We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good infrastructure BUT GREEDY RIPOFF” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Divan Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Divan Istanbul to your Saves list
Divan Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asker Ocagi Caddesi No:1 | Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey (Şişli)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Singapore
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good infrastructure BUT GREEDY RIPOFF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

For business in Taksim area it is well located. Rooms are very nice, wood paneling, classic, and good infrastructure and facilities.
Location very noisy (Taksim place) - only hope of quiet sleep without earplugs, get a room in the back - the windows are not well insulated.
TOTAL RIPOFF #1: 15 Euros per day for WiFi!! Colleagues and business partners in hotel nearby at similar price get it for free. We know effective cost to hotel for WiFi per guest per day is about 1-2 Euros max, so this is not an Istanbul or Turkey thing this is a "we the management of the Divan want to rip you off thing".
TOTAL RIPOFF #2: you end up paying 35 Euros for a bowl of cereal and a pre-warmed coffee. They usher you into the breakfast area and when you sign the bill they only tell you there is the buffet and that is it. During checkout they kindly inform you that "you could have ordered only single items". Afterwards, and no offer to mitigate the outrageous costs charged with this method.
Bottom line: this fleecing the customer happens by design!
A hotel is more than nice rooms, good facilities and good food. Fair, reasonable pricing and customer friendliness are at least as important, in this case so much so, that the total rating is terrible, and this feedback is to give them a chance to improve.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    78
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
60
20
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Divan several times. The rooms are good, clean and comfortable. Tea and coffee in rooms. TV CNN and BBC World, BBC Entertainment, Nat Geo in English. Down side is the air-con. I always find it too hot. Ask reception to have a room at 22C, the coldest available. Breakfast is good but other food I found variable. Good gym and pool ( take a swim cap), good steam room (all free). Spa treatments extra. Taxi about £5 to the marina with plentiful restaurants. Allow an hour to get to European Istanbul.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement2014, Ön Büro Müdürü at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for reviewing Divan Istanbul. We would like to sincerely apologize for the difficulties encountered during your stay. Service is our priority and please be assured that your comments will be conveyed accordingly to our colleagues.
I will be more than delighted to talk to you personally about this issue. Would you please provide us your contact information via e-mail at tuba.atıs@divan.com.tr at your earliest convenience?
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you the service we are known for and to experience again Divan Istanbul.
Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Since my two night stay here was part of pre-cruise experience, I have no idea how much a room costs per night. Great location, truly exceptional breakfast and terrific service from everyone. Beware the prices in the intimate bar though. I ordered two single malt drinks (Ardbeg) and was shocked to see a 120 Turkish lire tab (about $60 USD). The hamman (Turkish bath) was a real treat, particularly since I seemed to be the only one using it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement2014, Ön Büro Müdürü at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Warm greetings from Divan Istanbul!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Divan Istanbul. We really appreciate your excellent feedback. We are passionate about exceeding our guests' expectations and we are so delighted to hear that you were well taken care of by our colleagues.

We are honored that you choose Divan Istanbul and we look forward to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Divan Istanbul was a great way to finish our trip to Turkey. Being in the heart of Taksim Square, the location is great. We were easily able to walk to a number of great places to eat and go shopping at the bazaar on Istiklal Ave. I was disappointed with the internet service-- it was pretty slow (and only free in the lobby). Upon checking in, we were given a free upgrade-- the room was very large and clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable with superior sheets! The hotel did not disappoint and I would definitely stay here again when I am back in Istanbul!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement2014, Ön Büro Müdürü at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Warm greetings from Divan Istanbul!
Thank you for very much for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Divan Istanbul.
We strive to deliver genuine hospitality from the heart and we are so please to hear our staff was able to provide you great overall service.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked into this hotel for our National Geographic tour of Turkey. It is a comfortable modern hotel with all the conveniences, including a nice restaurant. The location is good but a bit far from the main touristic attractions. On the first day there, we walked through Taksim Square to Istiklal Avenue -- the main shopping street -- all the way downhill to the Bosphorus. Later that day we visited the Pera Museum. I would stay at this hotel again if I had business in the European part of the city, but would stay at the Sirkeci Mansion in Sultanahmet if we ever visited the city again for touristic reasons.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement2014, Ön Büro Müdürü at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Warm greetings from Divan Istanbul!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Divan Istanbul. We really appreciate your excellent feedback. We are passionate about exceeding our guests' expectations and we are so delighted to hear that you were well taken care of by our colleagues.

We are honored that you choose Divan Istanbul and we look forward to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my 3rd stay at the Divan City Istanbul in 18 month for business. It never fails to be an enjoyable stay. The breakfast in always great, the food is excellent, and the staff go out of their way to help. The hotel was full for my final night, so I was going to have to move. However, a quick chat with the staff at the desk, and they ensured I could stay on for the extra night.

As a really light sleeper, I've never had a bad nights sleep. Comfortable beds and good aircon. Its noisy with the window open, but sometimes Its nice to listen to the bustle of the city.

The only bad point? This trip the wifi sucked :(

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement2014, Ön Büro Müdürü at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your nice comments.
We are glad that we were able to provide quality service and fulfil your every desire during your stay with us.
We are looking forward welcoming you back at Divan Istanbul soon.
Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location on the Central Street, yet very quite and extremely comfortable. Stayed over ten times. I would stay again without hesitation. Food is the best in town. Staff are extremly friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable and most important sound proofed from bustling Istanbul!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement2014, Ön Büro Müdürü at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Warm greetings from Divan Istanbul!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Divan Istanbul. We really appreciate your excellent feedback. We are passionate about exceeding our guests' expectations and we are so delighted to hear that you were well taken care of by our colleagues.

We are honored that you choose Divan Istanbul and we look forward to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Caddesi No:1 | Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Şişli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Istanbul has 41 Standard Rooms, 108 Deluxe Rooms, 40 Premiere Rooms and 2 Presidential Suites, totally 191 guest rooms, each with a sense of spacious elegance, tasteful and modern Turkish-style furnishings, comfort, quality service and a cozy, contemporary atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Divan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divan Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.