We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #78 of 929 Hotels in Istanbul
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

By far my favorite hotel in Istanbul. The location is great, I can walk up to Taksim (?) Square and do a bit of shopping, eating and people watching. The staff is by far the best I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with; and is the main reason I keep coming by to this hotel when I can.

Yes, the rooms could be a little more hip and modern, but they are nice and classic as you would expect from the Rtiz name. If you pay a little more and get concierge access/club lounge its well worth the extra money as the drinks in the lounge are free and the food is good.

If you are looking for a place to be feel like you are a king ... then this is it. The spa is also very good, and I have been known to spend more money on treatments than my room!

Room Tip: Club Lounge is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    176
    50
    14
    5
See reviews for
104
262
37
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed couple of days during our trip. From inside this is really magnificent building and atmosphere, really five-star. Room had a limited view to Bosphorus, it was spacious and included amenities from Asprey (!) and the best-ever espresso machine (made for Illy, with Illy pods). Service in the hotel felt like trained, staff in a way tried to do their best but not really succeeding. There was some faults you would not expect in Ritz-Carlton, perhaps due to fairly weak command of english language. Open-air spa was closed to our disappointment (even though advertised at the same time in Istanbul Guide), inside spa was great. Everything (treatments, food, wine, drinks) is eye-wateringly expensive, and overall value for money relatively weak. Location is not overly central, but easy to go everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed for a conference as the hotel is conveniently located to the convention centre and on walking distance of Taksim Square.

Stayed at the Club Lounge floor in a spacious but unhappily dull room. The hotel keen on maintaining its 5 star status must however work hard and fast to get rid of its very dated and extraordinary unimaginative 'signature'. Though the staff is very friendly and supportive, the club lounge is well supplied with good food and drinks the overall impression is that this hotel will lose against its 5 star competitors soon. Unless some rigorous modernization and update (its SO 'grey') takes place to cater for modern and contemporary guests. Unless they want to alienate a large group of guests who look for what they get in other main cities that constantly improve and adjust. It's more than just a comfortable bed a good club lounge and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Ritz while on holidays. Overall we enjoyed our stay and were pleased with the usual high service standard.

PROPERTY

The building exterior is a tall tower in garish 80's style. One would never thought it houses a Ritz Carlton.

The interior is a lot more elegant in Ameican Classic deco with splashes of Euro-Asian touches.

Interior is a little old but very well kept and spotlessly clean.

LOCATION

Good but not great. Its perched halfway up a hill - a 10 min walk up to Taksim the main shopping area, or a 10 min walk down to the seaside and the tram.

A shuttle service would have been nice.

Its also next to a stadium so may or may not be to your liking.

ROOM

Classic Ritz, which is excellent.

SERVICE

Excellent. On know we were there on our Anniversary they decorated the room with roses, champaign and cake.

One notable experience. The concierge arranged a lunch booking for us. Upon knowing we were disappointed with the retaurant they arranged for a full refund and complementary meal. All very thoughtful

***

Overall a very pleasant experience.





Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chicago
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just completed our stay here last week. Stayed for 4 nights and everything was great. The rooms are nicely appointed and so are the bathrooms. Had an amazing night's sleep after walking for hours in Istanbul.

Hotel staff is wonderful and warm. A special shoutout to Menakshi at the concierge desk. She helped us out with dinner reservation and suggestions on baklava and lokum places to carry goodies back home.

So I see some people are criticizing the location, oh well they should have read before making the booking that this is not in Sultahnamet. I don't want to stay around there, it's too congested and noisy. I liked the location of this hotel away yet close by a short tram ride. Yes it's perched up on a hill but that's the beauty of it. So don't stay here if you are expecting to be around the old city and yes you will have to walk downhill and uphill if you plan to take the tram. If you don't want to, take a taxi.

Taksim square with it's hustle, bustle was a short 10 minute walk away. We had a front Bosphorus view room and it was beautiful. The club lounge was beautifully appointed and very well stocked. I loved the attention to detail and presentation of all the plates they served there.

The only disappointment was the breakfast. I was not impressed and have seen better spreads during my travel but given I am not a huge eater so it was fine for me.

Overall absolutely loved the Ritz and would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Front Bosphorus or Partial Bosphorus on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. Good breakfast buffet. Bar staff remembered favorite table and drinks throughout trip. Excellent suggestions for restaurants from concierge staff as well as guidance on using ferries to islands. Staff remembered us and called us by name.

Interesting group of guests of all nationalities.

Room Tip: Water view is preferred but all have interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We chose Ritz Carlton for our stay in Istanbul based on our previous trips to the Abama resort in Tenerife, also a Ritz Carlton property.
Whilst in no doubt we were at a 5 star hotel, standards were not quite up to the standards we have been accustomed to in our previous trips to this brands hotels. The surrounding of the hotel are quite rough, disheveled and we felt that we were a little unsafe walking around on uneven and broken pavements, noisy and loud traffic whizzing around….
Our room was ok, nothing special but a tad small i think - little things like cheap plastic hangers in the wardrobe a little shabby and the safe at a break neck angle to access. Nothing bad - all ok, but it was missing that feeling you get at a truly fabulous hotel.
Dining at the a la carte restaurant was slightly not up to standard though, saturday i had the lamb which was too well done to the point it was a little tough, and my cheese cake was still frozen which meant that it wasn't fresh, a little naughty! We stayed with children and the only other dining option was the bar which really wasn’t an appropriate place, and the local restaurants were a little rough looking, so we reluctantly dined in again Sunday evening. The steak i ordered medium rare, but again it came out tough and very well done, (seems to be a consistency here...). The waiter though was really very good and offered his sincere apologies and offered to re cook another steak. However there were four of us dining so i took the choice to get on with it which wasn’t the end of the world, just not what you expect at 5 star.
Breakfasts were ok, all good but nothing special, and nothing to compliment here. Fresh milk is seemingly not possible here and everywhere else we stayed in during our 10 days in the country. Try the cappuccino, but let me know if you enjoy it with UHT milk?
On the positive, the customer facing staff really is a true asset to the hotel. Our children were looked after very well too with gifts being presented to them at most dining events. The staff were consistently polite and anticipated our needs well and discreetly. Service was genuinely warm and sincere – excellent.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the river a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#26 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#69 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is located in the heart of Istanbul overlooking the Bosphorus and Dolmabahce Palace. It is approximately 30 minutes from Istanbul Atatark International Airport and is within walking distance of the Old Pera/Beyoglu district, which has many of the city's cultural attractions as well as Turkish designer shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Escapio, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.