We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Istanbul City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Istanbul City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turgut Ozal Cad. No:189 Topkapi, Fatih, Istanbul 34280, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #438 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The tram station was an added bonus . we had to ask for teabags everytime we needed to have tea in the room. the healthclub was good with the gym, pool, turkish bath steam and sauna facilities. Free wifi availability . Receptionists were helpful and could communicate in english. checkout and check in were hassle free.

Room Tip: room facing the pool is quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear profshenoy,

Thank you for the feedback about your stay. We take our guest reviews very seriously as they are one of the best ways to help us identify what we can do to create an experience unlike any other. It is our goal to always provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We regret to see you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. However we were pleased to see the high marks for Value and Cleanliness.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask a member of our staff.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    182
    100
    35
    23
See reviews for
77
153
37
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton, uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Hotel was a standard Holiday Inn, nothing special but adequate for our needs. We chose it because of its location, we knew that the tram to the city centre stopped right outside. We used the tram every day for our sightseeing, a token takes you anywhere on the line and you buy them from the machine at the tramstop for 3 lira. But the trams are packed like sardines, day and night. There is never a chance of a seat, and it's difficult to get beyond the door entry area due to the mass of bodies. Everyone puts their arms up to hang onto one of the straps, if you can get one, and so you spend your journey with your head up someone's armpit. In the end we walked much further than we'd intended every day to avoid this experience. I'm not sure what the answer is, maybe a taxi if you can afford it. Just be aware this will be your experience of the tram ride too and if you don't like the sound of that, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: As others have said, ask for a room poolside, not streetside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel for your stay. We are happy to hear that you have preferred our hotel because of its good location and the convenience of the tram stop right outside the hotel. Although its one of the busiest line it connects our hotel to major attractions.

As you know Istanbul is one of the most crowded cities in the world with nearly 9 million commuters daily using public transportation. Hotel is also has a good location for taxis which is available for 24 hrs. & prices are reasonable compared to other major European cities.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back here in Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel in the future.

Yours Faithfully.

Safi Aysu

Rooms Divisions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

There was an initial screw up on the part of the hotel regarding the reservation but they corrected it and bumped us up to a suite which was an amazing room. The hotel restaurant was phenomenal and they opened the pool up a day early for us so we could swim. The hotel is directly across the street from a metro station and is a short train ride from downtown sultanhamet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments about our hotel. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our outdoor swimming pool as well as good location which makes it convenient to reach major attractions and historic places of İstanbul by tram.

Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a great hotel for a stay with adult children. We were here for six nights and had a mini-suite with a king bed and a separate room with two twins, so that we and our adult daughter had privacy without the expense of two rooms. Great location for transit with a T1 tram line stop right in front of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and responsive, including a complimentary fruit tray when there was a small mix-up with room housekeeping. On that note, housekeeping does lack consistency - we were three people, and had to ask every night on return to the hotel for a third bath towel, third coffee mug and so on. Not a show stopper, but annoying after five days. The bar area is pleasant, has easy access to the pool and patio area, and more importantly, makes great margaritas for Europe. The restaurant was also great, and breakfast provided more than enough sustenance for the start of a full day out. The internet, whilst free, was slow at times. Our IHG Priority Club level was recognised with a fruit tray on arrival and complimentary bottled water throughout. All in all, a good choice for an Istanbul holiday. Recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street side of the hotel, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear jrw W,

Thank you for sharing your comments on-line about your stay her at Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel. As you have stated we offer family friendly junior suite rooms with a separate bedroom for adult children or even accompanying adults as it has 2 single standard beds and as well as an extra tv .
Please accept my apologies for not providing amenities for each person in room which we have already refreshed our housekeeping team.

We are part of Intercontinental Hotels Group which has around 4000 hotels worldwide with different brands. All IHG Rewards Club members enjoy earning and spending theri points without black-out dates and time restrictions in all IHG Hotels worldwide. Our elite members also benefit for free upgrades and late check-outs as well as free welcome drinks & snacks or IHG Rewards Club Points. Its our pleasure to upgrade our elite members as room type availability allows.

We have recently improved our free Wi-Fi service and now have much faster access and extra access points among whole building. Our IT manager is also at your service in case of connection issues incurring.

Thank you for staying with us and your comments.

Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

is actually only one disadvantage of this hotel.We asked for nor smoking room, but we can feel smell of cigarettes.Gym, staff, location, spa is very ok, there are some issues with internet connection, but acceptable.And management really should execute more non smoking in non smoking room and floors

Room Tip: ask room from pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear aldik703,

Thank you for your online comments about Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel and sorry for late reply. Also thank you for your positive comments about our staff and spa facilities as well as our great location to access all main attractions of this magnificent city İstanbul. We offer both smoking and non smoking rooms to all our guests and are keen of smell of smoking in guest bedrooms. We do have special products to eliminate and minimise the smell even in smoking rooms. We also do offer other rooms if convenient to our guests.

We recently have improved our Wi-Fi network and already had very good comments from our guests. Now we offer high speed access and all guest rooms are covered as we have planted extra WiFi routers all around the hotel.

Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Pro:
- Room. It was very pleasant, we were upgraded as platinum member. The room was very big/modern/comfortable.
- Gym. There were everything, what i really needed, from cardio to weights.
- Hammam. Small and nice.
- Life music. In the evening around 7p.m. pianist played potpourri, what made very nice atmosphere in the lobby.

Con:
- Internet connection. It stopped very often. They should do with it something.
- Tea. There was like tea kеttle and cups in the lobby, but the kettle was empty. Many guests, including me, tried to make a tea, but unsuccessfully.

In general i liked this hotel and come back with please.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Goscha,

Thank you for your comments and please accept our sincere apologies for late reply. IHG Rewards Club Elite members do benefit many things including free suite room upgrades when available. Our Green Apple Wellness SPA is well equipped for both fitness and leisure and we have an open swimming pool which is very popular especially during summer days. Our pianist plays at our Tea Lounge in the evenings during tea time. Tea served at the lounge between 4pm and 6pm. Our lobby bar waiter&waitress do assist all our guests should they require to have tea during these hours. The set up at our lounge has a menu which states the prices and assistance of the staff for tea during these hours. In any case we will be displaying another sign to make it more visible as you have mentioned.

We have recently improved our WiFi speed and coverage as we speak now. We now have high speed internet and more WiFi routers installed for extra coverage especially in guest rooms. Our IT manager also assists all our guest should they require special help for their PCs or mobile devices.

Dear goscha, once again thank you for sharing all your comments here at Trip Advisor about Holiday Inn Istanbul city Hotel.

Yours Faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We selected this hotel to avail some privileges of Priority Club Platinum tier and the property delivered well on the promise. We were upgraded to a suite and the staff was very helpful and kind indeed.

Best thing about the hotel is its proximity to tram station which brings the rest of the city within reach. There is also a very nice park on walking distance and a Carrefour Market outlet as well as a couple of mosques.

It has all aspects of an "upgraded" Holiday Inn: decent lobby, cafe, concierge and the spa is extra special. One downside is the smell of cigarettes is many corridors. We were on the non-smoking floor but the walk from elevator to room was like going through an airport smokers' lounge ... probably has to do with guests who do not respect the smoking policy but the implementation can be stricter.

Overall very satisfied with the accommodation and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safi A, Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul City, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Aamir M,

Thank you for your comments about Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel. Please accept our apology for the long delay with replying.

We were happy know you have enjoyed your stay overall including a free suite room upgrade and our location benefits. Your comments about friendly and helpful staff also was an extra motive for us which we have already shared. Our security team regularly checks all public areas and also are keen on preventing anyone smoking in public areas. We kindly inform and guide smoking guests to designated areas which are outside by the pool and also outside at the main building by the entrance.

Once again thank you for your motivating and guiding comments.

Yours Faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Istanbul City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Istanbul City

Address: Turgut Ozal Cad. No:189 Topkapi, Fatih, Istanbul 34280, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#258 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Istanbul City 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul is the city where Asia meets Europe, with cultural heritage and natural beauty. Holiday Inn Istanbul City is your five star hotel in the city and located next to the impressing historical city walls of Istanbul reflects the spirit of this very special city. It creates the ideal atmosphere for relaxing stay no matter whether you are traveling on business or on holiday. 12 km from Ataturk International Airport, and 2 km from Old City, Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Sultanahmet Mosque, Topkapi Palace, 6 km from Taksim Square. Public Transportation is available in front of the hotel. Take the tram directly to many of the key sightseeing attractions. Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel offers Turkish Hamam, Sauna, Steam Room and a comprehensive choice of speciality massages, aromatherapy and relaxation therapies at our Spa & Wellness Center.Coffee and tea maker in room with complimentary coffee and tea. Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel offers High Speed Internet access in the hotel rooms. Public areas such as hotel lobby and bar feature wireless LAN. Outdoor Swimming Pool is open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Istanbul City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Istanbul City Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Istanbul City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.