We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Special
Ranked #4 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Istanbul and we had decided to treat ourselves by staying at this hotel. While it is expensive, it is worth every euro. We had what we assume was a fairly modest room on the first floor looking out to the inner courtyard. We loved the room - the bed was fit for a sultan and the bathroom was perfect. What really captured us was the cool breezes blowing in through the muslin curtains and the sounds of the birds and the fountain and the calls to prayer floating in... These sensations will stay with us...
There was exceptional attention to detail by the house-keeping staff. The concierge staff were unfailingly informative - even offering anecdotes about the local cats. We thought the breakfast was excellent although quite expensive compared to other hotels.
We only hope that one day we will find our way back to Istanbul and this glorious hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    695
    76
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
167
400
25
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks Uk
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is absolutely the luxury hotel of choice for a leisure visit to Istanbul if you want to visit the main historical sites. Rooms are beautifully appointed , the ambience is relaxing and refined, the staff are efficient and friendly and the concierges can arrange for all your plans to be realised; for us the booked excellent guides and arranged a private boat cruise on the Bosphorus

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgehampton, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have stayed in several Four Seasons hotels around the world and this might be the best. Beautiful, meticulously maintained gardens and public areas...Rooms are spacious and stunning. Best of all is the superior service from cleaning staff to incredibly helpful concierges. Right next to the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia and Cisterns, be forewarned that with traffic, it takes a long time to get to other areas unless you master the street cars. The Four Seasons Bosphorous is perhaps even more gorgeous. We were here three weeks before the protests, and hope tourists don't stop visiting this amazingly sophisticated and wonderful city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I was doing business with Four Seasons a few years ago and stayed at the Four Seasons Sultanahmet. As I walked down a corridor mid-day, it zig zagged past an elevator lobby. As I approached, I could hear the quiet drone of a floor polisher on the marble floors. As I turned the corner, the staff member saw me, turned off his machine, and stood silently until I was well down the next corridor before he continued his work. This example of discreet, respectful service, even exhibited by housekeeping staff, is the benchmark of a true five-star property. If their maintenance man is trained that well, you can imagine the quality of the rest of the service.

Incidentally, I was in a room facing Hagia Sophia. When I awoke early the next morning, it was still dark (January) and snow had fallen during the night. The sight of the mosque covered with snow and illuminated with lights was amazing. The location is PERFECT, within walking distance of many sights in the old section of Istanbul. I look forward to going again this September.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If it is your first visit to Istanbul then this is the place to explore the key sites, several of which are an easy walk. However, the genius who saw the opportunity of converting an old prison into a luxury hotel and use the exercise yard to build the restaurant and lovely gardens should have some acknowledgement in the entrance lobby. And if this same person came up with the idea of the roof bar so that you can watch the sun pick out the minarets on the Blue Mosque as it sets, then more congratulations are in order. I will give it full marks, which is a first for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We always return to the FS Sultanahmed when ever in Istanbul. Location unbeatable,service an beauty of the hotel excellent. Concierge and Front Desk are always friendly and helpful.
We are always very happy to be there. Santa Sofia and Blue Mosque are just in front. The terrace with a lovely bar to see the Mosques at dawn is very, very nice. The people at the hotel door are always trying to make your stay comfortable . Congratulations!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was easily the most amazing hotel stay I have ever had in my life. I had decided to try one night here on the recommendation from a good friend (with good taste) and nervously handed over the cash. I wrote a private message to the hotel staff on their online check-in form describing my recent work in Africa, traveling through Asia before returning to Canada and having only the night with my gf before traveling back to our different countries. Imagine my complete and utter surprise when I arrived at the hotel and found that they had decided to upgrade us to most spectacular suite I have ever seen, and provided a complimentary bottle of champagne. I would have never expected such amazing customer service and would not hesitate to go there again (even I wasn't so lucky as to get that suite!). The location is perfect if you're coming to Istanbul to see the old city and take in all of the history of Topkopi, Hagia Sofia etc. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and the breakfast was really very nice. All of that said however, this hotel only gets a 4/5 for value and 3/5 for spa because, unlike the Bosphorus Four Seasons, there is a minimalist spa and fitness center without the usual 5 star amenities I've come to know of Four Seasons (guests are eligible to go to use the amenities at the Bosphorus but with the unimaginably bad traffic in Istanbul it's simply not feasible). All the same, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for anyone traveling through Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#6 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.