We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divan Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Divan Istanbul to your Saves list
Divan Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asker Ocagi Caddesi No:1 | Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed one night and was very impressed with the room which was large and well equipped. The bathroom is large but for those that like a bath, there is none - there is however a large glass shower, very cool!
I had room service, which came quickly and was very good. The next morning I got a take away coffee, which is a great idea for those on the run. This is a very good business hotel and more.
I would have liked to stay longer and enjoy the facilities. Next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanIstanbul, Director of Rooms at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to inform you that we are delighted to be at your service on your next stay in Istanbul. I hope that you will not be on a tight schedule to experience our other outlets, espacially we recommend you to chill out in our wonderful spa after a long day.

Best Regards,

Ediz Tuncer
Director of Rooms
Divan Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    89
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
51
66
22
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

You probably have no complain about service and quality after staying at this hotel. At the time of this writing (March 2013), some construction works are happening on adjacent streets but I did not hear any noise from my room. The hotel is conveniently located next to Taksim square and if you take a 30-minute walk through one of the main attractions of Istanbul (Istiklal street), you will also reach another main attraction of Istanbul (Sultanahmet district).

One general word of caution about booking accommodations in Turkey: It seems inventory management is not yet automated. So you might find one website indicating no availability at a particular hotel and yet another website indicating availability for the same period and the same hotel. Also rates can vary substantially from one website to another. It is not even a bad idea to contact the hotel directly. Also check if the rate includes breakfast or not. In most places, it should be included.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanIstanbul, Director of Rooms at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Divan Istanbul. We are happy to hear your satisfaction regarding our services. Our reservation service is at your service regarding your future reservations. Please do not hessitate contact with us for best available options.

Best Regards,

Ediz Tuncer
Director of Rooms
Divan ıstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After complete reconstruction thee Divan is back in its splendor.
Everything in this hotel is at the top of perfection reviving the tradition of quality and style that the old Divan always had in Istanbul. Location? perfect, center of the city with everything in walking distance for the European side of Istanbul. Service? Divan perfect with competent staff, multilingual, helpful and occasionally friendly. Room? tasteful décor with quality material and furniture, well equipped bathroom, ultra comfortable bed in a set of cleanness and comfort. Restaurant and patisserie? all you expect from the divan name, top choices well prepared and well served. The only note of dubious taste is the bar: the piano bar of the old Divan was a tradition in town. We did not shared the experience of the new bar since the baroque decoration put us off.
In our opinion the top choice for Taxim and central European side location.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanIstanbul, Director of Rooms at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your prescious comments. It is always fulfilling to hear the good feedbacks from an old Divan guest.

Best Regards,

Ediz Tuncer
Director of Rooms
Divan Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was in Istanbul with a group of friends during the last week of March 2013, we had 4 rooms at the hotel, mine was a deluxe room on the 8th floor, this my 5th time in Istanbul and this hotel is definitely my best accommodation experience I had in Istanbul.
The hotel is centrally located next to Taksim square, despite the construction going on in the street which supposed to finish by the end of the year.
The hotel is new, the rooms, the amenities, the service, the staff were excellent.
The breakfast buffet, the food was tasty with a good varsities.
The spa and the Hammam (Turkish Bath) was perfect.
The only downgrade was the internet, for such a five star hotel, it is improper to charge €15 per day.
Do I recombined this Hotel ?? Absolutely YES.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanIstanbul, Director of Rooms at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us. We are hoping that the construction will be completed by the begining of August. On your next visit to Istanbul and our hotel, we will be welcoming you with a whole new recreation.

Best Regards,

Ediz Tuncer
Director of Rooms
Divan Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were here at the Divan Hotel with a very important, high profile meeting and everything went just perfect. The hotel is beautiful, new, in the city center, the staff so very accommodating and the customer service offered was outstanding! Better than in many European countries.

