We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Island of calm amidst the bustle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul to your Saves list
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey (Besiktas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 1,022 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
South East
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Island of calm amidst the bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed last month for two days. Great arrival procedure with a personalised service. Changed rooms on seeing the Garden view room we were giving and swapped to a Bosphorus view which was far better. Great service and feeling of grandness about the place but food and drink were very high priced and based on the view rather than the food itself. I'd go again. Definitely one of the best in the city and I can't imagine Kempinski will allow the place to decline. But it does need freshening up in places. The staff were fantastic and made the stay very welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    227
    50
    27
    20
See reviews for
266
453
46
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kortemark, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We only have short holidays, so we always go for the best. Well, believe me, this was one of the best hotel experiences we had untill now : great location, service, friendly and helpfull staff, excellent restaurants, etc. Better than other Kempinskis, altough this one isn't so new anymore. They also have a good hotel taxi-service with decent drivers and correct prices, otherwise we maybe woudn't have seen Istanbul at all, because we would have stayed at the hotel. (Most of the city cab drivers are real joy-riders!) The rooms are rather classic, but with all the modern luxury and very comfortable boxspring beds. Of course such a kind of service has its price! We stayed at the hotel itself. Next to it is a beautiful Ottoman palace, where the suites are for the rich and famous, as you can see on the hotels wall of Fame. The nice garden and infinity-pool are situated along the Bosporus: nice cool breeze and fantastic view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed with this hotel in 2012, and I was expecting same zeal, and wariness this time. But I was terribly wrong, it was a complete waste of money - no warmness in staff, terrible rooms and the only best thing left is the view (Bosphorus) and the Bosphorus Grill restaurant. I do not suggest this property for stay till it undergoes complete renovation.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.
We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations and are thankful for receiving your feedback, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your comments, which we regard as very serious, and would like to discuss them with you in detail at your convenience if you could, when you have the time, kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Mr. Leon Baum directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.
We wish you a nice day,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights while at the hotel for a work conference. The hotel was very expensive- a simple room service breakfast of muesli and toast was $40! The hotel is looking a bit worn and could use a renovation.

The hotel is walking distance from restaurants and shops. I was pleased with the service in general.
The grounds are beautiful. Lovely views!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us.
We have taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been immediately shared with the appropriate departments for immediate improvement and we would like to discuss them with you in detail at your convenience if you could kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Mr. Leon Baum directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
Together with my team, I hope to welcome you back soon again, and provide you the finest Turkish hospitality here at the Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern - Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

First city / stop in my world tour holiday. Stayed at this hotel for three nights. A lovely room with classic furniture and with a view on the Bosporus. The hotelroom is wel equipped and you even find a set of adapters for your electronic devices in case you forgot them. The room has a great boxspring bed. The additional bed for my daughter was good and she received a plate with all kinds of candy which she, offcourse, highly appreciated.

The hotel is dividend in two pièces. The old Ottoman part, which was a part of the sultan residences, and a new part in which nearly all rooms are. In the old part you find beautiful suites in which famous people stayed like Bill Clinton, Willem Alexander of the Netherlands, Sting, Claudia Schiffer. There is a Wall of Fame in the hall of the hotel where you can see all the famous people who stayed here.

The hotel has a nice infinity pool next to the Bosporus which is tremendious view. Lying in the pool and see all the immense container chips floating by. I did a manicure and pedicure in the Hotel s spa which was fine.

The breakfast is sumptious, with al kinds of variaties of food. The hotel advertises with it and it is all true. Fresh bread, pasteries, juices, Turkish food, all kinds of salade, mezze and fresh honey. A side card offers you some extra choices as waffels, porridge and eggs.

The advantage of staying in a hotel who is located next to the Bosporus is the cooling wind on hot days. For your daytrips you can take a cab which brings you into town which is around 25 Turkish Lira, so very cheap if I compare it with the Swiss rates of my country.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Bosporus view. Rooms with parkview might be cheaper but they are next to a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Excellent Hotel / Excellent Rooms / Excellent Location & Excellent Service, It has its own platform to board Boats. Excellent to hold weddings, the Palace rooms are exquisite. Breakfast was unbelievable

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We recently spent 4 days at this fabulous hotel. It is in a great location, right on the edge of the Bosphorus, with beautiful gardens and a huge heated swimming pool. We had 3 interconnecting rooms, which were well equipped, although they were slightly old fashioned in their decor, and unfortunately had some rather tacky prints in frames, instead of original art work. However, each room came with all the usual supplies, plus nice touches like a full set of phone charging cables and free flipflops and fruit and snacks provided FOC. There was also a never ending supply of FOC bottled water, as the tap water is not recommended. Breakfast buffet was excellent, and all staff were friendly and attentive. We ate in one of the hotel restaurants, which was delicious, but quite pricey. i would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to my firends, though it is not cheap!

Room Tip: Look out over the water if you can - ever changing views, and not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#53 of 1,022 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#68 of 1,022 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#109 of 1,022 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#197 of 1,022 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Splendia, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.