We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience that couldn't be more convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Special
Ranked #2 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Brussels
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“First class experience that couldn't be more convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and son over the Easter break. It's a fabulous property. The rooms are superbly furnished, with really wonderful bathrooms - no amenity overlooked. For example, the hotel provided an iPad in our room that my son latched onto for the entire visit. The bathroom included both a whirlpool tub and a shower room with a steam setting. The toiletries were Bulgari. We had a suite, which was spacious and big enough to easily accommodate my son in the main living room. The staff were equally wonderful. No request too small to handle. We arranged a guided tour, car service, and a private boat ride through them. Breakfast was a treat, with the usual hotel fare plus local specialties (Turkish breads, cheeses, honeycomb, etc.). We dined in the hotel restaurant one night and also enjoyed that meal. Apart from the sheer fabulousness of the property and service, the hotel is extremely convenient for sightseeing. Definitely a special treat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear americantravelgirl,

My name is Felix Murillo, I am the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.

During the days that you were with us, I was away of town. It makes me so happy to read your note, thank you very much for taking the time to write it.

Please let me know if in the future I may be of assistance at any time. My direct email address felix.murillo@fourseasons.com.

Yours cordially,

Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    82
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
188
462
28
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Our week at the Four Seasons Sultanahmet capped a five plus week 50th anniversary trip for my wife and me. Our stay in Istanbul, and the Four Seasons in particular, was wonderful. The hotel's location is phenomenal. While there are many other hotels of varying sizes nearby, none comes even close to offering the luxury that the Four Seasons offers. The location cannot be beat if one is interested in the history of Constantinople, the greatest city of the western world for nearly 1,000 years. Within a five minute walk are four of the world's greatest cultural sites - Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofia Museum (1500 year old former Byzantine cathedral and then mosque), the Blue Mosque and the Basilica Cistern. Every one of these is a jaw-dropping experience. Even public transportation - frowned on by the hotel - is within 5 minutes.

Enough about location within a spectacular city. The hotel itself is simply wonderful. Our room was very spacious, although at the bottom of the ladder for price and size. The bathroom is large, elegant, and fully outfitted with absolutely top of the line linens and toiletries. There was morning and evening maid service and fresh fruit and water on a daily basis. Nothing was left out. The hotel is immaculate, heavily staffed, beautifully conceived, and ultra service oriented and worth every penny of the cost, which was high to say the least. My only quibble is that the one dinner we ate there was only OK. On the other hand, we had a delicious lunch at the sister hotel overlooking the Bosphorus. For an impeccable location and great experience, this can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband booked my son and I into the Istanbul Sultanahmet 4 Seasons because he knew that we would be well taken care of, be extremely comfortable, and feel very safe based on his previous experience. The staff is exceptionally friendly, professional, knowledgeable and efficient. The hotel was a Turkish prison, which is not detectable, but good for humourous stories. The hotel itself is steps away from the Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque, and a relatively easy walk to the Tokapi Palace (1 of the 2 former Sultan's Palaces in Istanbul). The staff just couldn't be more personable or accommodating. Very luxurious and service-oriented and provide a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: The hotel is so well appointed that it may be difficult to have a bad room. I don't think that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at the Four Seasons at Sultanahment 28-29 March 2012 and have to say it was one of the best, if not the best, hotel we've ever been in. We travel extensively for business and pleasure and this hotel was ideal from the staff to the facility to the location. I truly can't say enough positive things about this hotel. Superior, superb, and excellent are the best adjectives I can come up with.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just returned from a delightful stay at the Four Seasons hotel,Sultanhamet,where all our expectations were fulfilled and exceeded.This superb hotel,admirably managed by the charming Mr Felix Murillo is within easy walking distance of Sultanalmet Mosque,Topkapi Palace museum,Hagia Sophia museum,and many other attractions.A little further away ,but most highly recommended is the Koska confectionary shop.The best selection of turkish delights,baklavas,nuts and cakes imaginable.
The hotel's entrance hall is a florist's dream.Beautiful floral arrangements artistically displayed.Different flower themes extended to all parts of the hotel and gave us great pleasure.

Our elegantly furnished room on the 2nd floor overlooked the garden,and conservatory restaurant.Our room was faultlessly cleaned and replenished daily with bottled water,and a basket of fresh fruit.

The garden is breathtaking,the fragrance of hyacinths,the colour combination of various plants and flowers are a credit to the immaculate maintainence and pride the gardeners of the hotel take in their work,

We ate in the restaurant,professionally managed by Engen,and his hard working talented chefs,and waiting staff.We particurly enjoyed at breakfast the lage comb of honey,and the delicious conical shaped hot onion,basil and olive breads served at dinner.Try also a basket of tasty french fries availabe in the lounge bar.

We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary and thanks to Mr Murillo and his happy staff they made the occasion memorable.A celebratory cake and sparkling wine greeted our arrival ,and each night we had a delicious and superbly presented rose petalled tray of canapes,petit fours ,macaroons and turkish wines delivered to our room..

Every member of staff was exceceptionally friendly,attentive and dedicated to making our stay a happy and worthwhile experience.It is perphaps churlish to pick out individual staff members,because everyone was so pleasant and helpful.However we were given special attention from Mr Mehmet,Guest Manager,Sinem,Receptionist and TugGe .

One expects luxurious toileteries,fluffy robes ,quality bed linen free internet service in 5 star hotels.One also expects,but regretfully does not always receive 5 star service from the staff. At Four Seasons ,Sultanahamet you can rest assured that this is what you will recieve in abundance .

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor facing the gardens are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Some might called it Shangri-La or Nirvana, well, it seems it is located in Istanbul at Sultanahmet. First time visit to Istambul, arrived very late at the hotel after a long transoceanic flight. We were greeted by name at the hotel entrance, no check inn at the lobby, we were inmediatly guided to our room. The room was impecable, everything in order, plus a nice selection or Turquish deserts for our arrival. The hotel is very quiet, perfect pairing for that lovely Four Seasons bed. The grounds of the hotel are full of flowers and small plants, that complement the heavenly atmosphere of the hotel. Everyone on the staff was always a step ahead to serve you, again, greeted by name and always made fell welcome and in the right place in Istambul. All culinary aspects are excellent, the choice ranges from local dishes and spices, to international flavors for the less adventurous. Our only regret at this hotel, is that our visit was too short. For the discriminating traveller, looking for only the best in every sense, this is your address at Istambul. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We often stay at the Ritz Carlton and happened upon this hotel because the Ritz was booked. We are so happy with that turn of events, as the Four Seasons Sultanahmet is easily one of the best hotels we have ever experienced. From the moment we spoke with them with questions about our stay, not one detail was overlooked including the driver from the airport who assisted us with in room check in (a real treat after 17 hour journey), a welcome amenity for our 12 year old daughter, impeccably appointed room and bathroom with a view of the Haigha Sophia, daily treats left in our room, a beautiful breakfast buffet with lovely and attentive wait staff, and the list goes on. This hotel is ideally situated and although we were worried it didn't have a pool, we ended up being glad it didn't as there is so much to enjoy in Istanbul. We are looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room in the hotel. Ours was very quiet (though you could hear the call to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear dhkklk,

I am very gratefull for your kind words. My name is Felix Murillo, I am the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.

dhkklk, If may ever be of assistance please let me know. My direct email address is felix.murillo@fourseasons.com

I look forward to welcome you back to Sultanahmet and the Four Seasons. With your permission I want to share your comments with the team.

Yours cordially,

Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#2 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.