We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Istanbul to your Saves list
InterContinental Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #129 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Very Good accomodation, Reasonable Breakfast, Average Food, Very expensive Bar

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeylaKorur, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    274
    71
    25
    14
See reviews for
113
252
56
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

The hotel room was very good sized. We stayed there for a week and ended up spending a good amount of time in the hotel room itself.
The location is very good, walking distance (5 mins) from the central market place.
Would return if I go back to Istanbul again.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeylaKorur, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, December 8, 2009
Many thanks for your comments regarding the services during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

we stayed in this hotel at the end of our cruise. Istanbul is a dirty city and we did not see the best parts of it due to our short stay. we were there for a day and a night and would be leaving the next day to fly back to america. everything was ridiculously over priced and my mom and i were just tryin to chill. because the hotel was not chill, we had a hard time chillin.

Stayed August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

There are lots of good things about this hotel. Many of the staff went out of their way to help us and this was appreciated. The hotel is a bit old and faded and its annoying there is no entrance in Taksim Square to the metro which is quicker than taxi! Some of the staff are really poor. I was attending a conference and breakfast was served in a separate room. I came for breakfast at 9.10am and asked the waiter to set a table for me. I asked 5 times for coffee. Eventually at 9.30am the waiter said that breakfast had finished and I could not have any coffee. You would not expect to be treated like this in a simple bed and breakfast let alone a 5* hotel where you are paying $300/night. What a rip off and what a lousy start to my day. Interestingly I was in Istanbul for a week and experienced nothing but help and kindness from Turkish people apart from staff at the Intercontinental. Prices for the minibar were extremely high - a small chocolate bar costing 5 euros. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeylaKorur, Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Thank you very much for letting us know your inconveniences regarding your stay and we appreciated the time you have taken to bring this matter to our attention.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort this may have caused and please make sure that your comments have been passed onto the appropriate department for corrective action.

Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

We would like to thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again on some future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

This is a cream of the crop, top notch hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is a beautiful and elegant hotel, from the creative and lovely floral arrangement encased wthin the turnstyle to the stunning spiral staircase with glass stairs in the lobby and beautiful paintings throughout the facility. The room was very comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast was adequate but could have included more selections. For example, I would have loved to sample more Turkish delights. The Turkish bath was a wonderful experience as there were plenty of basins to accomodate all the bathers present. The entire spa/bath facilities were very clean and adequately stocked with robes, towels and slippers. The hotel includes a bakery in the lobby where I had some wonderful baklava and Turkish coffee. The overall service in the hotel was good, but not extraordinary. The hotel is located within walking distance to many shops and restaurants, though caution is required as foreigners are usually targets for "smooth talkers" who want to distract you and find an opportunity to pick your pocket.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeylaKorur, Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Does what it says on the box ... very friendly staff, nice location, clean and efficient rooms, grear view on Bosporus ... - so yes go ahead an book you will not be dissapointed - Luxury Hotel it is not .. but then you won`t expect this from an intercont i guess ... - would i come again ... well maybe on business on leisure i would ssek a bit more "posh" .....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#41 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#75 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#138 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lütfi Kırdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.