Nihal did a wonderful job in the pre-planning stage as well as making sure that everything came together just perfectly once we arrived at the hotel. Her help was just invaluable. We then had a wonderful experience with the banquet staff who were great to work with. Special thanks should go to Mr. Aden, Mr. Suleyman, Mr. Eren, Mr. Mehmet and Mr. Erhan who went out of their way to make sure that all our guests were perfectly cared for. Lastly, I also want to give a special thank you to Ms. Ferhan Kurar. We had a special request and asked Ms. Ferhan to come down to the banquet area to help us. She did a wonderful job for us and it made our stay at the Divan Hotel very special.
Again, many thanks for making our stay excellent I will be back also for my personal stays in the city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanIstanbul, Director of Rooms at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are honoured to hear that we achieved to make a memorable stay for you. Thank you for your kind comments and your appreciation for our staff. All of out team members have been chosen carefully to provide the highest standarts and make you feel like home.

Best Regards,

Ediz Tuncer
Director of Rooms
Divan Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was one of the organisers of the conference referred to in the previous review of this hotel by David Hooper, and stayed at the hotel for five nights. The hotel is very stylish and modern, with a great location (which will be much improved once they finish building the Metro right in front of the hotel). It is not more than five minutes walk to either Taksim Square or to the big convention centre in Istanbul. The rooms are very comfortable and noticeably well-designed: everything is easy and intuitive. The bed was comfortable and I could even see the Bosphorus - just (I was in room 908... 906 and 904 would also have okay views) even though the Hyatt has spoilt the best views.

Conference facilities were okay and the staff were attentive. The conference rooms were an odd shape - too long - making the conference room very wide. However, the exhibition room (one floor down from the conference room) was the same shape (long and thin) and was very good.

The quality of the food was excellent throughout.

However, a couple of things knock off the final 'star' of this review. Breakfast is very expensive (£20-25?!). Even as a guest you have to pay for WiFi (c'mon guys, that is soooo stupid in a hotel that costs Euro200/night) and you are not allowed to swim in the (beautiful) underground swimming pool without a swim-cap on - and they will sell you a cap for TL 15 (about £5). Rip off! Why do we need a cap? I don't - I'm practically bald anyway.

So, included WiFi, a reasonably-priced breakfast and dump the stupid swim-hat rule and you could have had 5 stars. Not too much to ask for, is it?

By the way, the hotel makes a good base for some challenging runs (a good 10k goes via the Galata Tower to the Golden Horn, and back along the Bosphorus). Istanbul is much hillier than you might expect!

Room Tip: Room 904 was used by the parents of Eddie Izzard on their honeymoon in the late 1940s - and still ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanIstanbul, Director of Rooms at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed review regarding your experience in our hotel. I would like to inform you that to avoid any kind of limitation of content and speed, we are co-operating with one of the worlds best internet providers and this quality and service comes with an extra cost.

As an indoor swimming pool service provider, we aim to achieve the highest health standarts and regulations, that also includes swimming with a shower cap. I assure you that the price of the swimming cap is fair and also can be obatined from the close by shops on the Taksim area.

It always makes us happy to hear that you are delighted and satisfied with the famous Divan cousine.

Please contact me on edizt@divan.com.tr on your next trip so that we can welcome you in the mentioned room of Eddie Izzard.

Best Regards,

Ediz Tuncer
Director of Rooms
Divan Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I spent 8 nights at the Divan while attending a conference at the ICC. The Conference Center is 12 minutes walking distance from the hotel, which is very convenient. The restaurants, pastry shop and bar within the hotel are all superb - this makes it easy to get a very good meal at any time of the day. Special note on the bar; the barmen know what they are doing - excellent cocktails were served well into the night!

Room Tip: It is not a very tall building so pick a room on a higher floor to get a bit of a view of the surrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanIstanbul, Director of Rooms at Divan Istanbul, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your kind comments and will be waiting to accomodate you on your next visit to Istanbul.

Best Regards,

Ediz Tuncer
Director of Rooms
Divan Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Divan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Caddesi No:1 | Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Istanbul has 41 Standard Rooms, 108 Deluxe Rooms, 40 Premiere Rooms and 2 Presidential Suites, totally 191 guest rooms, each with a sense of spacious elegance, tasteful and modern Turkish-style furnishings, comfort, quality service and a cozy, contemporary atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Divan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divan Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.