We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel with Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Istanbul to your Saves list
InterContinental Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #130 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel with Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Although the building is a bit dated, this hotel strives to compete with helpful staff and great service. Club level well worth it with a full breakfast buffet and evening cocktails and large buffet (enough variety that one can make an evening meal from the buffet). Great views from the rooms on the Bosphorus side of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel and our services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    275
    71
    25
    14
See reviews for
113
253
56
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and facility.
Very nice breakfast buffet, service are excellent, staff are friendly.
Few negative points:
- you can't ask for extra bed in rooms with Bosporus view only standard rooms which are smaller in size.
- Internet is for extra charges even with gold membership.
-don't book tours via the hotel because it is way more expensive than if you book it with any travel agent which are spread in taxim square.

But in general it was pleasant stay and we have enjoyed it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding our hotel and service. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to bring it to our attention.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort this may have caused.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our property.

Faithfully yours,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in this "Intercontinental" as I am a regular customer of Intercontinental and found out that this hotel is Intercontinental at its worst.Booked for 2 rooms : king and twin but got 2 twins (same old story : high season, fully booked etc...etc..). Don't even dream for a connecting room.
The room spacious and overlooking the Taksim park.Nice view considering all the construction that ongoing by the city to uplift Taksim area.Toiletries are Intercon standard but don't expect separate tub and shower. Don't book for their pick up service from the airport as they will overcharge you : Euro 250 return vs Euro 70 with other pick up service.
Room service terrible : asked for hot water two times but never showed up ( probably their policy to only service the pay item on the menu), concierge made a telephone call when i just sit in front of him without telling anything so i had to move to the next concierge table to just got a simple map and info about surrounding.
Here is the worst : On the queue for toasting my bread during breakfast.There was one other guest in front of me and suddenly a waiter cut the line and pretends to help toasting the bread.He took 2 slices of bread and told me : "you can take the other bread when done".Then he walked to other guest table (that I bet gave him a big tip) and serve the toast.

Room Tip: Rooms with Swimming Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding our hotel and service. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to bring this matter to our attention. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests at InterContinental Istanbul.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences it may have caused and please be assured that your comments regarding services which you have mentioned have been passed on to the appropriate department for corrective action.
We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My two separate reservations (one advance purchase for deluxe, second one for flexible seaview clubroom) were combined and upgraded to suite room with partial seaview, as first night's clubroom was told as not available upon check-in. We were allowed temporary use of clubroom seaview. The room's view was excellent, but anyone can enjoy excellent view from its Citylights bar especially balcony (smoking area). Safran restaurant with fusion Ottoman turkish cuisine space also looks the same direction. All staff we encountered on our four- night stay were nice and helpful which is comforting for first-time visitor to town.
Because of the construction work going on around Taxim square around the property, it might take time to get to the hotel (we were told by taxi driver to get off and carry our luggage shortly before entrance). That said, doorman gave one list of estimate of time and cost for major destinations for taxi going from the hotel. Overall, one felt looked after staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Clubroom with seaview had a excellent view. Amenity products used in clubroom and suite seemed to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel, rooms, Citylights Bar & Restaurant and Safran restaurant, services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the InterContinental Istanbul.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

That Ceylan is a top American Chain Hotel is well known. That it is well located at Taksim, it is clear. What surprises me the most is how well Staff, concierge and other services will treat you. They will do whatever you want, need, at the time needed. If u need to change evrything, they will adapt to ur needs. If needed be to do shopping, but u busy, they will take care of it, no extra cost. Amazing rooms, breakfast and everything else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel, staff, our Concierge and other services rendered to you during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Arrived on the usual first class TK flight from Munich just prior to Christmas - while the Airport was busy and had experienced a little snow the delays were at a minimum and the drive to the Hotel a little over 30 mins, on arrival I was checked in at the Ambassador Desk , upgraded to an executive floor and arrived at a well appointed room with the minimum of fuss - all very friendly and business like. The Executive lounge was delight a haven of peace and tranquility in this mad mad world, the staff were efficient and friendly and the food on offer was of the highest standard and served with attention to every detail - One young lady from the team who had spent much time in the UK was just first class and during my stay helped to make everything run smoothly - the room , the food and the staff were fist class and this would be a very hard act to follow. - I will be back !!

Room Tip: Book an Executive Floor - The lounge is worth every Cent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your loyalty as an Ambassador member and many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel, Club InterContinental, rooms, services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the InterContinental Istanbul.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here on a romantic break in Istanbul for our anniversary. We had a great room on a high floor with fabulous views over the city. The decor was very luxurious and we had all the amenities that you would need - incluidng an ironing board which I always want in a hotel!
Only downside was that we had booked room onl;y and on the first day we had the hotel breakfast which turend out to be close to USD $100 for both of us!!! After that we ate out, though we did have (quite pricey) cocktails in the hotel bar one evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay.

Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in InterContinental Istanbul.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the InterContinental Istanbul.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#44 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#75 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#138 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lütfi Kırdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.