We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topkapi Palace

Topkapi Palace
| Gulhane Park, near Sultanahmet Square, Istanbul, Turkey
(0212) 522 44 22
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Topkapi Palace like an insider
Private Tour
$113*
and up
Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing...
Ranked #13 of 1,271 things to do in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This enormous palace was the Imperial residence of Ottoman sultans for almost 400 years. Although much of the palace is not accessible, the daily tours of the Harem are of great interest to tourists.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Want to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The only reason my husband's and my rating of this is not "Excellent" is our own faults - we missed out on much of what there is to see in the Palace. We went right before dinner and there were huge lines to get in to the jewel rooms. Once we made it out of those, we kind of forgot that there would be a lot more to see and headed out to get dinner. Because of that, we missed out on the Harem apartments, the museum of arms, etc. If we go back to Istanbul (which we hope to do), we will definitely visit this site in the morning or right after lunch so that we will have a few hours to look around.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,682
    3,529
    1,186
    238
    61
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Topkapi Palace shouldn't be missed. Highlights include the Treasury with superlative jewels, the Harem (can't believe a previous poster said they skipped the Harem; what a loss), and the pavilions overlooking the Golden Horn. You can also have a drink or eat outside the Konyali restaurant with a lovely view of the Bosphorous.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

just wonderful, bad side is you cannot take photos in all rooms. check out the musuem of clocks, arms and religeous relics get some good and comfy shoes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is an impressive museum, the treasury is filled with wonderful treasures, the arms section has some incredible weapons and armery but the best is the harem and the rooms with all the beautiful tiles.

Don't miss the harem and the gardens are lovely also. Must see sight in Istanbul.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Palace and so much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This palace is very large and covers quite a large section of the old town. From its grand entrance guarded by soldiers to the cafe with a beautiful vista of the sea, this palace has much to offer. From the room of clocks, to the precious jewels and costumes, I was engaged for more than 6 hours and only due to the crowds and exhaustion did I leave. Not the easiest place to meet friends (I tried to hook up with fellow tourists I had met a couple days earlier) due to the lack of internet service and so many large gates, but an excellent location to get lost for the day and enter another time and place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topkapi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Topkapi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topkapi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.