service limited to only a deli sandwhich

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufyIstanbul, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Fquraishi

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.
We are glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We have also taken note of your constructive feedback and please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the related departments.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is well situated, if you wanted to tour the old city - it is literally adjacent to an ancient wall. The Bosphorus view is a nice touch as well, if you get a room facing that way.

My only grip really would be the bathroom - pretty cramped, not the cleanest I've seen and etc. At the same time, with what I paid and the location, I will definitely repeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufyIstanbul, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear DrSavan
Thank you so much for your time and comments. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will keep on working to continuosly improve ourselves in order to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel 15th-21st april 2013.
The weather has not been greatful to us, but we had equally a very good stay.
All staff, reception and consiergerie above all, was attentive, kind, helpfull and very friendly.
I work as a receptionist in my town, so I can really tell they are amazing.
We had trouble with a taxi driver and they really saved us.
Room was nice, the cleaness was ok and the chocolates and water (with weather forecast) were a very nice touch.
Just one thing: housekeeping were a bit loudy in the corridor early in the morning, but that's all.
For travelers who whish to stay at this hotel: it worth! We even tried the reastaurant cousine and it was good.
If you use the back door - they open it for you at any time, tehy are very patient :p - in two minutes you are in the square of the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia.
A very special thank to Pinar, and the other collegues (which I'm sorry I can't remember the names: for me it's too hard to write them) who solved the problem with the taxi.
I will always have great memories of this hotel and this city!

Room Tip: Alle 5 del mattino c'è la chiamata della preghiera alla moschea, non è un problema che dipende d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufyIstanbul, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Lauretta
Kalyon Hotel team is delighted to read you review on your recent stay and thank you for describing your positive experience at our Hotel. Your kind words drives us to do the extra step to exceed your expectations.We have already addressed your appreciation to the related staff whom helped to solve quickly your taxi problem

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind Regards
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Firtst the positive points:
1) Fantastic location right behind Sultan Ahmet Mosque and the quiet and relaxing neighbourhood, close to many nice and inviting small local restaurants.
2) Very friendly, helpful, always smiling and welcoming staff.
3) Spotless hotel and room, very nice and cosy lobby.
4) Amazing view from the room (we took one with sea view on the 2nd floor).

The less good points:
1) We got a smoker's room although we were never really asked if we wanted smoker or non smoker's. We thought that the minimum one could expect in a 4 stars hotel is to have a chance to choose.
2) The bed was pretty small and very unconfortable.
3) We were told by checking-in that we got an upgrade and that we got an executive room. When we got inside the room, we noticed that it matched the description of the one we booked and nothing more. We had a shower instead of a bath tub, so how could that be an executive room?
4) For the ones sensitive to noise, if you choose a room with sea view, you'd have to put up with street noise. So you'd better bring some Oropax.
But all and all we liked our stay in Kalyon.

Room Tip: Take a room with sea view but you should expect street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufyIstanbul, Guest Relations Supervisor at Kalyon Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Kizkouz
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed at Kalyon Hotel
We have also taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the related departments for improvement.
We hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely
Elvan ERTEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalyon Hotel

Address: Kennedy Caddesi No:34 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#142 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#182 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#204 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalyon hotel is a four star hotel ideally located in the center of the historic peninsula of Istanbul, Sultanahmet, by the Sea of Marmara. Kalyon Hotel is serving Turkish tourism more then 45 years. All the rooms have been refurbished between 2009 and 2010. Half of the hotel rooms overlook the sea of Marmara and the Asian Side, other rooms have a view over the old city of Istanbul, Sultanahmet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kalyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalyon Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalyon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.