We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul to your Saves list
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel has everything!
a great location, a luxurious decor, a lot of details in every corner great service! the common areas are just beautiful with a view to the Bosphorus and the bridges the bar is just great!
i really recommend this as the most luxurious hotel in Istanbul

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following recent your stay with us.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a review with great comments.
We have shared it with the rest of the team as well and you really made our day!
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    192
    42
    24
    14
See reviews for
208
379
39
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Indeed a magnificent piece of historic building with breathtaking views of the Bosphorus. Many people come to stay at Ciragan with expectations higher than the skies. Our 6 days stay in this magical Palace has been nothing short than a priceless experience. The Palace lush gardens, grounds, pools are so vast and pristinely kept. The rooms looking over the Bosphorus is just unreal. We were welcomed with a bottle of fine Red and complimentary snacks in the afternoon including delish chocolate covered fresh strawberries every afternoon for our young children. Breakfast was excellent every single day. Service is something EVERY leading Hotel strive to excel in, Ciragan is no exception, if everything were perfect, staff will be complacent so theres always room for improvement and it is evident in Ciragan where the staff goes to great lengths to understand your need and it gets very difficult when every guest demands the Royal treatment with little or lack of grace on their own part which we have witnessed for ourselves. Personally, my family and I have enjoyed our time immensely in this Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to meet us, Ralph it was indeed a pleasure. Our favourite porter, Engin has been so helpful with all our queries and we feel his passion in making his guests feel special. Highly recommended place to EXPERIENCE. A great man in the Hotelier once said to us just recently, "it is not enough to be passionate in this business, you have to be OBSESSED" by Ralph Radtke.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
It was indeed my pleasure to meet you and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our Palace suites located in the historic Ciragan Palace.
I do thank you again for your thoughtful feedback on behalf of my colleagues, who contributed to making your stay with us a memorable one and look forward to you welcoming you back here in Ciragan Palace Kempinski , the only Ottoman Imperial Palace and Hotel on the Bosphorus, on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

one of the best hotel experiences I had ever!!
stayed in the palace, perfect staff, really felt like a sultan!!
great food, highly recommend the Tugra Restaurant, great view w/ spectacular food!!
totally worth it, would definitely stay there on my next visit to istanbul!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I was very happy to read your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us last month.
We do appreciate your thoughtful comments and hope we will welcome you home in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Fifth time in Istanbul, first time in Ciragan.Was welcomed by the hotel staff. Had trouble with my corporate card, yet pre-paid 11 nights of stay with it (by pre-paid I mean the amount was withdrawn vs. just frozen as a payment for my whole stay). Yet due to frequent trips there were not enough funds to provide for incidentals (500 Turkish liras per day as I was informed). Yet I infromed I had 2 of my private cards with me that could be used. So 5 minutes after I was in my room there was a knock on the door and a waiter with an orange plastic crate (literally like the one they use in a shop) came in and started taking all the soft drink and alcoholic beverages out of the mini-bar. When I asked what was going on, he said this was instructed by the reception. It is for the first time that I see such a level of service in a hotel, especially in a hotel that positions itself in a luxury category. It is surprising to hear then on the hotel's television General Manager of the hotel talking about "loving people and valuing guests". Probably the cost of the whole mini bar was less than a night's rate in here. This is the most humiliating experience I have ever had. Scared to think what I may come next.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
You may kindly note requesting deposit for incidentals is an industry-standard practice however we thoroughly believe that it is our responsibility to have it carried out without creating discomfort for our guests in any ways. Thus please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. If you would like to discuss it further, our Hotel Manager Mr. Leon Baum will be at your entire disposal and you may kindly contact him directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
We hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here a few times. It has great location and one of the best breakfast buffets anywhere in the world. These days I prefer to stay at other hotels but do occasionally come over for the breakfast alone. For me it has a bit of an "industrial scale" hospitality feel to it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I deeply regret to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your last stay with us in December 2012. Personalized service is of great importance to us thus we would like to discuss the shortcomings you experienced with you in detail at your convenience. Kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Mr. Leon Baum directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
I do hope you will give us another chance with a further visit soon and let us provide you with the finest personalized service at its best.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was highly recommended that we go to the SPA at the Palace. First, the staff could not speak English properly. Second, I was offered to have a massage outdoors, but the place was totally open [no curtains], by the pool so people were passing by, and it was little disconcerting to have passing tourist boats looking at my being massaged. The prices were prohibitive by any standards. Not worth the trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us earlier this month.
I deeply regret to hear that your outdoor massage experience was not up to your expectations. We have taken note of your constructive feedback and appreciate it truly as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide. Please rest assured that we have immediately passed your comments onto Sanitas Spa and our Hotel Manager Mr. Leon Baum will be at your entire disposal should you wish to discuss it further. You may kindly contact him directly at (leon.baun@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
We hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Ciragan Palace and had a wonderful stay! We had been here before, in Dec. 2006, and we had very good memories about it, and I was curious to see if something had changed over the years. Well everything is still there! Beautiful, large, exquisitely decorated rooms and bathrooms, flawless and attentive service, stunning and well kept grounds. From the moment we walked in everything was perfect.
Breakfast buffet is very good, with freshly squeezed juices, lots of food to choose from and a good selection of healthy options (I'm not a bacon and eggs lover). We also had dinner at the Ottoman restaurant, on the terrace with a superb view on the Bosphorous; It's truly a culinary experience!
My two teenage children and I, spent some time in the SPA and in the gym. I experienced the "turkish bath massage" which was absolutely blissful! The gym is large and well equipped with modern Technogym machines for cardio workout. The outdoor swimming pool is very large, you can swim lengths. Both staff at the SPA and at the swimming pool are very kind and helpful.
The only turndown are prices at the SPA. I spent 85 Euros for a 45 min. pedicure, which is extremely expensive even on Swiss standards.
A part from prices at the SPA we truly had an exceptional holiday and we definitely would like to come back here.

Room Tip: Definitely a room with view on the Bosphorous. Money well spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your 4-night stay with us earlier this month.
I was very happy to read your review and glad that we were able to meet your expectations during your second stay with us as well.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#33 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.