We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT ASK THEM TO MAIL POSTCARDS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Istanbul to your Saves list
Conrad Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cihannuma Mah, Istanbul 34353, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Beacon, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“DO NOT ASK THEM TO MAIL POSTCARDS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here October 12 and 21, 2012 (beginning and end of our stay). Very nice hotel with clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff. Some rooms have a view overlooking the Bosphorus, other have a construction site - we had both. Has a gift shop on the second floor, very expensive, but that's to be expected. It is walkable to a busy street with lots of shops and a Currency Exchange. The Dolmabahce Palace is a little further, but still a nice walk. On the first day there, I wrote out postacards and asked the front desk to mail them. I paid in Turkish Lira and thought everything was OK. It's been over two weeks and no one has received a card. As a suggestion, mail cards from downtown. Other than this blip, everything was great.

Room Tip: ask the front desk for a view of the Bosphorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inigoarruti, Manager at Conrad Istanbul, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

I appreciate your positive and constructive comments that I have already shared with the team.

Regarding the post card delivery, I would like to inform you that , unfortunately delivery takes time and in some occasions we have also learned that postcards are not delivered by the postal service; in any case, this is something out of our control and we can confirm that all postcards have been delivered to postal service.

I want to thank you once more for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future,

Kind regards,
Iňigo Arruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    383
    154
    43
    21
See reviews for
170
285
93
429
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Yes, you get a nice bed, a good view and service you can get in any other nice hotel but it is sterile and the location is horrible! You go in and you have no idea what country you are in. As for location, there is nothing close by and you can't walk to anything. You need a taxi to the old area, the Blue Mosque, or anything else worth interest and even going somewhere else to eat is impossible.

It isn't there fault, it is a Conrad. They are meant to be the same. So, if you want generic--go for it. If you want something with a better location and a touch of Istanbul, go closer to the Old quarter, Blue Mosque where you can walk everywhere, see the sites, and experience more of Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inigoarruti, Manager at Conrad Istanbul, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sad to learn that your stay at the Conrad did not fulfil your expectations. I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as we always look for ways to improve in our services and standards.

Although our hotel is not located immediately next to the main attractions, it is not too far from them – a taxi drive to old town will take around 10 – 15 minutes (depending on traffic conditions) and the tramway station which brings to the core of the old town is within walking distance; the trip to the old town takes around 15 minutes. Moreover, we are located within walking distance to the more and more popular Ortakoy area, located below the Bosphorus bridge; an ideal escape for a drink, dinner, shopping, or simple walk away.

Thank you once more for your comments and we hope we will be able to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,

Iñigo Arruti
Hotel Manager
Conrad Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for two days prior to our cruise in the Med. this past September 2012. We normally wouldn't have stayed in such luxury but the hotel was chosen for us by the Cunard Cruise Line and was included in our cruise price. The room was beautiful and the hotels exudes decadence and luxury. The dining experience was over the top! This is when you get a taste of what the rich and famous are use to. The staff are friendly and helpful as you might expect in high end hotels. Everything seemed a pleasure to them and we enjoyed some true relaxation with drinks during our pre-diner indulgence. We felt safe and were soon in the midst of the " happening" areas. For shopping , dining and entertainment visit Istikal Caddesi by taking a short taxi ride to the funicular which will take you up to Taksim and you can walk the 3km long pedestrianized street. A night visit is best. It's almost Disneysque but for real!

Finally if there is a better bed than the one we had in our room I have yet to find it. Just gorgeous comfort. Didn't want to leave for the cruise! Tried to put the mattress in my suitcase but the darn thing wouldn't fit!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inigoarruti, Manager at Conrad Istanbul, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and please rest assured that positive comments have been shared with all team members.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we have met your expectations.

I look forward to welcome you back in not a too distant future to the Conrad Istanbul

Regards,

Inigo Arruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missoula mt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent eight days here. It was heavenly. A fabulous facility, great food (the Sunday Brunch was an unbelievable spread). They are in the process of updating and expanding the hotel but we were not inconvenienced in the slightest. One of my best hotel experiences.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inigoarruti, Manager at Conrad Istanbul, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and please rest assured that positive comments have been shared with all team members.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we have met your expectations.

I look forward to welcome you back in not a too distant future to the Conrad Istanbul

Regards,

Inigo Arruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly, efficient staff and the most amazing views over the Bosphorous River. Excellent selection of food for breakfast - everything from miso to bread pudding to the fantastic selection of pastries.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the river bosphorous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inigoarruti, Manager at Conrad Istanbul, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to publish your comments.

I have already shared them with our team and this will motivate us to keep working to seek service excellence for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future,

Sincerely,
Iňigo Arruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed one night prior to a cruise on Oceania Cruise Lines and the service and accomodations could not be improved upon. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The room was very nice and we understand that many improvements were underway. The dinner at the top of the hotel was excellent and the breakfast buffet off of the lobby was outstanding with a wide choice of breakfast items. Again, the waitstaff was attentive and friendly. We would definitely stay here again when we are in Istanbul. The hotel was conveniently located and the view from the top of the hotel was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inigoarruti, Manager at Conrad Istanbul, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for having taken the time to share your kind comments,
As you mention, some of the most impacting views of the city can be enjoyed at our hotel, and we are happy to see that you enjoy our services,

We look forward to welcoming you soon

Sincerely,


Inigo Arruti
Hotel Manager
Conrad Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankara
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel has a good location, lots of things to do around. If there is not a heavy traffic, 10 minutes to taksim and 20 minutes to Sultan Ahmed area.Down the hotel, by a couple minutes walk, you arrive Besiktas area by the sea side. Nice small fish restaurants by fish market.

My UK based agency made a mistake and sent me a voucher good for 2 nights, unfortunately there was a mistake and there was no reservations made for me for the dates I had requested.
The front desk made their best to check in for the night I arrived. Next day , I was kept updated almost every half an hour about the availibilty for the coming days that I needed.
Finally I spent all my time at Conrad with the great effort of the front desk manager and the staff.
Thanks to all for the great effort and hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inigoarruti, Manager at Conrad Istanbul, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thankful for your comments and the time taken to post them. I am delighted to hear that our services met your expectations. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the team, this will motivate us to keep working for our ultimate goal, service excellence indeed.

I look forward to welcome you back in not a too distant future to the Conrad Istanbul

Regards,

Inigo Arruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Istanbul

Address: Cihannuma Mah, Istanbul 34353, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#124 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impeccable service and amenities designed for individuals at the heart of the city...Located on the European side of Istanbul, the Conrad Istanbul is your exclusive hub in the midst of Istanbul's culture and commerce. Our hotel is designed to respond to the expectations of both the discerning business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Conrad Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.