We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am currently here and I do not want to leave!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultanahmet District

Sultanahmet District
Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #4 of 646 Attractions in Istanbul
Type: Neighborhoods, Historic Walking Areas
Activities: Shopping, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The old section of Istanbul where you can find many attractions including Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“I am currently here and I do not want to leave!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am staying here while I am visiting Istanbul and I love the area.
All the main attractions are close by, I can walk everywhere from the grand bazaar to the blue mosque.
It is full of restaurants (very good ones too) and I feel very secure.

If you are visiting Istanbul and you can, stay here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,788
    1,291
    184
    32
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I love this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I loved being in the center of it all, there is so much to do, see and buy! The food is great, you just have to check Trip advisor and you will find some great places!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place, but too many weird men”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I love going to this part of town, except for the weird men I encounter along the way. No matter if I go there during the fall, winter, summer or spring, there is usually always a man trying to talk to me, propose or use some weird pick up line on me. I try avoiding this part of town, only for that reason. Aside from that, it's a great place to hang out with people and a fun place to be.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spend more than a day here.... much to see and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I love the ancient mixed with the modern. This district has the majority of tourist attractions in Istanbul. Take it all in, and relax at a hammam when you need it most.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
151 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Historical old town area so lots of history but the prices of things is so inflated and the businesses harass you as you walk around. I used my headphones to get some peace.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultanahmet District also viewed

 

Been to Sultanahmet District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultanahmet District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.