We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Touristy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sultanahmet District

Sultanahmet District
Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34012, Turkey (Sultanahmet)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$100*
and up
Istanbul Walking Small-Group Tour Including Hagia...
Ranked #4 of 925 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The old section of Istanbul where you can find many attractions including Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
246 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Historical old town area so lots of history but the prices of things is so inflated and the businesses harass you as you walk around. I used my headphones to get some peace.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bucharest
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Everything happens here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

need to look no further: the big bazaar, the best restaurants, the best city highlights are here. No need to use public transport cause everything is within a walking distance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Sultanahmet is, like the whole of Istanbul, full of the most beautiful historic sites - surrounded by thousands of little restaurants and shops - and off course, right by the Spice and Grand Bazaars. Cannot skip this place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Esme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very busy full of tourist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Quite lively place, lots of hotels and restaurants. The prices are bit inflated in the restaurants, but can have mcDonald, Burger King.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Babar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the liveliest places you could ever hope to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were in Istanbul in the first few days of December this year and, despite ministrations from well-meaning friends that Turkey was hardly the place to go to at this time of the year, fell in love with this charming city the moment we walked out of the Ataturk airport. It is a place where the ancient and the modern co-exist in perfect harmony. The Sultanahmet district more than any other part of Istanbul best embodies this symmetry. All the major historical sights of Istanbul lie within a radius of three-fourths of a kilometre of Sultanahmet Square, Istanbul's crown jewel. The wide open spaces, the quaint palm trees lining the perfectly--paved walkways, the many-coloured fountains that light up the square after sunset, and the stunning view of Hagia Sophia looming from behind these fountains -- and yes, the carts selling freshly-roasted chestnuts and vanilla-flavoured teas, together make an hour spent here in the evening a memorable experience, relaxing and exhilarating at the same time. We sat there the first evening, after visiting the Blue Mosque and the Basilica Cistern-- and could not help coming back to it every evening we were there. Yes, there are vendors goimg about trying to sell their wares, and tour operators inviting you to book a trip on one of their excursions-- but each one of them has the innate tact and courtesy that distinguishes practically everybody in Istanbul from people in other metros in most parts of the world: they never hard-sell their stuff , never get on your nerves and always take a 'no' with a polite smile. The Square is a perfectly safe place too, and my daughter and I happen to have walked in the deserted Square well after ten on a windy winter night , never feeling insecure or threatened. That night we were privileged to see something truly extra-ordinary: high up in the sky on the full-moon night, a flock of seagulls was going round and round one of the Mosque's brightly-lit, tall turrets, their white bodies beautifully complementing the blue sky and the reddish-brown light from the turret. I will not forget Sultanahmet in a hurry!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank basuanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultanahmet District also viewed

 

Been to Sultanahmet District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing