We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Luxury Hotel in the World in my opinion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 920 Hotels in Istanbul
Opio, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Luxury Hotel in the World in my opinion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I live in the S.France and as a senior executive for a multinational have travelled to many fine hotels. In my view this is the best as it offers 5***** luxury, service and amenities on one side and then you have the Bosphorous ! The hotel boasts a spectacular view in front of the hotel where you see boats of all types passing day and night. Besides the setting and location you also have the historic element as this new hotel full of high tech modern comforts actually adjoins what was a palace and the old building part boasts a glass staircase in the Lalique style that takes you to a classy restaurant with Russian caviar etc at reasonable prices.

The modern part of the hotel has a coffee shop near the pool for a snack, and there is authentic Turkish cuisine at the bar area ...the place has everything and is truly charming

Room Tip: They have rooms at different prices ..I have stayed here in a cheap standard single and have also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    174
    39
    21
    13
See reviews for
190
353
33
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South East
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed last month for two days. Great arrival procedure with a personalised service. Changed rooms on seeing the Garden view room we were giving and swapped to a Bosphorus view which was far better. Great service and feeling of grandness about the place but food and drink were very high priced and based on the view rather than the food itself. I'd go again. Definitely one of the best in the city and I can't imagine Kempinski will allow the place to decline. But it does need freshening up in places. The staff were fantastic and made the stay very welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortemark, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We only have short holidays, so we always go for the best. Well, believe me, this was one of the best hotel experiences we had untill now : great location, service, friendly and helpfull staff, excellent restaurants, etc. Better than other Kempinskis, altough this one isn't so new anymore. They also have a good hotel taxi-service with decent drivers and correct prices, otherwise we maybe woudn't have seen Istanbul at all, because we would have stayed at the hotel. (Most of the city cab drivers are real joy-riders!) The rooms are rather classic, but with all the modern luxury and very comfortable boxspring beds. Of course such a kind of service has its price! We stayed at the hotel itself. Next to it is a beautiful Ottoman palace, where the suites are for the rich and famous, as you can see on the hotels wall of Fame. The nice garden and infinity-pool are situated along the Bosporus: nice cool breeze and fantastic view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed with this hotel in 2012, and I was expecting same zeal, and wariness this time. But I was terribly wrong, it was a complete waste of money - no warmness in staff, terrible rooms and the only best thing left is the view (Bosphorus) and the Bosphorus Grill restaurant. I do not suggest this property for stay till it undergoes complete renovation.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.
We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations and are thankful for receiving your feedback, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your comments, which we regard as very serious, and would like to discuss them with you in detail at your convenience if you could, when you have the time, kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Mr. Leon Baum directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.
We wish you a nice day,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights while at the hotel for a work conference. The hotel was very expensive- a simple room service breakfast of muesli and toast was $40! The hotel is looking a bit worn and could use a renovation.

The hotel is walking distance from restaurants and shops. I was pleased with the service in general.
The grounds are beautiful. Lovely views!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us.
We have taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been immediately shared with the appropriate departments for immediate improvement and we would like to discuss them with you in detail at your convenience if you could kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Mr. Leon Baum directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
Together with my team, I hope to welcome you back soon again, and provide you the finest Turkish hospitality here at the Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern - Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

First city / stop in my world tour holiday. Stayed at this hotel for three nights. A lovely room with classic furniture and with a view on the Bosporus. The hotelroom is wel equipped and you even find a set of adapters for your electronic devices in case you forgot them. The room has a great boxspring bed. The additional bed for my daughter was good and she received a plate with all kinds of candy which she, offcourse, highly appreciated.

The hotel is dividend in two pièces. The old Ottoman part, which was a part of the sultan residences, and a new part in which nearly all rooms are. In the old part you find beautiful suites in which famous people stayed like Bill Clinton, Willem Alexander of the Netherlands, Sting, Claudia Schiffer. There is a Wall of Fame in the hall of the hotel where you can see all the famous people who stayed here.

The hotel has a nice infinity pool next to the Bosporus which is tremendious view. Lying in the pool and see all the immense container chips floating by. I did a manicure and pedicure in the Hotel s spa which was fine.

The breakfast is sumptious, with al kinds of variaties of food. The hotel advertises with it and it is all true. Fresh bread, pasteries, juices, Turkish food, all kinds of salade, mezze and fresh honey. A side card offers you some extra choices as waffels, porridge and eggs.

The advantage of staying in a hotel who is located next to the Bosporus is the cooling wind on hot days. For your daytrips you can take a cab which brings you into town which is around 25 Turkish Lira, so very cheap if I compare it with the Swiss rates of my country.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Bosporus view. Rooms with parkview might be cheaper but they are next to a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Excellent Hotel / Excellent Rooms / Excellent Location & Excellent Service, It has its own platform to board Boats. Excellent to hold weddings, the Palace rooms are exquisite. Breakfast was unbelievable

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#27 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.