We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey (Besiktas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #69 of 1,011 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

By far my favorite hotel in Istanbul. The location is great, I can walk up to Taksim (?) Square and do a bit of shopping, eating and people watching. The staff is by far the best I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with; and is the main reason I keep coming by to this hotel when I can.

Yes, the rooms could be a little more hip and modern, but they are nice and classic as you would expect from the Rtiz name. If you pay a little more and get concierge access/club lounge its well worth the extra money as the drinks in the lounge are free and the food is good.

If you are looking for a place to be feel like you are a king ... then this is it. The spa is also very good, and I have been known to spend more money on treatments than my room!

Room Tip: Club Lounge is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    223
    58
    15
    5
See reviews for
143
321
40
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed couple of days during our trip. From inside this is really magnificent building and atmosphere, really five-star. Room had a limited view to Bosphorus, it was spacious and included amenities from Asprey (!) and the best-ever espresso machine (made for Illy, with Illy pods). Service in the hotel felt like trained, staff in a way tried to do their best but not really succeeding. There was some faults you would not expect in Ritz-Carlton, perhaps due to fairly weak command of english language. Open-air spa was closed to our disappointment (even though advertised at the same time in Istanbul Guide), inside spa was great. Everything (treatments, food, wine, drinks) is eye-wateringly expensive, and overall value for money relatively weak. Location is not overly central, but easy to go everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a conference as the hotel is conveniently located to the convention centre and on walking distance of Taksim Square.

Stayed at the Club Lounge floor in a spacious but unhappily dull room. The hotel keen on maintaining its 5 star status must however work hard and fast to get rid of its very dated and extraordinary unimaginative 'signature'. Though the staff is very friendly and supportive, the club lounge is well supplied with good food and drinks the overall impression is that this hotel will lose against its 5 star competitors soon. Unless some rigorous modernization and update (its SO 'grey') takes place to cater for modern and contemporary guests. Unless they want to alienate a large group of guests who look for what they get in other main cities that constantly improve and adjust. It's more than just a comfortable bed a good club lounge and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Ritz while on holidays. Overall we enjoyed our stay and were pleased with the usual high service standard.

PROPERTY

The building exterior is a tall tower in garish 80's style. One would never thought it houses a Ritz Carlton.

The interior is a lot more elegant in Ameican Classic deco with splashes of Euro-Asian touches.

Interior is a little old but very well kept and spotlessly clean.

LOCATION

Good but not great. Its perched halfway up a hill - a 10 min walk up to Taksim the main shopping area, or a 10 min walk down to the seaside and the tram.

A shuttle service would have been nice.

Its also next to a stadium so may or may not be to your liking.

ROOM

Classic Ritz, which is excellent.

SERVICE

Excellent. On know we were there on our Anniversary they decorated the room with roses, champaign and cake.

One notable experience. The concierge arranged a lunch booking for us. Upon knowing we were disappointed with the retaurant they arranged for a full refund and complementary meal. All very thoughtful

***

Overall a very pleasant experience.





Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just completed our stay here last week. Stayed for 4 nights and everything was great. The rooms are nicely appointed and so are the bathrooms. Had an amazing night's sleep after walking for hours in Istanbul.

Hotel staff is wonderful and warm. A special shoutout to Menakshi at the concierge desk. She helped us out with dinner reservation and suggestions on baklava and lokum places to carry goodies back home.

So I see some people are criticizing the location, oh well they should have read before making the booking that this is not in Sultahnamet. I don't want to stay around there, it's too congested and noisy. I liked the location of this hotel away yet close by a short tram ride. Yes it's perched up on a hill but that's the beauty of it. So don't stay here if you are expecting to be around the old city and yes you will have to walk downhill and uphill if you plan to take the tram. If you don't want to, take a taxi.

Taksim square with it's hustle, bustle was a short 10 minute walk away. We had a front Bosphorus view room and it was beautiful. The club lounge was beautifully appointed and very well stocked. I loved the attention to detail and presentation of all the plates they served there.

The only disappointment was the breakfast. I was not impressed and have seen better spreads during my travel but given I am not a huge eater so it was fine for me.

