We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey (Besiktas)   |  
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #69 of 1,039 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Organized a conference at the Ritz-Carlton Istanbul, and it was the best experience I had in a long career. Everything was spot-less. Food was great, F&B, sales, conference services were superb. The only service that was not up to par was housekeeping. They did not replenish the ammenities, and had to call several times to get a bar of soap. Other than that, everything was great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
1 Thank Maca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel at an excellent location in the city. Good sizes room, excellent customer service. Strategic location makes access to market and other services easy and at walking distance. Comfortable stay. Good for a brand that ritz carlton is.

Stayed May 2013
1 Thank Mahendrakaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

By far my favorite hotel in Istanbul. The location is great, I can walk up to Taksim (?) Square and do a bit of shopping, eating and people watching. The staff is by far the best I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with; and is the main reason I keep coming by to this hotel when I can.

Yes, the rooms could be a little more hip and modern, but they are nice and classic as you would expect from the Rtiz name. If you pay a little more and get concierge access/club lounge its well worth the extra money as the drinks in the lounge are free and the food is good.

If you are looking for a place to be feel like you are a king ... then this is it. The spa is also very good, and I have been known to spend more money on treatments than my room!

Room Tip: Club Lounge is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
3 Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed couple of days during our trip. From inside this is really magnificent building and atmosphere, really five-star. Room had a limited view to Bosphorus, it was spacious and included amenities from Asprey (!) and the best-ever espresso machine (made for Illy, with Illy pods). Service in the hotel felt like trained, staff in a way tried to do their best but not really succeeding. There was some faults you would not expect in Ritz-Carlton, perhaps due to fairly weak command of english language. Open-air spa was closed to our disappointment (even though advertised at the same time in Istanbul Guide), inside spa was great. Everything (treatments, food, wine, drinks) is eye-wateringly expensive, and overall value for money relatively weak. Location is not overly central, but easy to go everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Thank Helsinkifoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a conference as the hotel is conveniently located to the convention centre and on walking distance of Taksim Square.

Stayed at the Club Lounge floor in a spacious but unhappily dull room. The hotel keen on maintaining its 5 star status must however work hard and fast to get rid of its very dated and extraordinary unimaginative 'signature'. Though the staff is very friendly and supportive, the club lounge is well supplied with good food and drinks the overall impression is that this hotel will lose against its 5 star competitors soon. Unless some rigorous modernization and update (its SO 'grey') takes place to cater for modern and contemporary guests. Unless they want to alienate a large group of guests who look for what they get in other main cities that constantly improve and adjust. It's more than just a comfortable bed a good club lounge and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Ritz while on holidays. Overall we enjoyed our stay and were pleased with the usual high service standard.


The building exterior is a tall tower in garish 80's style. One would never thought it houses a Ritz Carlton.

The interior is a lot more elegant in Ameican Classic deco with splashes of Euro-Asian touches.

Interior is a little old but very well kept and spotlessly clean.


Good but not great. Its perched halfway up a hill - a 10 min walk up to Taksim the main shopping area, or a 10 min walk down to the seaside and the tram.

A shuttle service would have been nice.

Its also next to a stadium so may or may not be to your liking.


Classic Ritz, which is excellent.


Excellent. On know we were there on our Anniversary they decorated the room with roses, champaign and cake.

One notable experience. The concierge arranged a lunch booking for us. Upon knowing we were disappointed with the retaurant they arranged for a full refund and complementary meal. All very thoughtful


Overall a very pleasant experience.

2 Thank TravelAllDay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just completed our stay here last week. Stayed for 4 nights and everything was great. The rooms are nicely appointed and so are the bathrooms. Had an amazing night's sleep after walking for hours in Istanbul.

Hotel staff is wonderful and warm. A special shoutout to Menakshi at the concierge desk. She helped us out with dinner reservation and suggestions on baklava and lokum places to carry goodies back home.

