We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hagia Sophia Museum / Church (Ayasofya)

Hagia Sophia Museum / Church (Ayasofya)
Ayasofya Square, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
+90 212 522 1750
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$227*
and up
3-Day Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Hagia Sophia...
Ranked #6 of 503 Attractions in Istanbul
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This architectural marvel displays 30 million gold tiles throughout its interior, and a wide, flat dome which was a bold engineering feat at the time it was constructed in the 6th century.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Incredible place. No other building says more about the depth of history in Istanbul than Hagia Sophia. It's size and fact built 1000 years before St Peter's in Rome speaks to the advanced civilisation. Just make sure you arrive early or late. And don't be shy of crowds!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,698
    3,162
    743
    131
    37
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

After paying 40TL (30 for entry and 10 to skip the line), I expected a grand old building with a view into its great history. Although there are bits and pieces of it (the cristian mosaics and the muslim remnants), it was a lot less grand than I had hoped. Its basically empty, except for huge scaffolding that blocks the view. I would not recommend this to visit. I thought Topkapi was much more impressive and diverse - good to spend time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is well worth a visit and, for me, it was on a par with the blue mosque ( also beautiful and well worth a visit and that one is free!). However, even better than either of these is Topkapi Palace and especially the Harem quarters ... that gets my 5 stars!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning and a must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

You cannot say that you have visited Istanbul if you haven't seen this mosque/church/museum. The exterior is just simply amazing and the interior shows the true picture of Turkey and its culture. Its a place where the two major religions of the world i.e. Christianity and Islam.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprising historical place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hagia Sophia was a church at the beginning in 6th century but later became a Mosque in Ottoman time. The church made of stone with beautiful sculpture and mosaic pictures on the wall. The stairs also special without steps. Even it is not the best church I have ever seen but its story was interesting. I like this Museum.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hagia Sophia Museum / Church (Ayasofya) also viewed

 

Been to Hagia Sophia Museum / Church (Ayasofya)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hagia Sophia Museum / Church (Ayasofya), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.