We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel-good Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yesilyurt Mah. Sahil Yolu Cad. No:2 Yesilkoy, Bakirkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey (Ataturk Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Credit
Ranked #386 of 1,011 Hotels in Istanbul
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Feel-good Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at Renaissance Polat one day in late Feb 2013. I was able to review two rooms on the 19th floor, and experienced the concierge lounge on 21st floor.

Despite a few kinks, this hotel was one of the highlights of my trip . My parents checked in a day before me and got a wonderful high floor room with the view of the cutest little beach and Sea of Marmara shores. I was able to obtain a room very close to them very early in the morning when I arrived to the property. I assumed they would not have any rooms available at 7:30 in the morning, but the front desk staff worked hard to find the room next to my parents' room, with one caveat that it was a room with two beds, which is not my preference. However, I did not want to haggle with the hotel since I had very limited time to visit with my family and enjoy this majestic city. Added perk of the room is probably one of the nicest sunrise views over the sea I have ever seen. It was a site to cherish and remember forever.

Since I stay frequently at Marriott brand properties, my family and me had access to the concierge lounge on 21st floor of the property. Even though breakfast offerings were identical both times we used the lounge, it is hard to complain for such a nice spread they offered, both for breakfast and dinner.

Hotel is located very close to the airport, and they offer a free and very convenient shuttle from and to the airport. They also offer the same shuttle to several stops in the old city and across the Bosphorus in the newer part of town. However, our experience with that shuttle wasn't the best, since we waited at the designated stop for a pick up to go back to the hotel and the shuttle never came after 30 minutes of waiting with a lady who used the shuttle from the same spot a day before. Front desk staff was very courteous, though, and paid for our taxi ride from the city to the hotel, which was approximately 25 Euros.

Despite the distance from all old town sightseeing delights, this hotel is still in a very nice, coastal part of Istanbul. The neighborhood is clearly upscale, with nice beaches, walking paths and excellent fish restaurants, all just a stone throw away (5 mins walk or less).

I think this will be my base any time I visit Istanbul!

Room Tip: Choose high floor room with the view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance_Polat, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this review and for the nice comments. I am glad that we have met your expectations and wanted to let you know that I shared your review with my team especially the front desk.

We appreciate the time spent on this review and certainly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you back with us again soon.

Thanks again,


GÖĞÜN SEVER - GUEST RELATİONS MANAGER
gogun.sever@polatholding.com - Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    237
    113
    31
    17
See reviews for
60
94
36
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stopped over 1 night at this hotel as we where off loaded from a BA flight that we where due to travel on. Check in was smooth and fast and I was allocated a room that had two queen beds. Bathroom was nice and clean however the bath was one of those with a enclosed shower screen and it did feel close and small, it may have been a three quarter bath. Overall the room layout was good and there was a fair set of TV channels to watch. Bed was nice and comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The bar had a live band in the main area and in my view was a bit too loud and took away from the fact that the bar area was quite a attractive large place to be. Overall a good solid hotel about 15 minutes away from the airport on a good run. However please note that this hotel may not be suitable for you if you are interested in seeing the sites as there are a number of better options centrally located.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance_Polat, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous comments, we are delighted that we met your requirements and you enjoyed your stay with us in Istanbul.

Regards,


GÖĞÜN SEVER - GUEST RELATİONS MANAGER
gogun.sever@polatholding.com - Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great staff.

Stayed there for a couple of conferences in 2012.

The higher rooms have a great view of the sea, if you are on the right side of the hotel.

Rooms pleasant and comfortable.

Bar a bit too dark & dingy for my liking.

Pools & gym great.

Shops in the basement mall a bit pricey, probably due to the fairly captive audience.

Food OK not brilliant, but this is often the case on conference rates, I find.

Conference facillities good, but internet slow/patchy if relying on things like skype.
Conference support staff excellent as are the rest of the venue staff.

Not much else in the locality, a couple of shops and bars/resturants.

A bit of a haul into town from here but not too far, 20-30 mins in a taxi.
(Can be much longer, depending on time of day!)

10 mins from Ataturk airport.
Shuttle bus available, bookable at reception

Quiet location though.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance_Polat, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this review and for the nice comments. I am glad that we have met most of your expectations and wanted to let you know that I shared your review with all our team.

Our pricing and the speed of internet are in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truely sorry.

We appreciate the time spent on this review and certainly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you back with us again soon.

