We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent but rooms are a bit tired and not allergy friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
KL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Opulent but rooms are a bit tired and not allergy friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Maybe it's just not to my taste. The rooms are done up quite ostentatiously....lots of heavy drapery, thick carpeting. It's over the top...and not easy to clean. Not the best environment if you have dust mite allergies. Even the bathtub had two layers of drapes.

If you like grand and chintzy, I guess it's for you. It really isn't allergy friendly. For those not forking out for a Boaphorus view, it's on the road leading towards Bebek and traffic noise can be a pain.

And it is tied to the palace, but unless you're staying in one of the super luxe suites, you would be in the modern building next door. Service is not exceptional.

Bosphorus view can't be faulted though. And breakfast is nice- smoothies, wide selection of cheeses, kaymak (clotted cream) with honey and the usual continental breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us during your business trip to Istanbul back in January.
We appreciate and have taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the related departments.
We hope we will have the pleasure of being be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    731
    152
    37
    20
    13
See reviews for
171
324
33
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I went with my family and it was amazing!The view,the services, the staff was very polite.The rooms were very nice and clean! If you go to Constantinople, you should stay in this hotel, or at least go there for a swim in their swimming pool.Breakfast was also delicious, with a variety of things (bio,sushi,franch,american buffet).When I visit again Constantinople, I will visit this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us back in last summer.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have visited the hotel on three occasions now and it is a proper 5 star hotel with all the bells and whistles you would expect. It is difficult to criticize anything, the rooms are comfortable, the restaurants very good, breakfasts are superb as are all teh support activities such as the excellent spa. The views of the Bosphorous are outstanding and the superlatives used by other reviewers are entirely correct.
However, the only thing that does make staying here a little tedious is its position vis a vis Istanbul. It is not in the town centre and a taxi journey to anywhere is needed in order to get somewhere. This is probably true of a lot of hotels but this hotel is on a very busy road which is often gridlocked and so getting to the airport for example can take 40 minutes on a good day and a lot longer on a bad day. Likewise getting to tourist attractions - you have a minimum 30 minute ride whereever you want to go which is not particularly expensive [as if you cared staying here] but is very time consuming. After a couple of days teh constant taxi rides became irritating and a bit hairy as Turkish taxi drivers really go for it. We clocked 110kmh on one built up road from the airport. Also, the choice of taxi seems to involve mostly small cars which is uncomfortable for an old person to get into and out of.
The hotel is clearly one of the great hotels of the world but it is not in the most convenient place for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand which room you are eating breakfast in - there is a whole world of price di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your stay with us back in last month.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations during your third stay with us as well. We are also proud that you find us as one of the great hotels of the world.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

You know it should be good by it's price. Is it worth it? Yes, definitely. If you can afford it, stay here. The position on the Bosphorous is breathtaking. It's sublime to watch the boats drift past from your balcony. Definitely you should have a room with a sea view. Staff very attentive with light hearted excellence. One of the 3 best breakfasts I've every had. (comparable with Grand Bretagne, Athens & Jameriah Beach, Dubai). Note free Wii-Fi. Swimming pool outdoor but heated even in February to 33 *C. Can't wait to visit in the summer when we can lie by the pool.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us back in last month.
I was very happy to read your review and glad that we were able to meet your expectations.
We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back for a relaxing summer holiday.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just returned to the US (Boston) after staying 5 nights at the Ciragan Palace in Istanbul. I stay at 5 star hotels around the world, and this property met or exceeded my best experiences. The staff is very well trainined and helpful. The location is superb, of course -- looking out on the Bosphorus. The food (especially the notably large and varied breakfast) is wonderful. I spent a marvelous evening in the cigar bar with a friend. I did not sample the spa. The location (others have complained) is fine. The traffic is bad throughout Istanbul; that is not the fault of the hotel! You must plan around it. The location of the hotel is wonderful, and the outdoor pool is stunning. I am bringing my wife and child back here the week of June 16 and can't wait to have them experience the Ciragan Palace!

Room Tip: Maximize your view of the Bosphorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations during your business trip to Istanbul back in last month.
Personalized service is of great importance to Kempinski, and we continuously strive for the best and invest into training to ensure every guest feels special.
We do look forward to welcoming you and your family in June and providing you with the finest personalized service at its best.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was the most wonderful experience we had in Istanbul. It was magnificent. Inside of the palace and outside, made for postcard pictures.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel itself is relatively old, you will feel tear and wear everywhere. However it is still not that bad. In general the hotel has its 5 star. The location with the direct view to Bosphorus is perfect, so you can feel the breath of the sea (mixed with the diesel exhaust of the ships at sea and cars at the backstreet). Nevertheless it is a pleasure to sit at the balcony with a glass of wine looking at the large ships coming from one see to another one trough Bosphorus. The bad side of this location is that you will stay far-far away from the city center. And due to the crazy traffic jams all around it will take an hour to reach the center by taxi.

At the Hotel’s internet site you will find a photo of “Sultans palace” with a very interesting architecture – but please do not think that the hotel is built in the same manner. It is a modern building made from concrete and glass. Nothing historical inside and outside.
The room was small and disappointing. The price was relatively high – and as I understand – we were charged so high for the Bosphorus view. The room itself doesn’t cost so much indeed.
The restaurant for the breakfast is good – what is a rule for Kempinski. The breakfast was rich and tasty. A lot of European and Turkish dishes, omelet and even champagne (for those who like it at the morning). The best way is to sit outside at the terrace. When the weather is sunny (we were there in November) it makes you feel outstanding.

The outside pool is extremely nice! This is the THING I will always recommend especially for travelers who come from the Northern countries. WOW! It is so cool to swim in the night looking at the Bosphorus (with its hot night traffic).

The worst thing in the hotel is the SPA. It is very small, bad organized. Turkish hammam treatment was totally disappointing (and…..for THAT money!). Two tired women while making the procedures were speaking about something personal in Turkish, laughing – and it was really far away from feeling comfort and relax. One of them than asked my wife – whether her lips were real or silicon ones :)) It was crazy. Due to a lot of guests (and as I said – SPA is small) – they have not enough time and wish to clean it enough – so the water is everywhere and it becomes dirty.

The concierge service was good at the first day. They’ve provided us with a lot of information and were friendly to reserve 2 excursions for us. Excursions were well organized and they totally justified their price. But the next day we’ve asked concierge to recommend us a restaurant somewhere outside the hotel. The concierge enforced us to book a restaurant (finally it was totally empty) – and we were directed to the low level fish restaurant with crazy prices. I don’t want to say ……. but finally it was recognized as a trick – so the only thing you think about in this situation – is that the concierge has a commission from this restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review regarding your last stay with us back in November 2012.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the infinity pool yet we deeply regret that you had an unpleasant experience during Turkish bath therapy and the restaurant recommended by our Concierge did not meet your expectations. We have taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the related departments. Moreover, our Hotel Manager Mr. Leon Baum would like to get in touch with you regarding the inconvenience you experienced and appreciate if you may kindly contact him directly at leon.baum@kempinski.com, referring to this review in the email title.
I do appreciate if you may kindly give us another chance with a further visit in the future and let us provide you with the finest personalized service at its best.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#27 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.