We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it's worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul to your Saves list
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yes it's worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

You know it should be good by it's price. Is it worth it? Yes, definitely. If you can afford it, stay here. The position on the Bosphorous is breathtaking. It's sublime to watch the boats drift past from your balcony. Definitely you should have a room with a sea view. Staff very attentive with light hearted excellence. One of the 3 best breakfasts I've every had. (comparable with Grand Bretagne, Athens & Jameriah Beach, Dubai). Note free Wii-Fi. Swimming pool outdoor but heated even in February to 33 *C. Can't wait to visit in the summer when we can lie by the pool.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us back in last month.
I was very happy to read your review and glad that we were able to meet your expectations.
We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back for a relaxing summer holiday.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    192
    42
    24
    14
See reviews for
208
379
39
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just returned to the US (Boston) after staying 5 nights at the Ciragan Palace in Istanbul. I stay at 5 star hotels around the world, and this property met or exceeded my best experiences. The staff is very well trainined and helpful. The location is superb, of course -- looking out on the Bosphorus. The food (especially the notably large and varied breakfast) is wonderful. I spent a marvelous evening in the cigar bar with a friend. I did not sample the spa. The location (others have complained) is fine. The traffic is bad throughout Istanbul; that is not the fault of the hotel! You must plan around it. The location of the hotel is wonderful, and the outdoor pool is stunning. I am bringing my wife and child back here the week of June 16 and can't wait to have them experience the Ciragan Palace!

Room Tip: Maximize your view of the Bosphorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations during your business trip to Istanbul back in last month.
Personalized service is of great importance to Kempinski, and we continuously strive for the best and invest into training to ensure every guest feels special.
We do look forward to welcoming you and your family in June and providing you with the finest personalized service at its best.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was the most wonderful experience we had in Istanbul. It was magnificent. Inside of the palace and outside, made for postcard pictures.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel itself is relatively old, you will feel tear and wear everywhere. However it is still not that bad. In general the hotel has its 5 star. The location with the direct view to Bosphorus is perfect, so you can feel the breath of the sea (mixed with the diesel exhaust of the ships at sea and cars at the backstreet). Nevertheless it is a pleasure to sit at the balcony with a glass of wine looking at the large ships coming from one see to another one trough Bosphorus. The bad side of this location is that you will stay far-far away from the city center. And due to the crazy traffic jams all around it will take an hour to reach the center by taxi.

At the Hotel’s internet site you will find a photo of “Sultans palace” with a very interesting architecture – but please do not think that the hotel is built in the same manner. It is a modern building made from concrete and glass. Nothing historical inside and outside.
The room was small and disappointing. The price was relatively high – and as I understand – we were charged so high for the Bosphorus view. The room itself doesn’t cost so much indeed.
The restaurant for the breakfast is good – what is a rule for Kempinski. The breakfast was rich and tasty. A lot of European and Turkish dishes, omelet and even champagne (for those who like it at the morning). The best way is to sit outside at the terrace. When the weather is sunny (we were there in November) it makes you feel outstanding.

The outside pool is extremely nice! This is the THING I will always recommend especially for travelers who come from the Northern countries. WOW! It is so cool to swim in the night looking at the Bosphorus (with its hot night traffic).

The worst thing in the hotel is the SPA. It is very small, bad organized. Turkish hammam treatment was totally disappointing (and…..for THAT money!). Two tired women while making the procedures were speaking about something personal in Turkish, laughing – and it was really far away from feeling comfort and relax. One of them than asked my wife – whether her lips were real or silicon ones :)) It was crazy. Due to a lot of guests (and as I said – SPA is small) – they have not enough time and wish to clean it enough – so the water is everywhere and it becomes dirty.

The concierge service was good at the first day. They’ve provided us with a lot of information and were friendly to reserve 2 excursions for us. Excursions were well organized and they totally justified their price. But the next day we’ve asked concierge to recommend us a restaurant somewhere outside the hotel. The concierge enforced us to book a restaurant (finally it was totally empty) – and we were directed to the low level fish restaurant with crazy prices. I don’t want to say ……. but finally it was recognized as a trick – so the only thing you think about in this situation – is that the concierge has a commission from this restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review regarding your last stay with us back in November 2012.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the infinity pool yet we deeply regret that you had an unpleasant experience during Turkish bath therapy and the restaurant recommended by our Concierge did not meet your expectations. We have taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the related departments. Moreover, our Hotel Manager Mr. Leon Baum would like to get in touch with you regarding the inconvenience you experienced and appreciate if you may kindly contact him directly at leon.baum@kempinski.com, referring to this review in the email title.
I do appreciate if you may kindly give us another chance with a further visit in the future and let us provide you with the finest personalized service at its best.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Off the chart luxury on the Palace side with suites overlooking the Bosphorus. Butlers attending to all needs and the old Sultan's rooms above us hosted Oprah among many others. Said to be the most expensive suite in Europe. Great Hamman on site. Not cheap even in our rooms...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following your last stay with us back in March 2012.
I am glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and you enjoyed staying at a real palace and services of our dedicated butler team.
We thank you for your comments, and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Luxury at it maximum. Wonderful view of the Bosphorus and the city. You can live a sultan's life if you can spare around 15Kusd per night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a delicious hotel. Good service, good food, interesting shops, wonderful room – a real palace.
We stayed this time in the part of the palace – gorgeous!
It’s considered the best hotel of Istanbul and I agree.
It's the 4th time we come back and enjoy.

Room Tip: a suite in the old palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I was very happy to read your review and glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations during your 4th stay with us as well.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#33 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.