We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel The Bosphorus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel The Bosphorus to your Saves list
Swissotel The Bosphorus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayildim Cad No 2 | Macka Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seoul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great place to stay for conference, visit to Istanbul and just great comfort. Loved this place, especially the cleaning crew. Too bad, I could not use the pool due to construction. Conference rooms were good size to host about 40 people, and the dining experience was excellent as well. The lounge service could use some improvement tho.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

We are very pleased to read your stay with us has been comfortable & enjoyable, together with your nice words for our Housekeeping team and dinning/meeting experience.
We are just sorry that you could not enjoy our outside pool due to renovation that is currently taking place on our west wing together with our Gaja Roof Restaurant & Bar which will unfortunately remain closed till end of 2014.
Nevertheless, we look forward to welcoming you back soon and hopefully to enjoy our new facilities also once open again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    378
    100
    39
    17
See reviews for
223
364
54
491
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
europe
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

not fund of business hotels with standard and charmless decoration and this is not exception. however, public areas are nice with luxury touch with a nice view on the bosphorus. breakfast also on the plus side with plenty of choice and nice view. special mention to the hotel staff from concierge to room service professional and kind but not intrusive. rooms on the avenue can be noisy though. the location is perfect provided you do not mind a 15m walk. from there, easy access to tram and pier which will bring you to the main tourist places. expresso machines in the room. for those most lazy there is a well known turkish restaurant next to the hotel albeit very expensive. internet works perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Swissotel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your comments are a big motivation for the entire Swissôtel team. Please be assured that we will be sharing your kind comments with our team. Thank you again for choosing Swissôtel The Bosphorus for your recent stay and hope look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

All you need in one place , perfect location and we have all what we need for
Relaxation and Business any time during the year.
Experience can't be missed for all the Family .
See you next stay in Swissotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in Tripadvisor, we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel for both business and pleasure. Your comments are a big motivation for the entire Swissôtel team.
We thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Bosphorus for your stay in Istanbul and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hotel corridors smell of stale cigarette smoke. Checked in late and struggled to work out how to turn off the 14 lights in my standard room, which overlooks the car park. Investigated spa treatments to ease the muscles post tourist trail but 20 minute treatments cost more than the equivalent of an hour in London. Good cold breakfast buffet, limited hot options. Worst of all, not possible to soak up the last rays of sun by the pool, as it's shut for redevelopment. This was not evident at the time of booking. Terrible mistake to stay in this impersonal, dated hotel...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very important for us to even further upgrade and improve our services.
It is most unfortunate to hear we could not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Our hotel with the exception of our public areas, allows smoking on certain designated guest floors, however should our guest wish to share their preferences at reservatıon stage every effort is made to allocate accordingly subjectivity permitting.
We are also sorry to hear about your comments related to spa pricing, Istanbul is in fact within the higher range of pricing for certain luxury items but again wish to assure you that we are running repeatedly competitor surveys where Swissôtel is within the range of other five star hotel / deluxe spa centers.
Finally, again we are sorry for the disappointment caused as a result of our outside pool being closed due to renovation together with our Gaja Roof Restaurant / Bar on our West Wing. To avoid similar disappointment to our guests, we are trying to communicate advance information regarding our renovation project via our own web site, other 3rd party booking pages as well as communicating via our confirmation letters when reservatıons are made directly with the hotel.
Once again, we are sorry for these inconvenience, and hope you will give us another chance to convince you of the quality of our services and reinstate your confidence in Swissôtel, The Bosphorus again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'S-gravenhage
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The property is beautiful and the staff are super helpful. The rooms are nice, comfortable and easy to use. The Swiss Cafe restaurant has an excellent buffet, beautiful balcony overlooking the Bosphorus and the staff are super helpful. The Concierge is excellent and very knowledgable. We will stay again there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in Tripadvisor, we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your comments are a big motivation for the entire Swissôtel team. We thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Bosphorus for your stay in Istanbul and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel was amazing, such a nice atmosphere and kind staff. The food was delicious, the view of the great Bosphorus was simply fabulous, and the rooms were spacious. I would definetly recomand it, as a had a fantastic time there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest

We are very pleased to read your time with us has been most enjoyable, especially your nice comments about our team and dining experience.
Thank you again for choosing Swissôtel The Bosphorus for your recent stay in Istanbul and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed there in my second trip to Istanbul and since then every time I try something else for various reasons. The service is excellent. The breakfast with the view of the Bosphorus is amazing. Very close to Taksim but much quieter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

Thank you sincerely for sharing your stay experiences on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again when your travels bring you back to Istanbul.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel The Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Bosphorus

Address: Bayildim Cad No 2 | Macka Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#85 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#85 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World and awarded Europe Luxury Hotel 2013 by World Luxury Hotel Awards, Swissotel The Bosphorus, Istanbul is a five-star luxury hotel right in the centre of Istanbul on the European banks of the Bosphorus. Nestled within 65 acres of historical gardens with world-class shopping and vibrant nightlife nearby, it offers 497 guest rooms and suites, featuring state-of-the-art technology and exclusive amenities. For guest staying in Executive rooms, the Swiss Executive Club lounge provides additional luxury and exclusivity.In addition to various meeting space with the capacity of 5 to 1200 people, including function rooms and a ballroom, a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel The Bosphorus, Istanbul.The award-winning Purovel Spa & Sport offers luxurious holistic spa treatments from all over the world.Secure hotel parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay.Swissotel The Bosphorus, Istanbul provides you with an exclusive new lifestyle experience thanks to Swissotel Living: 63 elegant suites in a variety of sizes, from studio to one to three-bedroom, offer the ultimate in style and luxury, and allow guests to enjoy the full range of hotel services – which includes an exclusive rooftop pool – within the comfort of their own four walls. We are upgrading our rooms and suites on the West Wing. Outdoor pool and Gaja Roof will be closed in 2014. Also Cafe Swiss Restaurant is closed as of August 1st for renewal process. Regular buffet breakfast is being serviced at our Lobby Lounge. In order to prevent any visual and noise disturbance to our guests, panoramic view from Lobby Lounge will be blocked during the renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel The Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Bosphorus Istanbul
Swissotel The Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel The Bosphorus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.