We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated and over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul to your Saves list
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey (Besiktas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 1,068 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Over-rated and over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were very disappointed with this hotel right from when we first entered through the big security screening checkpoint at the grand entrance. It's a massive hotel and you literally feel like nothing more than "a number" not at all like a guest. We stayed for 3 nights and each afternoon would spend an hour or two trying to relax by the pool ... not once, but 4 times (and twice in one day I might add) over the duration of our stay, we were approached (or rather interrupted) by staff questioning whether or not we were guests of the hotel. The rooms are spacious but a little outdated. My best advice would be pay a little extra and stay down the road at The Four Seasons Bosphorous Hotel where you won't be disappointed. The Ciragan Palace is over priced and definitely no value for money to be had here which is a shame because it's in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gndk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.
We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations and are thankful for receiving your feedback, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your comments, which we regard as very serious, and would like to discuss them with you in detail at your convenience if you could, when you have the time, kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Mr. Leon Baum directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.
We wish you a nice day,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

What can i say about this palace!! Even though the decoration is not exactly my style, i could not expect anything less from one of the most historical hotels of Istanbul. The location is unique, right on the shore of Bosphorus, with breathtaking views, close enough to the shopping and night life centre of this beautiful city. Service can be rated with 7 stars!!! If you are looking for royal treatment, this is the place to be. Try the turkish specialties (to die for!!!!).

Room Tip: Try the front sea view rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was my second visit to the Ciragan after 14 years. Things get old! When you enter the hotel you are very welcome by the staff. That's all. The rest needs to be modernized. The rooms, the restaurants, the lobby, the afternoon tea. Istanbul has so many modern hotels, boutique hotels and with good prices. Everything in the Ciragan is pricey. I got very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.
We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations and are thankful for receiving your feedback, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your comments, which we regard as very serious, and would like to discuss them with you in detail at your convenience if you could, when you have the time, kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Mr. Leon Baum directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.
We wish you a nice day,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My experience at Ciragan Palace was an unforgettable one, the BEST birthday ever and I highly recommend this hotel as for me it was not a 5 star hotel but a warm home environment. The staff is excellent, courteous, and above all, a friend to every guest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AthensMikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Ciragan Kempinski hotel is known as a must in Istambul hospitality
This is correct because the care to the guest is the first goal of this hotel staff.
The restaurants are very good, the breakfast is overhelming, the same is valid for the rooms.
I highly recommend

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room loking at the Bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stunning hotel with breathtaking views of the river from our room. Great service, concierge extremely helpful in tracking down our lost luggage, suggesting and booking an amazing dinner cruise on the Bosphorus and helping us with car service to the old city. Rooms -very nice and they fulfilled our request for Bosphorous facing. Pool - decent size and good bar service. Traffic could be a bit bad to the old city so do account for this . I have stayed before at the four season Istanbul but do prefer Ciragan.

Will stay there again !!

Room Tip: Request Bosphorous facing and if occupancy is low, they could fulfill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a great experience.
Great service.
Best location.
Great places to chill close to the bhosphorus.
2 sections of the hotel. 1 is the old palace with 12 rooms. 2nd is the new wing.
Many great restaurants.
My wife and kid had a great time !
Negotiate well :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Siddkulish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sisli
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#123 of 1,068 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#57 of 1,068 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#210 of 1,068 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,900 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#75 of 1,068 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing