We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, worth seeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rustem Pasha Mosque

Rustem Pasha Mosque
Hasircilar Carsisi | Eminonu, Istanbul, Turkey (Sirkeci)
Improve this listing
Visit Rustem Pasha Mosque like an insider
Top Rated
$45*
and up
Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce...
Ranked #14 of 1,271 things to do in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the smaller mosques in the city, it was built by Rustem Pasa in 1561 and is noted for the very fine tiles covering the interior and exterior walls.
France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful, worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This mosque is right in the centre of the Market 10-15 minutes walk from the Suleimanya mosque. The tiles work is extremely beautiful. Definitely worth seeing. Beware that unlike other mosques, no shawls, or long skirts are given on site for women wearing short skirts or sleeveless shirts so come prepared as you may not be allowed to enter.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    342
    58
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minett, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and blue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The inside is decorated with so many blue tiles (Iznik?). Being different from Blue Mosque, it is tiny, quiet and lovely. We loved so much,

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California's Wine Coast Country, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Through the spice market upt the hidden stairs and wow. This small mosque is beautiful. It's a working mosque so no shoes and a head scarf for women.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is simply the best mosque in the city to visit - It is smaller than most of the others but this makes it even more charming

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A beautiful Mosque with exquisite tiles and quiet ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I chose to visit the mosque on a personal tour on my second visit to Istanbul. Much smaller (but older) than the Blue Mosque, I visited at around 5pm and I was the only person there with my guide. Inside the quiet interior, it was hard to believe just outside there were crowds of people rushing too and from the Spice Market. After the crowds of the Blue Mosque, I appreciated being able to get up close to the hand painted İznik tiles. A very beautiful place to visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustem Pasha Mosque also viewed

 

Been to Rustem Pasha Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustem Pasha Mosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.