So I see some people are criticizing the location, oh well they should have read before making the booking that this is not in Sultahnamet. I don't want to stay around there, it's too congested and noisy. I liked the location of this hotel away yet close by a short tram ride. Yes it's perched up on a hill but that's the beauty of it. So don't stay here if you are expecting to be around the old city and yes you will have to walk downhill and uphill if you plan to take the tram. If you don't want to, take a taxi.

Taksim square with it's hustle, bustle was a short 10 minute walk away. We had a front Bosphorus view room and it was beautiful. The club lounge was beautifully appointed and very well stocked. I loved the attention to detail and presentation of all the plates they served there.

The only disappointment was the breakfast. I was not impressed and have seen better spreads during my travel but given I am not a huge eater so it was fine for me.

Overall absolutely loved the Ritz and would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Front Bosphorus or Partial Bosphorus on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
2 Thank Papad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#93 of 1,039 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#55 of 1,039 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#101 of 1,039 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul

Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is an authentic luxury hotel offering breathtaking Bosphorus views for its high-end business and leisure guests, continuously providing genuine care and unique service delivered by its empowered Ladies and Gentlemen. Guests enjoy their stay in one of the 243 guest rooms, ranging from 38-sqm park view rooms to 64-sqm suites with panoramas of the Bosphorus or the city of Istanbul, offering a wide array of amenities as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoğlu and Karaköy as well as the famous Galata Tower are a 25-minute stroll from the hotel. Istanbul's sophisticated shopping neighborhood of Nişantaşi is located within walking distance from the hotel, while the luxurious shopping centers of Zorlu Center and İstinye Park can be reached in less than 30 minutes. Guests at 'Bleu Lounge' can enjoy Bosphorus views alongside Mediterranean inspired snacks and innovative signature lab-cocktails in imaginative laboratory glasses. As the night continues, vibrant live musicians start their performance, performing the latest hits and raising the tempo to suit guests' mood and the night's feeling. With sunshine warming the city of Istanbul, the venue's retractable glass roof slides back, opening up 'Bleu Lounge' to delicious cool air. At The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, the passionate pursuit of simple delicious food has been elevated to a fine art form at the hotel's new restaurant, 'Atelier Real Food'. Guests are welcomed by glittering views of the Bosphorus while the open kitchen entices with its French Rotisserie. Here, all dishes use fresh local seasonal ingredients and culinary excellence is celebrated by delicious 'farm-to-table' flavors created uniquely in the chefs' 'atelier'. The restaurant enjoys an indulgent winter garden terrace 'Atelier Terrace' for social celebrations and lovers of alfresco dining, as well as a private chef's table for those seeking dining exclusivity and a showcase cellar with 150 local and international wines. The lobby lounge 'Atelier Lounge' is a specially designed place to meet, eat and drink, offering Mediterranean-inspired Turkish dishes, along with breathtaking Bosphorus views. The spacious 'Club Lounge', reserved for 'Club Level' guests, provides complimentary culinary presentations throughout the day and a comfortable space to unwind with colleagues, friends or family, with a dedicated Concierge to attend to guests' every need. The views are extraordinary, of the Bosphorus and the timeless city of Istanbul. Two Smart Fortwo cars are also exclusively at the disposal of 'Club Level' guests offering a uniquely stylish way for urban explorers to enjoy the city or for corporate guests to get to their next appointment. The Ritz-Carlton Spa offers eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam, spread over an area of 1,500 sqm. It also features a unique 'Couples Hammam Suite' which enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first 'Open Air Spa' terrace in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul was recognized 'Best Luxury Hotel Turkey, 2014' by Business Destinations Travel Awards and 'Central Eastern Europe's Best Employer of The Year 2013' by Aon Hewitt as well as 'Best International Business Hotel' 2009 and was recently recognized as one of the 'Best International Overseas Business Hotels' 2015 by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Low Cost Holidays, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing