We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, but oh so tasty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Can Oba Restaurant

Can Oba Restaurant
Hocapasa Mah. Hocapasa Sok No:10 | Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey
02125221215
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 11,471 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish, Continental
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but oh so tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

After a morning of touring, our guide suggest Can Oba for lunch. We each got something different and loved everything we ordered. It's almost cafeteria style. This may have been the best meal I had in Istanbul. Eggplant and lentils. It was fantastic!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    70
    30
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Delicious food, Friendly Chef-cum-Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Can Oba (the chef) is not only a super chef, but also a wonderful host! The dishes he presented were up there with the Michelin starred restaurants I've been to!
Tip: Do leave room for the mouth-watering deserts!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Lotsa Hype, But Short on Substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I watched this gushing American girl rave about Can Oba in a YouTube video (it's on their website) and I thought, wow, this is the 1st place I want to eat in Istanbul. In the video, she is served a number of dishes, the presentation of each dish is beautiful, the food on the large, square white plates perfectly arranged, the sauces deftly sprinkled around the food, just right. It looked great. She claimed it was the number one Trip Advisor restaurant in Istanbul; maybe it was when she made the video. So we tried the place with great anticipation. Put bluntly, there was a real gap between the video and the actual experience of eating at Can Oba. Her specially prepared plates did not resemble the stuff that we got served. The beautiful square of spinach lasagna she got was not the gelatinous blob that appeared on our plate, nor did anything else we ordered have the haut cuisine appearance of the food she was served. Was it any good? It was average to say the most about it. The kebab chicken wings were tough and nearly meatless, the kebab though spicy was not particularly tasty, and the mezes were ok, but not great. This is not the nouvelle cuisine of Turkey that we had expected.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Find this restaurant by chance. Very friendly staff, good and frish food, just excellent! The boss speaks fluently many languages (English, German, Portuguese) and is always smiling and asking you if all is ok. Typical turkish food, all I searched.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can Oba Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our tour guide suggested this restaurant and it was excellent. Quite probably our best meal in Istanbul. Unfortunately no wine, and Turkish wine is surprisingly good. The restaurant is too close to a mosque to serve alcohol. No matter, the food was excellent, inexpensive, and beautifully presented. It was excellent start to finish!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Oba Restaurant also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Can Oba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Oba Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.