We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine Divan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divan Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Divan Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divan Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asker Ocagi Caddesi No:1 | Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Divine Divan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 14th July our fist time since the new building completed, we used to stay very regularly in the old hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised and impressed with the way we were courteously greeted at the reception and given a sure room on the 7th floor overlooking the Bosphorus. The quality overall is excellent. The breakfast was very good with a good selection to suite everyone. The saff everywhere are smiling and very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to Nisantasi and Taksim Beyoglu shopping areas. We shall return.

Room Tip: The higher floors are better and ask or a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    63
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
47
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a business hotel and not a holiday hotel.
Great staff/service.
We stayed in a junior suite for 3 nights for 170€ per night.

BIGGEST ISSUE :: commissions !!
Every opinion of the concierge had commission deal behind the scene. From restaurants, spa booking, taxi, airport drops..
At one of the Resturant they didn't allow us to order their promotion packages.. Just because we came from hotel concierge.
Be very careful !!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in late 2013 during the Iraq Future Energy conference held at this venue and we enjoyed every single day of our stay here.

Especially Celint at the Front office is such a nice person and has excellent customer service skills.

The stay is made pleasant here due to the prominent location of the hotel iteself. It is very close or in walking distance to the square, and to many parallel streets littered with branded shops, restaurants, bars, fastfood outlets, shops of big brands, etc.....Everyday of your stay here, you would love to go out for a walk and enjoy the activities surrounding this venue.

The building itself is beautiful and has a sense of class to it.

I highly recommend this place to anyone traveling in to Istanbul!

Cheers,
Syed M .H

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for last night in Istanbul after a trip to Cappadocia. Hotel itself is beautiful and the service and staff, professional. Rooms are nicely decorated and quite large, no complaints there. The only reason why it's not a 5 star review is because you have to literally pay for everything most other five star hotels offer complimentary. Swimming caps for the pool (15 TL), everything in the minibar (almost 40 TL for a nip of Chivas Regal), Wi-Fi (15 euros), breakfast (30 euros per person), just to name a few. Location is nice, right by Taksim Square. Good place to stay if you don't mind the additional charges or if you don't plan on purchasing them.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Smithsonian Journeys tour and then again after the tour. Both rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The beds and bed linens were particularly sensational. We thought that the sheets were possibly the best we have found in any hotel. The breakfast was plentiful and the breakfast room well laid-out. If you are not interested in a large buffet breakfast, there are plentiful restaurants just along the street beside the hotel. For dinner the hotel restaurant is good or you can try more typical local places across the square. The staff were courteous and helpful. This is a good choice for a comfortable stay in a fascinating city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at The Divan for 5 days this month.. It's an excellent hotel. Well done up massive rooms..which is a major bonus as most hotels in Istanbul have tiny rooms,we were 13 of us and they had really nice interconnecting rooms for those of us with kids.The bathrooms were very large and spotless.. Also had exclusive toiletries .
And the most beautiful heated pool..! A bakery..and though we're were not able to try it a highly recommend Japanese restaurant. Breakfast is good and I especially loved the outdoor seating area.
Best of all is the location .. Just walking distance from Istakel Cadessi.
The concierge Ekrem Karabas was were kind and helpful. The hotel had an equally helpful night concierge..the restaurant suggestions were very good and they didn't mind long queries. All the hotel staff was friendly. On our second night my mother was unwell and they were quick to get an ambulance and were genuinely concerned .
Beware most places photoshop the room pic to make it look large..read fine print..example many were only 24 sm while divan is 34 or 36.. This makes a huge difference.also it's nice to have crisp linen ,towels etc..clean new looking carpeting and upholstery ..all of which were pretty new as this hotel has undergone a complete makeover.

So I highly recommend it..on our way back from cappodocia we decided to stay another night but they were fully booked so we had to stay else were..we missed it !

A big thankyou to all the fine staff.

And do try their pizza and chicken schnitzel..yum

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Divan, as part of an Odysseys Unlimited Greek Isles post-tour extension. This is definitely one of the nicest hotels that we've stayed in. The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful at all times. Our room was excellent, with a comfortable king-sized bed, a large bathroom and a deluxe shower. Remote controls operate light and sound-blocking shades on the windows; as a result, the room was very quiet even though it was located above a major thoroughfare.

The breakfast buffet was one of the best at any hotel where we have stayed. Breakfast was diverse and delicious, and so impressively presented that it was worth photographing. We had pizzas for dinner in the same restaurant, and they also were excellent.

Although there is a charge for wi-fi, we found various discounts, including limited free time available for Odysseys tour groups. So, it may be worthwhile asking about available options and discounts at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Caddesi No:1 | Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Istanbul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Istanbul has 41 Standard Rooms, 108 Deluxe Rooms, 40 Premiere Rooms and 2 Presidential Suites, totally 191 guest rooms, each with a sense of spacious elegance, tasteful and modern Turkish-style furnishings, comfort, quality service and a cozy, contemporary atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Divan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divan Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.