We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dazzling property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul to your Saves list
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
carefree az
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“dazzling property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This was a magical hotel with beautiful rooms and great views if you splurge for a Bosphorus view. Service and food were top drawer .The property is simply magnificent. The room was huge with all amenities excellent. Agreed the tariff is not cheap and it is not near the major tourist sites south of the Golden Horn, BUT, if you have seen them on a previous Istanbul visit, or have a private tour with transport, staying on the water in a fabulous resort can not be beaten. Airport transportation with check in assistance once you get there was a big help. My only recommendations for improvement are 1) for the price rooms should have flat screen tvs and 2) the beautiful outdoor pools should be heated (it was 76F) even though there was an indoor pool at 90F because with the setting of the outdoor pool and the view, who wants to be indoors!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience during your stay with us last month.
We also appreciate receiving your recommendations for improvement as this is an invaluable opportunity for us to assess our guests’ needs, and to constantly improve our product and services.
We thank you for your thoughtful feedback, and hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    207
    44
    25
    17
See reviews for
229
409
44
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

If you are visiting Istanbul and you want the best then this is the hotel to stay at. The others have similar standards but this has an unequalled presence on the Bosphorus. You pay a price (more later) for the old world service and quality, but coupled with the views over the Bosphorus it makes it worthwhile. However a major gripe is the Hotel quotes prices in Euros (Turkey is not a member of the EEC) and then converts to Turkish lira at a rate which even exceeds their cash exchange rate at the front desk. On our bill this amounted to over $400 difference for an eight day stay!

Room Tip: Dont save money on Garden view room. You will regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We selected the Ciragan Palace Kempinski after considering the trade offs of various locations, and we would make the same decision again. It was a pleasure to return to the hotel after a long, hot day of touring and unwind on our balcony overlooking the magnificent gardens, pool and Bosphorus. That said, however, with the heavy traffic, getting to and from the major sites could be a nuisance and the hotel is not in easy walking distance of restaurants, etc., so one was captive to the hotel and its high prices. We were able to walk to a few restaurants, but the sidewalk was narrow, crowded and bumpy, so "easy" is the operative word here.

Our suite in the new building was comfortable, but probably not worth the incremental cost. There was a shortage of shelves/drawers for storage in the luggage closet, so we had to either hang things or live out of our suitcases. Further, the room always looked messy, with all kinds of brochures and pamphlets scattered about. There were six pillows on the bed, of three different densities, so everyone can probably pick a winner. Our balcony was no bigger than that for standard rooms, so being in a suite offered no advantage in that regard. The furnishings were fine and the bathroom was lovely, but nothing exceptional.

It is important to book a room on the Bosphorus side of the hotel, as the rooms in front are likely noisy as they look on to a very busy street. The breakfast buffet - try to get a rate that includes this - was spectacular, one of the best we have encountered. Everything on site is expensive, with a 55 minute massage at 200 Euros.

The pool is one of the best features of this property. There are plenty of chairs, good service and magnificent views. As noted by several previous reviewers, this is not a warm, feel good kind of hotel. The service, while good, is workmanlike and efficient and it's unlikely that many staff members will know your name or create the cosseted feeling experienced in many hotels of similar stature. There was a huge convention at the hotel while we were there, and I suspect this is common. It did not disturb us in any way, but the milling in the lobby and name tags created a sterile atmosphere.

There was free wireless service throughout the hotel, which was a much appreciated amenity.

We would stay at this hotel again, but consideration should be given to the eye popping prices and distance from central visitor sites. On balance, we enjoyed the comfort and serenity at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Only accept a room on the Bosphorus side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the outside pool.
We also appreciate receiving your constructive feedback as this is the only way we can truly assess your needs, and constantly improve the luxury service we aim to provide. Personalised service is of great importance to us, and we will continue to invest heavily into training to ensure every guest feels special.
We thank you for your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Carlos, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Never ask for the rooms that are facing the street ( garden view) because they are extremly noisy They DONT HAVE DOUBLLE glass windows so you will have the sensation that the Ambulance who is passing by is inside your room. Impossible to sleep. We had to ask the hotel to change us to a room facing the bosphoros. Strange a hotel 5 stars like Kempinski not having thought about the guests peace and tranquility. They should considere changing all the windows facing the street.

Room Tip: number 125 ! very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
We deeply regret that you had an unpleasant experience during your stay last month.
Your comments are highly appreciated and noted as this is an invaluable opportunity for us to assess our guests’ needs, and to improve our product and services.
We thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Ciragan Palace is on the Bosphorus, some distance by taxi from the main tourist areas. It has a beautiful setting but it feels like a large, impersonal hotel. Our room was nice although a bit dated with a very old TV and décor that needed updating but it overlooked the old palace with a deck and a partial view of the Bosphorus. It is lovely to sit at the restaurant and have a drink and watch the ship traffic. Note that food and drink at the Ciragan is very expensive (probably because there are no other options in walking distance). If I chose to stay on the Bosphorus in the future, however, I would probably stay at the Four Seasons instead as it is a smaller hotel and I think that the service would be better. The Ciragan felt a bit like a convention hotel (there was a convention going on while we were there) and the staff was nice but not top-notch. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and not to be missed although it is quite expensive so be sure that you have a room rate that includes breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Greetings from the magical city of Istanbul!
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant.
We also appreciate receiving constructive feedback, even if it is of a critical nature,
as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide.
We thank you for your comments, and hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I must start by saying that for the first time travelers to Istanbul, staying by the Bosphorus is not the best idea. I recommend staying in Sultanahmet area where you can walk to most important/historic attractions.
We neither liked or disliked this hotel. It has old world grandeur but I thought it was a bit too much of it in a fake-way. On the other hand, the grounds and promenade right on the Boshphorus and next to the Ciragan Palace (which houses one of the hotel's restaurants) is amazing. The service is fine. The concierge staff are polite but not terribly helpful. We were upgraded to Jr. Suite with river views which was nice. The baths are updated and comfortable. We also dined at Tugra, hotel's award winning restaurant housed in the Ciragan Palace wing. The food was good but not memorable, although the atmosphere was. I also enjoyed a relaxing message at the Spa during our stay.
This hotel is next door to Four Seasons Boshphorus. There is a pretty park across the hotel and the ferry stop is 15 min. away by walking. However, for visit other tourist attractions, one must use cabs or perhaps the Metro.
Bottom line, Ciragan Palace Kempinski is a good luxury hotel choice for staying a night or maximum of 2 in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Do dish out more money for water views if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Greetings from the sublime city of Istanbul!
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in Tugra Restaurant and your massage theraphy in our Spa.
We have taken note of your constructive feedback as this is the only way we can truly assess ourselves improve the luxury service we aim to provide.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was a hotel which my wife had wanted to visit for some time and we were not disappointed.

The food is expensive there, so we took advantage of the great variation at breakfast and really filled ourselves up, making this a main meal of the day, before snacking on local food, like fried dish off the boats and kebabs.

The hotel service was first-class and we recommend getting a Bosphorus-view room.
Istanbul traffic can be awful, so we used a judicious combination of walking, trams and passenger ferries to get around, with the emphasis upon walking.

When we return, I expect that my wife will insist upon going to the same hotel, even though it is out of the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#26 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#28 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.