Overall absolutely loved the Ritz and would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Front Bosphorus or Partial Bosphorus on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. Good breakfast buffet. Bar staff remembered favorite table and drinks throughout trip. Excellent suggestions for restaurants from concierge staff as well as guidance on using ferries to islands. Staff remembered us and called us by name.

Interesting group of guests of all nationalities.

Room Tip: Water view is preferred but all have interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We chose Ritz Carlton for our stay in Istanbul based on our previous trips to the Abama resort in Tenerife, also a Ritz Carlton property.
Whilst in no doubt we were at a 5 star hotel, standards were not quite up to the standards we have been accustomed to in our previous trips to this brands hotels. The surrounding of the hotel are quite rough, disheveled and we felt that we were a little unsafe walking around on uneven and broken pavements, noisy and loud traffic whizzing around….
Our room was ok, nothing special but a tad small i think - little things like cheap plastic hangers in the wardrobe a little shabby and the safe at a break neck angle to access. Nothing bad - all ok, but it was missing that feeling you get at a truly fabulous hotel.
Dining at the a la carte restaurant was slightly not up to standard though, saturday i had the lamb which was too well done to the point it was a little tough, and my cheese cake was still frozen which meant that it wasn't fresh, a little naughty! We stayed with children and the only other dining option was the bar which really wasn’t an appropriate place, and the local restaurants were a little rough looking, so we reluctantly dined in again Sunday evening. The steak i ordered medium rare, but again it came out tough and very well done, (seems to be a consistency here...). The waiter though was really very good and offered his sincere apologies and offered to re cook another steak. However there were four of us dining so i took the choice to get on with it which wasn’t the end of the world, just not what you expect at 5 star.
Breakfasts were ok, all good but nothing special, and nothing to compliment here. Fresh milk is seemingly not possible here and everywhere else we stayed in during our 10 days in the country. Try the cappuccino, but let me know if you enjoy it with UHT milk?
On the positive, the customer facing staff really is a true asset to the hotel. Our children were looked after very well too with gifts being presented to them at most dining events. The staff were consistently polite and anticipated our needs well and discreetly. Service was genuinely warm and sincere – excellent.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the river a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#82 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#117 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#58 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Address: Suzer Plaza, Askerocagi Caddesi, No:6 | Elmadag/Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#16 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#58 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul, is a perfect blend of culture, hospitality and sophistication at the heart of the world's crossroads between Asia and Europe.Located in the heart of the city overlooking the Bosphorus, The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul is just 15 minutes from the famous historical old town attractions of Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The vibrant nightlife districts of Beyoglu and Karakoy as well as the famous Galata Tower area 25-minute stroll from the hotel and Istanbul's sophisticated shopping areas such as Nisantasi, Kanyon, Zorlu Center and Istinye Park can all be reached in less than 20 minutes. Guests at The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul can enjoy the Bosphorus views of Bleu Lounge & Grill which features a Mediterranean-inspired menu, and an innovative range of cocktails. Five times a week there are live music performances and live DJ sets. The hotel's signature restaurant Atelier Real Food prides itself with an open kitchen, showcasing the French rotisserie and offering contemporary Mediterranean cuisine using fresh, seasonal and local ingredients. This simplicity based 'farm to table' dining concept combined with the high-class bistro dishes served, takes its guests 'back to basics'. Guests can enjoy a breakfast, business buffet lunches as well as the main attraction of Atelier Real Food, deliciously succulent dinners. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features eight treatment rooms, a unique 17-metre indoor pool and authentic Turkish Hammam. It also features a unique couples-Hammam suite and enables its guests to share an authentic memory of Turkey. The hotel also boasts the first open-air spa in the city with three contemporary Jacuzzis, a stylish sleek sunbathing terrace, two massage rooms and a pool. Club Lounge guests can enjoy a food and drinks service five times a day as well as exclusive use of the hotel's two cabriolet cars for exploring the city or for getting to business meetings. More than 2,403 square meters of meeting and conference space, highlighted by a magnificent Bosphorus view, are available for memorable events. Superb catering and entertainment services, high-speed Internet access in all of 11 meeting rooms and public areas, plus state-of-the-art audio-visual services and technicians all combine for our guest requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Istanbul
Ritz-Carlton Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.