We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for Sultanahmet Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uyan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Uyan Hotel to your Saves list
Uyan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Utangac Sokak No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clemmons, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best location for Sultanahmet Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Uyan Hotel is a beautiful old hotel just a 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and Agia Sophia. The staff is exceptionally friendly and they speak English very well. The breakfast (included) is wonderful and in good weather (most of the time) can be eaten on the rooftop with spectacular views of Sultanahmet district and the Sea of Mara Mara in the distance. Many restaurants close by - just a five minute walk in almost any direction.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    200
    38
    6
    13
See reviews for
94
198
77
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We arrived within a large party of 10, we were helped with our bags and checked in by the friendly informative receptionists. Two couples within the party were upgraded to a blue mosque room, which was nice. The reception staff were very helpful, he booked us into a local turkish bath, and organised tea on the terrace for us.
Our bags were taken up to our room, and we were shown everything in the room and how to work it. The rooms were spacious and very clean.
The roof terrace is lovely with spectacular veiws of the blue mosque, a lovely place for breakfast, and to relax.
The location of the hotel is perfect, a short walk to the blue mosque, bazzar, shops, and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

for a splendid visual experience in the Old City, get the large 4th floor "Blue Mosque view" room overlooking the garden of Yesil Ev, an adjoining guest house. The staff are helpful, the hotel location perfect for exploring all the sights in this part of the city on foot and by tram. The breakfast is traditional and has enough variety so that one can escape cucumbers, tomatoes and yoghurt and still feel ready for the day with boiled eggs, fresh fruit, toast and cereal. The presence of the Sultanahmet Four Seasons two buildings away means that you're never far from a wonderful meal in an historically important place, a fresh copy of that day's International Herald Tribune, and a convenient ATM.

The rooftop patio offers a beautiful view.

Staff were obliging about making phone calls for us and booking reservations at events. Transport from the airport was included, which was a real plus, since we arrived at 11 PM.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Uyan's location is definitely great, only a few hundred meters from main landmarks in Sultanahmet. Just a pity the bathroom, especially the shower box is too small even for petite size like me, and it's not well-lit. The corridors are equipped with movement-censor lamps that light only for a few seconds (a bit irritating to me), causing the place to be a bit dark. Breakfast time starts at 8am, which is a bit late for those who enroll themselves for city tour. Uyan also has dining tables at the rooftop but no waitress stood by. At night, we can hear people chatting on the street because the windows are made of wood. But overall, we were happy with the staff and ...the free wifi in the rooms really make up for everything :)

Room Tip: Choose the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I just retunred from my first trip to Istanbul, where I stayed in the Hotel Uyan. It is a very nice hotel ideally located near several of the great attractions of Old Istanbul, The Aya Sofia, the Blue Mosque, the Cisterns, and the Bazaar, and is a five minute walk from the tram.

The people at the desk could not have been more helpful or friendly.

My single room was quite small, but enough, and the bathroom was very nice. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I Loved staying at this hotel. It's in the best and most central part of Sultanahmet. It's a few steps to Aya Sofia and other landmarks and as someone mentioned, 30 yards from Four seasons which is known for it's beautiful views and rooftop (ours was just as nice:-). Their breakfast room is sunny and breakfast is a yummy bufft. Staff is super nice, and we were very happy with our very nice and sunny room and pretty big bathroom. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Istanbul as a tourist.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a great little treasure! When booking our trip to Istanbul I was looking for a great location in the Sultanahmet district and could not have made a better choice!

The hotel is quaint and charming and the staff are friendly and helpful.

We booked a small room and it was definitely small, but as we did not spend a lot of time in our room so really it was perfect. The room was clean and that was all that was really important to me.

We were at the hotel our first week in Turkey and it definitely made a good impression. At the end of our trip we had one last night in Istanbul and booked the Uyan again. It was a great decision.

We kept our windows open the entire time we were there and waking to the sounds of call to prayer from the Blue Mosque was one of the highlights of our time there (also....there are no screens on the windows but the most we saw of any bugs was two tiny moth-like creatures that flew in....not a fly, not a mosquito, not a spider to be found!!)

The location could not be better....less than a minute walk to the Blue Mosque and Ayasofya. The roof top terrace gave spectacular views of both as well as the Bosphorus.

Breakfast is included and featured the traditional Turkish fare of olives, cheeses, cucumbers, tomatoes and yogurt along with cereals, eggs and toast. Having breakfast on the terrace was unbelievable!

A definite recommendation for this gem of Istanbul!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uyan Hotel

Address: Utangac Sokak No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#113 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Uyan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Uyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uyan Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uyan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.