We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #77 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

It's a Ritz-Carlton so you would expect the standards to be high - and they are. This would not normally be the style of hotel (a bit too traditional for my taste) that I would stay in, but it was part of a package booked through BA holidays, and I was suitably impressed. It has to be said that it is not the prettiest looking hotel from the outside - and the interior is perhaps getting a little dated - but the hotel itself offers excellent standards of accommodation. Bedrooms are large and very comfortable, and the public areas are luxuriously decorated and well maintained.

It is conveniently-enough located close to Taksim Square, although there is a bit of a walk up quite a steep hill to negotiate if you want get to the square itself by foot. If you are lucky enough, I'm sure that there are rooms with some spectacular views over the Bosporus - but ours overlooked a small park to the side. That said, we had a very enjoyable stay over New Year and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    190
    52
    14
    5
See reviews for
107
271
37
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The first impression is a high tower. The second impression is huge construction works directly infront of the hotel. This means a lot of traffic and especially a lot of trucks on the road near the hotel which goes upright the hill. And in addition a helicopter parking space directly near the hotel. So the noise of all this in combination is enormously! Then the security check took place. The luggage will be controlled by x-ray..But you walk trough and the gate gives an alarm and nothing will be controlled. This is not the same quality of security like at an airport! So do not expect to much. The check in was average, nothing special. The ambience was less than expected. I have expected more. But image is one thing and reality it the other thing. In the lobby you will find the restaurant and a bar. All is integrated. Nothing is separated. I do not like this idea in interior design. It does not look luxurious. It more looks like an American business hotel. The room itself is noisy. You can hear the trucks climbing the hill on the street and of course sometimes the helicopter is arriving or starting.The room has not impressed me. The matrass has a bad quality. Most of the guest are coming from arabian countries. The hotel is next to the seaside and from there you can go by boat or tram to reach the city center of Istanbul. The price for an airport service is the same by taxi as with private cars/drivers. I have paid about 75 TL which will be about 25 €. I took both options.
The restaurant has low standard in preparing the meals. For example : Noodles with 8 meatballs of the size of small fingernails. Or how about 2 (not a joke) small scallops? Poor taste and it looked poor. For breakfast the staff is friendly and caring. Although I did not understood why they take away the plates and do not care about new plates. So you need to stand up to care about another plate. The taste of Tea and Coffee was very poor. On a small cupboard they offer San Pellegrino mineral water and Turkish Champagne for extra money. The breakfast itself was okay but nothing special. Sometimes the staff act a little bit disorganized. Very often people need to wait for a free table. And of course you have a wonderful view to the construction works directly infront of the hotel. I am not sure if I will come back. The hotel is far away from city center. There are no shops or restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Higher floors with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent a few days at this wonderful hotel in Istanbul - over New Year- we really enjoyed it. As soon as we arrived there, we received a WELCOME Drink and during our whole stay the staff was extremely friendly and as a guest, one felt good taken care of. We also booked the lounge and it was also very relaxing there. The rooms are very clean, spacious and the bathroom was a hit. We certainly can recommend this hotel

Room Tip: With view to Bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Beautifully decorated hotel, nice and very helpful staff, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable; massive windows (with the appropriate curtains to prevent waking up at the crack of dawn) onto the Bosphorus along the entire wall of the room.
Restaurants are fine (breakfast buffet quite good, and the bar type restaurant has a nice terrace for summer evenings / drinks), but nothing that special food-wise.

The biggest reason to stay in to eat is the location: it is halfway up a hill, which makes going on foot anywhere a reasonable endeavor: not so much distance, but it is a major road and going up the hill the sidewalks are not always paved, while going down you have to go along a curved (thus longer) multiple lane road, at which point you are on a 4 lane road parallel to the river, quite a way from the center.
Not all taxi drivers know where this hotel is, there is a lot of building going on near there (football stadium) so perhaps it is convoluted.
The pool is nice, and usually not very full. It is 'rooftop' and does kind of give this impression as the hotel is on the side of a hill, but this hotel is a glass tower, so the pool is really on one of the lower floors, like a terrace rather than rooftop (thankfully...). The glass tower architecture is very much disguised on the website, not sure why.

Room Tip: river view is worth it, the hillside location makes it less central, but really gives lovely views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed in the club level for my honeymoon. Felt like royalty, and Mesut took incredible care of my wife and I. The Ritz staff were there to help in any way, and even had a few surprises for my wife and I!Close walking distance to good shopping, food, bars, etc.

Room Tip: Club floor is amazing. Great food, wine, alcohol. Club level concierge was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I am writing this review to reflect my experience and my expectation from a hotel of its own level. I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and I have to say that it was a very good experience overall. The rooms were spacious, bright and quite modernly furbished but a bit without much character...

I was really impressed by the welness section. It has a fully equipped gym and also a very nice swimming pool, both providing a very nice and relaxed atmosphere.

The only reason why I give only 4 out of the 5 dots is due to the service in the dining area. The selection of food was great at breakfast but when asking for a cappucino then I had to wait for more than 10 minutes to get it delivered once and twice I did not even receive my cappucino.

The service at the front desk and at the concierge was fantastic. The team provided very detailed information and were as kind as one can be. I really felt being cared for and looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

i went to last week for one night. the quality, location, views need not be discussed.
I've enjoyed my stay. Workers, waiters are very polite.
My room was not ready upon arrival I waited for 15 minutes. this is not very important to me.
only one thing criticized.this is Lunch. as some sort of banquet menu was very poor. The flavors of dishes on the menu was not very nice. I was quite surprised about it.
the blue bar on the ground floor i would recommend. 15 minutes walk from the hotel to Taksim Square and famous Beyoğlu.

Room Tip: Your request to do the sea view rooms and 10. floor and get over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#62 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is located in the heart of Istanbul overlooking the Bosphorus and Dolmabahce Palace. It is approximately 30 minutes from Istanbul Atatark International Airport and is within walking distance of the Old Pera/Beyoglu district, which has many of the city's cultural attractions as well as Turkish designer shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.