We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay at the most beautiful city in the World.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 883 hotels in Istanbul
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at the most beautiful city in the World.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been at this Hotel Twice before, and I must to say, it is just getting better and better.
There are nothing negative to comment. Staff, service, everything perfect, and The view, it is to die for.
It is worth to pay for a room with sea view. It is magical .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a review with great comments and we are glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations during your 3rd stay with us earlier this month.
I have also shared your comments with the rest of the team as well and you really made our day!
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    676
    136
    33
    19
    12
See reviews for
154
301
32
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever visited...the staff are fantastic and the hotel facilities are very good...pricey but that's to be expected. But PLEASE, can you stop the cheesy Christmas carols played at full blast at breakfast? If I have to ever hear jingle bells on loop again I will scream.....how about no music at breakfast so we can contemplate the beauty of the hotel and its view across the Bosphorus?

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a view of the Bosphorus or don't bother staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations during your last business trip to Istanbul earlier this month.
Please be assured that we have also taken note of your constructive feedback concerning the music played at the breakfast and they have been passed on to the related departments.
We look forward to welcoming you back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A superb location on Bosporus channel, beautiful buildings, large attractive rooms with views, memorable food with excellent service in attractive restaurants with views, a great spa and fitness facilities, including large pools, helpful concierges. The Ciragan Palace has them all.
We arrived after an exhausting twenty-seven hour home-to-hotel journey. After a quick, private check-in, we were led directly to the Hamam (Turkish bath) where we were drenched and scrubbed down in thick foam and soap suds for almost an hour and then rinsed in buckets of very hot water. This was followed by an hour's massage. What a way to ameliorate the ravishes of severe jet lag! Only then were we led to our large room on the top floor with a balcony looking over the channel. In the evening we dressed and walked over to the original Sultan's palace for dinner at the hotel Turkish restaurant looking over the Bosporus. The food, (Turkish) wine and service were superb.
The next morning and for the following two, we enjoyed the finest continental buffet breakfast we have ever experienced anywhere. Many types of breads, all the usual western pastries along with Turkish pastries saturated with honey, many types of fruits and juices. Cold meats and cheeses abounded. Turkish and Asian cold offerings filled a separate table.Full hot breakfasts all also available.
The restaurants and public areas are stunning with marble floors, columns,beautifully tiled walls, and Turkish carpets throughout. The shops are all interesting with enticing goods.
That's the good news.You must arrive fully aware that this is a temple devoted to unrestrained self-indulgence. If you feel guilty spending very large sums of cash on yourself, don't even think about reserving a room or a meal here. Our two hour spa experience cost us just less than a grand with tip, and our dinner was over $300. You can check the room rates for yourself.
This was our fourth visit. Would we come again? You bet!

Room Tip: If you come to this hotel, you MUST get a room overlooking the Bosporus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review with great comments, and we are glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations during your 4th stay with us back in October .
I have also shared your comments with the rest of the team as well and you really made our day!
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

For $500 dollars a night, it is everything you could image and more! I stayed here yesterday Nov 25th for my last day in Istanbul and it was such a joy! The service was impeccable! The hotel itself is situated right next door to the Dolmabahçe Palace. Hotel guest are allowed to visit Dolmabahçe Palace anytime of the day or night through a passage in the lobby.

My boyfriend and I got in rather late and wanted to relax a bit and we used both the indoor and outdoor heated pools. Swimming next to the Bospherus river and just enjoying the breathtaking view was a nice amenity! However, the only downside is the breakfast, and it is not cheap. The selection was small and the quality was just not up to par with what I thought should accompany a five star hotel.

Overall, an excellent choice and only a 15 minutes walk away from streets full of restaurants and bars to enjoy the nightlife!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Bosphorus river is definitely more worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay on November 25th and we are glad that we had the chance to be your host on your last day in Istanbul.
We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our in indoor pool as well as heated infinity pool, which hopefully gave you the feeling of floating on the Bosphorus.
Please be assured that we have also taken note of your constructive feedback concerning the breakfast service. If we may kindly clarify; we serve full breakfast buffet in our all-day dining restaurant Laledan whereas Gazebo offers continental breakfast buffet for those guests who prefer a practical option.
We thank you for your comments, and look forward to welcoming you here in Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, the only imperial Ottoman Palace and Hotel on the Bosphorus.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

this palace was used by ottoman sultans..now this is very famous hotel in istanbul...this is a kempinski hotel....by the bosphorus this hotel is waiting their vip guests..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

we stayed overnight before our cruise at end of october & were given a very warm welcome from the reception to our room. it was on the 3th floor & had a balcony that overlooks the bosphorus. a walk around the hotel showed everything on a grand basis.
the free continental breakfast which we had was abit disappointing & the service was slow. on the way out, i asked for a newspaper to be delivered to our room but unfortunately this request was forgotten.
there is nothing much around the area & it takes about 15mins taxi ride to taksim square where all the shops & restaurents are.
it was still a wonderful experience to stay in this well known hotel as part of our package before the cruise.

Room Tip: choose a room on the high level overlooking the pool if money is no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us back in October before your cruise.
I am very happy to hear that you have found your stay with us a wonderful experience.
We have also taken note of your constructive feedback concerning the speed of service at the breakfast and the newspaper, which unfortunately we failed to deliver in time. Please be assured that your comments are much appreciated and have been passed on to the related departments.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We do recommend this hotel by all means - everything there was nice (bear in mind, we like Istanbul a lot :) ). It stands directly on the Bosphorus - you see the small waves, the water twinkling, the ships passing along, tranquil and dynamic in the same way. But - take a room facing the waterfront, although it is a bit more expensive...
The rooms are spacious and well furbished, the food is excellent and very tasty (good choice of oriental cuisine), service is perfect, and the outside laps pool is just fantastic.
So, everything is perfect, it might be just considered a bit too expensive, but at the moment, everything in Istanbul seems to be like that (especially compared to few years back in time).
Do not miss the main restaurant which is situated in the palace and serves a perfectly chosen meals from the Turkish cuisine

Room Tip: Take a waterfront room or apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us back in November.
I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in Tugra Restaurant & Lounge as we are committed to offer our guests the ultimate Ottoman dining experience in Istanbul.
We thank you for your comments, and look forward to welcoming you and your family back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul
Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#28 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#41 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.