Best Regards,


GÖĞÜN SEVER - GUEST RELATİONS MANAGER
gogun.sever@polatholding.com - Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you are looking for a safe and secure place to stay in Istanbul, near the airport, with full American style space, comfort, and service, this is your place. The Renaissance Polat is everything you expect from a high end Marriott property. It was a bit of a shock when my taxi was stopped and searched before being allowed in, and then having to pass through airport like x-ray and metal detectors. For many though, this level of security is a comfort. I had no complaints, and certainly nor worries.

The staff is phenomenal, willing to help in any way they can. The concierge on Club Level was willing make dinner reservations (as my Turkish is non-existence) and map out directions to the local train station. The full Turkish breakfast included on Club Level was amazing, with a selection of pastries, fruits and vegetables, cheeses, and more.

The Turkish bath in the spa, as well as the pool and Jacuzzi, make for a wonderful way to unwind at the end of a long day of sight seeing (or meetings).

The only reason I gave this hotel a four instead of a five is the distance from the city center. It is about a half hour by train or taxi, which though not terrible, is not as convenient as walking out the door and being in the city center.

Room Tip: Club level if you can...breakfast, snacks, and great concierge services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance_Polat, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous comments, we are delighted that we met your requirements and you enjoyed your stay with us in Istanbul.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon.

Thanks Again,


GÖĞÜN SEVER - GUEST RELATİONS MANAGER
gogun.sever@polatholding.com - Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spent a long weekend at the Polat whilst on business travel to Turkey. This is a very good international 5-star hotel with everything you'd expect of same. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped (a couple more English channels on the TV would be nice though). The main bar is a nice place to be with a good bar menu. I ate at the fish restaurant which was good and the Champions Sports Bar which noisy but fun with good staff. The Polat also has an extremely good gym that puts most hotel gyms to shame and spa facilities that I didn't have time to use.

Minor quirks are that some of the staff can be a little flat-footed at times, but once you have their attention they are all very good...and it's a bit of a haul from the old city...but the train is a short walk and the hotel operates a daily shuttle. They also operate and hourly shuttle to the airport (doesn't work for early morning flights though). Overall I'd rate it very highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance_Polat, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your comments with us. I am really happy you have enjoyed your stay at Renaissance Polat İstanbul Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,


GÖĞÜN SEVER - GUEST RELATİONS MANAGER
gogun.sever@polatholding.com - Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

In general quite a good stay as i had a corporate deal for 80 euro per night.

Staff was very nice! The design is kind of nostalgic and a bit old fashioned, but ok. The rooms are very mcht outdated! Pink tiles on the floor in the bathroom and a shower in instabile pressure is not ery comfortable. Also the beds are short.
Airco wasn't working and windows cannot be opened, resultif in not a very good noght of sleep.

The spa is very nice with a good gym, sauna and steambath.

Would stay here again for this price but would ask for a room where the airco is working

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance_Polat, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the feedback you provided will help us assess our services that meets your expectations. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you have had with the Air Condition.

We appreciate your business and looking forward to seeing you back with us again soon.

Regards,


GÖĞÜN SEVER - GUEST RELATİONS MANAGER
gogun.sever@polatholding.com - Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel does have plus points...
It's close to Ataturk airport, the gym facilities, pool etc are very good but like a few others it's the smoke smelling rooms which is my real bugbear.
Everything else is 'fine', nothing special, just average. Certainly not the jewel in the Renaissance crown.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance_Polat, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that we met your requirements and you enjoyed your stay with us in Istanbul.

Regards,


GÖĞÜN SEVER - GUEST RELATİONS MANAGER
gogun.sever@polatholding.com - Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel
#539 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Fener & Balat
Topkapi Inter Istanbul Hotel
Topkapi Inter Istanbul Hotel
#700 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Ataturk Airport
Airport Inn Hotel
Airport Inn Hotel
#728 of 1,011 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
WOW Istanbul Hotel
#307 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Elite World Business
#176 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel

Address: Yesilyurt Mah. Sahil Yolu Cad. No:2 Yesilkoy, Bakirkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Ataturk Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#148 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#194 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#227 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul hotel, ideally located, with easy access to Istanbul International Airport, CNR-Expo, IDTM and all major Istanbul motorways, Renaissance Polat Istanbul hotel provides you with first class service & accommodations for both, your business trip or Istanbul holiday. Enjoy the free shuttle service to and from the Airport and Istanbul city center. The Renaissance Istanbul hotel features spacious air-conditioned accommodations with the luxurious Renaissance Revive bedding, safe and LCD screen TV's.After a restful night on our luxurious signature bedding, take a dip in our swimming pool or work out in our on-site fitness gym. For dinner, catch up with family or colleagues while enjoying a selection of Restaurants or relax at Noblesse Bar while having a drink with the amazing views of the Marmara Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Istanbul
Istanbul Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.