We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Istanbul

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #118 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Ottawa
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Still Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Despite the road construction around the corner, everything is the hotel seems to be in perfect working order. The staff on arrival were exceptionally courteous and proved to be very helpful. As we were using the business lounge, we can comment that it is one of the best lounges in all the Intercons we have stayed in with an excellent variety of food that changes every day. The staff in the lounge remember your preferences even though the place was packed. The room was bright during the day but the blinds shut out all light at night, allowing for a restful sleep in a lovely king bed. The new Hyatt is across the street but I think the Intercon still has them beat on service.

Room Tip: Go for the business lounge access room if you can. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel, rooms, staff, cleaning and services rendered at the hotel and specially at Club Lounge during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the InterContinental Istanbul.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    225
    60
    22
    12
See reviews for
96
209
46
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, La
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I were part of an organized tour, but we chose to arrive in Istanbul three days early in order to see sights not covered in the tour itself. We greatly enjoyed this hotel and would certainly return if we should be fortunate enough to visit Istanbul once more.

The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. Housekeeping is impeccable. We ate breakfasts in the hotel and found the food to be tasty and well-prepared. There is a convenient ATM machine located in the lobby that facilitates the purchase of lira. Just insert your debit card and withdraw the desired number of Turkish lira.

There is a bar on the top floor of the hotel with a view that is stunning. They also serve Efes beer on tap. Normally I don't drink light beer, but Efes is tasty, and I recommend it. A modest assortment of food, artfully prepared, is also available, and we visited the bar for beer and late-night snacks on several occasions.

The concierges can be helpful. For example, one of them recommended that we attend performances at the Hodja Pasha Cultural Center, and fortunately we took his advice. Had he not been so helpful we might have missed that valuable experience. What a loss that would have been.

Our experience at the Ceylan Intercontinental was pleasant and altogether positive. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review on our hotel. We are more than pleased to learn that you were dilighted with your stay and were happy with our hotel, City Lights Bar & Restaurant and also our Concierge services rendered to you in InterContinental Istanbul.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Located at the northern end of Taksim square, the hotel is in walking distance of Istiklal Avenue. Here you can connect with several metro options (funicular, tram, and bus). Istiklal Avenue is loaded with shops and places to eat including Burger King, McDonalds, and KFC. There are several Doner places here and you should try one. Also, chestnut vendors.
The hotel is top rate and has great amenities. I stayed in a Club Room for 2 nights and I had a room with a nice view of the Bosphorus. I can't say enough about the Club Intercontinental staff as well as the rest of the hotel. They were always helpful and had a nice selection of snacks and the breakfast was a mix of local and American food. Yes, being an Ambassador has it's perks. Very nice property.

Room Tip: Become an Ambassador member, you will almost always get the best room. Higher floors might be have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel group as one of our Ambassador members, your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel location and our services, rendered at Club Lounge, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This Hotel is very nice, the service is very good and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The only problem that we had is that was difficult to walk around. The location itself is good if you plan to take taxis all the time, thanks a lot the taxis are easy to find, safe and not expensive.
Our room had a very nice Jacuzzi and we were upgraded to a better room because we had to wait a lot of time for checking.

PS: I said that taxis are a safe way to go, because in some other cities, taking taxis in the street is really dangerous, but in Istanbul is very safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel and services rendered to you during your stay with us. We do apologize regarding any inconveniences about construction around the hotel and difficulties it might cause to you.

We look forward to welcome you again at the InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a night drink at the penthouse bar of Ceylan Intercontinental. Fantastic views of the Bosphorus, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Quiet atmosphere, must for relaxation. Great location and very clean hotel.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback regarding our City Lights Bar & Restaurant and very happy to hear that your enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcome you again at the InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My girlfriend and i just returned from a few days in IC Istanbul. The hotel was wonderful. The breakfast was nice, the room exceptionally clean and well kept. But what really made this hotel wonderful was how attentive the staff was. They really turn this hotel in the most cosy place to stay and they realy make you feel like home. All these small touches made our stay truly memorable. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel, rooms, cleaning, services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the InterContinental Istanbul.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I just came back from Istanbul. I stayed in Intercontinental for the second time, I was there 6 years ago and was so happy that I came back for the second time. From the time I arrived till I checked out, I was treated with the best service. The customer service in this hotel is just exceptional. Mr. Yasin Kilic in front desk is very professional, genuine and extra ordinary nice. He is a true asset for cylan Intercontinental and I have to say they are very lucky to have him among their staff. What a great personality.
I recommend this hotel for their neatness, customer service and their personnel. Thank you for making our stay memorable, thank you for taking care of us as if we were at our own home. I am planning to go back to Istanbul in a year and I will stay there again.
Mr. Yasin Kilic, I can't forget how nice you were to us, You really and truly took your time to make sure we were taking care of. Although when I was there I told your manager about your great service, but I really hope they read this and know how muchI appreciate everything you did for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel and specially our Front Desk staff Mr. Yasin Kilic, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#127 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lütfi Kırdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.