We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel The Bosphorus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel The Bosphorus to your Saves list
Swissotel The Bosphorus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayildim Cad No 2 | Macka Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marina Del Rey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Consider this hotel if you are staying in town for pleasure or business. It is fascinating inside and out. Watch out for prices though. They are $$$$$ when it comes to food. The waiters aren't trained professionally. You will have to ask several time to for example get right silverware.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

We would like to thank you sincerely for sharing your stay experiences on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear about your observation related to the service standards in our restaurant. Please be assured that we have passed your observations related to this to our Food & Beverages Director to ensure our standards are as consistent as you expect from a hotel of our category, in the meanwhile, should you wish to share your experience with me at my mail address elif.aktas@swissotel.com, I will be pleased to convey it to our related department in more detail.
Thank you again for choosing Swissôtel The Bosphorus and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    378
    100
    39
    17
See reviews for
223
365
54
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The team at Swissotel do an excellent Job in taking care of the guests. Every need of the guest is taken care of . I was in a hurry to rush for a meeting and was thinking of taking a quick bite in the morning. Eventhough the breakfast area was not near the lobby, the staff undestood my need and brough what I needed immeediately to me rather than asking me to go to a different floor!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your comments are a big motivation for our team.
We thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Bosphorus for your stay in Istanbul and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Bosphorus soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a classic quality 5 star hotel that hasn't really changed over the years. Very good sized rooms, friendly staff and good in room working conditions if on business. Non Bosphorous facing rooms have un- inspiring cityscape view. Free wifi and in room bottled water was good to see. Breakfast buffet choice very good as you would expect - short on a wide range of fresh fruit though but has everything else. Good views from the breakfast terrace of the Bosphorous. Well located for both business and pleasure. If you want modern and hip this hotel is not for you - if you are looking for classic luxury, at a price, stay here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you sincerely for sparing your time to share your experiences with us in Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read you were pleased with the services rendered to you, especially your nice comments about our staff service, views to t5he Bosphorus and breakfast variety. Your comments are a big motivation for the entire Swissôtel team and encourage us to even further upgrade and improve our services.
Thank you again for choosing Swissôtel The Bosphorus and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back many times.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Loved the hotel; we stayed at a Bosphorus view junior suite. Sleep was excellent, view was stunning, the staff particularly helpful and polite, the breakfast rich and with good variety. The neighborhood was nice and safe. I definitely recommend this hotel for its good quality and excellent views. The hotel also has a very good spa that includes a traditional turkish hamam.

Room Tip: Get one of the Bosphorus view suites, worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your comments are a big motivation for the entire Swissôtel team. Please be assured that we will be sharing your kind comments with our staff. Thank you again for choosing Swissôtel The Bosphorus for your recent stay and hope look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Amazing hotel with perfect location. We stayed in an apartment, its a second building located next to the main entrance, which made me feel like home. Huge living room with a panoramic view of the Bosporus, business corner and a separate kitchen. The bedroom is located separately with an open bathroom area, shower and bathtub and a separate toilet. Its a perfect room to have guests over as the bedroom area is intimately separated from the living room. (room 2805) Perfect service with double cleaning per day, even a thoughtful birthday cake was waiting for us at the room. Have to highlight the concierge service and especially Cenk, who solved all of our individual requests. The hotel has an amazing spa area, with pool, hammam, yoga room and fitness area.
The hotel is located close to the Bosporus, 10 min walking to the Palace.

Room Tip: the apartments in the second building are simply fantastic, perfect view, kitchen, amazing design (r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you chose our hotel to celebrate your special day and had an enjoyable stay. Your comments are a big motivation for the entire team, in particular our concierge team and Cenk Arıkan.
As Swissôtel family we look forward to welcoming you back on many occasions.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Recent trip here on business trip and have to say the best location and hotel have stayed in during four vists to Istanbul - instantly received an upgrade, the hotel is very clean, service superb, the executive floor excellent and the room had a lovely view of the bospherus with a chez long nicely positioned to relax on ...if would have had time - bar was pretty expensive though but complientary water in the room - check out very quick and they could explain details of transactions when asked very quickly - also worth noting if flyinmg in around rush hour the route th othis hotel avoids some of the heavy traffic experienced elsewhere.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade or add your profile on line to their mailing list - and ask for an upgrade at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Swissôtel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read you have enjoyed staying on our Swiss Executive Room.
Again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Bosphorus and hope we may enjoy the opportunity to welcome you back many more times in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed three nights for business reason. I got a studio in the west wing of the hotel so not inside the main building. It was a very large and nicely organized apartment. The room was very clean and tidy but to access the lobby and the main service facilities I had to walk outside for about 100 meters. Breakfast was ok in the west wing and very good in the main lobby. The Turkish restaurant connected with the hotel was not good, both for the food quality and for the service. Price of the room was very high but adequate with what was offered.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElifAktas, Director of Guest Services at Swissotel The Bosphorus, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Swissotel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read you have enjoyed staying in our newly designed “Swiss Living” Suites. In the meanwhile, we are sorry that Turkısh Restaurant “Gunaydın”. did not meet your expectations. Although this particular restaurant is not operated by Swissotel The Bosphorus, we wish to assure that is a very reputable restaurant chain in Turkey and we will be sharing your comments with the related management team to ensure the standards and service delivery is as consistent as you expect.
Thank you again for your visit and we look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel The Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Bosphorus

Address: Bayildim Cad No 2 | Macka Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#85 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World and awarded Europe Luxury Hotel 2013 by World Luxury Hotel Awards, Swissotel The Bosphorus, Istanbul is a five-star luxury hotel right in the centre of Istanbul on the European banks of the Bosphorus. Nestled within 65 acres of historical gardens with world-class shopping and vibrant nightlife nearby, it offers 497 guest rooms and suites, featuring state-of-the-art technology and exclusive amenities. For guest staying in Executive rooms, the Swiss Executive Club lounge provides additional luxury and exclusivity.In addition to various meeting space with the capacity of 5 to 1200 people, including function rooms and a ballroom, a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel The Bosphorus, Istanbul.The award-winning Purovel Spa & Sport offers luxurious holistic spa treatments from all over the world.Secure hotel parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay.Swissotel The Bosphorus, Istanbul provides you with an exclusive new lifestyle experience thanks to Swissotel Living: 63 elegant suites in a variety of sizes, from studio to one to three-bedroom, offer the ultimate in style and luxury, and allow guests to enjoy the full range of hotel services – which includes an exclusive rooftop pool – within the comfort of their own four walls. We are upgrading our rooms and suites on the West Wing. Outdoor pool and Gaja Roof will be closed in 2014. Also Cafe Swiss Restaurant is closed as of August 1st for renewal process. Regular buffet breakfast is being serviced at our Lobby Lounge. In order to prevent any visual and noise disturbance to our guests, panoramic view from Lobby Lounge will be blocked during the renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel The Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Bosphorus Istanbul
Swissotel The Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel The Bosphorus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.