We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quaint and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uyan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Uyan Hotel to your Saves list
Uyan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Utangac Sokak No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, quaint and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Decided to stay here for 2 nights after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor. Loved the location - near to all the attractions! Felt safe walking to and fro from the hotel. Room was tastefully decorated, bathroom was clean with hairdyer. Good spread for breakfast. The reception guy was courteous, warm and helpful when we checked in. Unfortunately, can't say the same for the girl manning the reception the next day. Despite this, will definitely stay here again when I'm back in Istanbul. Oh, and the view from the hotel was awesome! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    191
    34
    6
    13
See reviews for
87
192
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for five nights at the end of October 2012. We were upgraded to a large top floor Blue Mosque corner suite with views out to (you guessed it) the Blue Mosque !. We received a complementary pick up from Ataturk airport and found the staff helpful and very friendly. The location is ideally situated within walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and many other places that will be on your 'to do' list. The Grand Bazaar is about a 15 minute walk, the tram is walking distance as well as the underground cistern. There are many good and cheap restaurants within a hop skip and a jump.
This hotel is good value has free wifi and was a great base for our stay in Istanbul

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Uyan Hotel from Nov 17 - 25. The room was large and comfortable, breakfasts were varied and substantial. We were picked up free of charge from Ataturk airport and our return was arranged by the hotel for a reasonable fare. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was always coffee available on returning from visiting various sites. The Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque were within walking distance as was the tram transportation. We would recommend the hotel and would stay there again when we return to Istanbul.
Miriam and Dunstan

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are more desirable; however, the view from the rooftop is excellent and accessi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I only stayed one night due to my flight schedule, but I would have stayed longer if I had the time. I usually stay at a hotel near the airport when transiting through Istanbul, but this hotel is a much better option. It's convenient to get to via public transit - from the bottom level of the airport you can catch the red line train to Aksaray, transfer to the blue line (going to Kabatas) at the Zeytinburnu station, and then get off at the Sultanahmet station. It's about a 5-10 minute walk from there to the hotel. Total travel time is about 1-1.5 hours. There's not much to do around the airport so it's definitely worth the commute to the Uyan, which is in a great location. It's smack in the middle of the touristy part of town, but fun nonetheless.

The Uyan staff were friendly and gave me a free upgrade as the hotel was not full. The rooms are on the smaller side and a bit dated, and there were a couple of power outages due to the construction nearby. But if your mission is to see as much of the town as possible with only 15 hours between flights, you're not going to spend much time in the room anyway so this is the place for you.

If you have more time to vacation and want to get an authentic Istanbul neighborhood experience, I'd suggest the Azure apartments in the Beyoglu/Cihangir district. My wife and I stayed there earlier in the year and we loved it. Istanbul is a fantastic city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Uyan from 16/11/2012 to 21/11/2012. We had a complimentary pick up from Ataturk airport and breakfast included. The location of the hotel is fantastic, and the view from the terrace is wonderful. The staff can seem a little reserved but are very nice and helpful. Breakfast was good, the room large and spotlessly clean, the bathroom was spacious and very clean too.
This was a good choice for us and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I looked on TA and saw that this hotel is ranked at about 104 in Istabul. There must be some great places to stay, as this hotel was wonderful. Its location is superb, within a couple of minutes walk to the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia and the Topkapi Palace. The staff were friendly and willing to offer advise as to where to go and what to see. We probably didn't need too much direction!!!
It was not too far to escape the tourist restaurants and to find a quieter and more original place to experience original Turkish food.
This hotel had been arranged for us via Chora Travel, a tourist company that we used extensively throughout our private tour of Turkey. We couldn't have been happier with their choice. It more than met our expectations.
Istanbul is a wonderful city to be in and our stay at the Uyan Hotel only enhanced our time in this vibrant, exciting city.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Location is great as most of the top attractions are at walking distance. Restaurants all around. The hotel itself is nice with a pleasant staff. Our room was excellent. Breakfast is ok. The view from the rooftop astonishing. A very good quality/price offer!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uyan Hotel

Address: Utangac Sokak No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#74 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Uyan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Uyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyan Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uyan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.