We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topkapi Palace

Topkapi Palace
Gulhane Park, near Sultanahmet Square, Istanbul topkapisarayimuzesi@kulturturizm.gov.tr, Turkey
(0212) 522 44 22
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$232*
and up
3-Day Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Hagia Sophia...
Ranked #17 of 504 Attractions in Istanbul
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This enormous palace was the Imperial residence of Ottoman sultans for almost 400 years. Although much of the palace is not accessible, the daily tours of the Harem are of great interest to tourists.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too many people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We didn't have a chance to stop even for 30 seconds in front of the most interesting for us pieces because guards were rushing us to go. Yes, Topkapi palace is interesting, has many beautiful places to see, but most of rooms are empty so you can't imagine how they lived in this rooms. Nice views, but you have to stand in queues to treasury and than in next one to next part of treasury and so on. Extra fee for Harem shouldn't be charged.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,757
    3,042
    1,040
    203
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Check the cruise ship schedule before you go. It was beautiful but WAY too many people. We heard that going in the afternoon as opposed to opening time is much better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big lineups, go early!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful palace! I'm glad I chose to go to Topkapi Palace and Harem 1st thing in the morning before the long lineups form. Only negative is that there are separate lineups for Palace, Harem and Audioguide. It would be better if you could purchase all at one location and transaction.
Great collection of jewels. Nice view of city and Bospherous!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and vast - plan on some serious time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The museum exhibits are so intriguing, and the grounds and Palace buildings are vast. Loved it, but was there for about 4 hours, when had thought maybe 2. Definitely worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Another great site in Istanbul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived early to try and beat the crowds but the Palace was already very busy. We were a bit surprised at the entrance fee of 25 lira (approx 13 euros, seemed expensive for Turkey) per person but once inside it was worth it. We had to pay extra again to enter the Harem, but that was the highlight of the visit to the Palace so we were ok with paying! The Harem exhibition was interesting and educational, but some of the other exhibitions were so busy that we couldn't be bothered to wait in line.

Overall, a must see in Istanbul but we would definitely advise to go when it is not so busy! Leave at least an hour and a half to see the place (if you are a quick tourist) or more if you like to wander and absorb at great length!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topkapi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Topkapi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topkapi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.