We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and very nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Efendi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Efendi Hotel to your Saves list
Efendi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alemdar Mah. Hoca Rustem Mektebi Sok. No:9-11 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34112, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #90 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location and very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel room is small but nicely decorated. It s located in the old town, a walking distances to Sultanahmet station; Very convenient to visit the attractions in the area or get the tram over to the new side. We arrived very early in the morning, much earlier than the check-in time, the staff was very kind to let us check-in to our room and offer a free breakfast. Superb!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    92
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
79
103
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed for 1 night only when completing my business trip - I wanted to be closer to the Old Town to be able to do some of the tourist stuff in town, plus it's closer to the airport (as opposed to the Beshiktas area where I stayed before).

The hotel is conveniently located, the staff is nice, the room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was plentiful. I guess for someone who does not expect to spend significant amount of time in the room/hotel, this is the place to stay. Otherwise, I would not recommend it as the rooms (although nice and well-kept) are actually "under-ground" - taking advantage of the fact that the hotel is on a hill and the rooms are facing a (nicely-kept, covered with greenery, but nevertheless) wall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosnia and Herzegovina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great location (close to tram station Sultanahmet) and there was no noise from the street. Our triple room was nice, clean and spacious. Good breakfast but bad coffee. Staff very friendly and helpful. I would recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

First, the Efendi Hotel has the perfect location for people looking for a place to stay in the Sultanahmet area. Very easy to walk to food, attractions, shopping, transportation, etc. Second, the staff was wonderful - very helpful and always available. The breakfast and internet were nice bonuses and much appreciated.

I selected a room without window, I probably wouldn't do that again, but otherwise the room was very nice. The room was very modern and very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a 2 nights stay at this hotel. Exceptional location, 3 minutes walk to Hagia Sofia and near thousands of restaurants. The hotel is modern and looks brand new. The room was small, but very modern and well equipped. We had everything we needed (slippers, soap, gel shower, tea, water etc). Nice temperature in the room. We also enjoyed the bathroom, with a modern brand new shower. We had bad luck, for our whole stay the elevator wasn't working so we had to climb up to the 5 th floor the stairs.
For the price paid (55 euros/night) we were satisfied. Very good internet Wifi service, free of charge (very strong signal in all the hotel).

Now the bad parts: extremely low quality towels in the room; very bad breakfast buffet- low quality tasteless food. The second day I have skipped the breakfast for being too bad. And no alcohol in the mini bar.
But considering the price paid, it was a very good quality/price report.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great hotel within 5 min walk of all major attractions. Lots of eating joints around the place.The rooms were good enough for the cost and it was cleaned and serviced everyday. The staff and support team were excellent. One of the best team i have seen. They were also very eager to help and advice on all your queries. breakfast was also good. a hotel worth staying in istanbul

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

There are a lot more positives and only a few negatives. Firstly this is a city centre hotel deep in the heart of the Sultanhamet area.– The Location is fantastic literally one minute walk from the bars/restaurants and very close to all the major sights and yet in a sleepy quiet street ! We had room 506 and did not hear any noise (except the early morning call to prayer – and we had our window open all through the night). The Room is modern but is on the very small size – but clean and fresh towels and sheets every day ! The room had a double (very comfortable) bed and a full single bed which we put to good use as our storage and wardrobe extension ! The bathroom was perfect with a huge shower cubicle – full free WiFi access in the hotel was a bonus – the staff could not be more helpful or friendly – especially the girl on Reception .
The breakfast was not the best choice – just enough to get you started for the day – 7 main platters (5 of which were different cheeses and 2 of cold meats) – but there was cereals, fresh fruit, breads, jams, Juices and of course coffee and teas !
Location, Clean, Modern, Quiet, WiFi, Bed and bathroom were all the good positives – room size and breakfast scored lower.

Room Tip: Ask for room size (area) - rooms on level 4 and 5 are best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Efendi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efendi Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Hoca Rustem Mektebi Sok. No:9-11 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Efendi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 400 metres from Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Grand bazaar are about an 8-minute walk from Efendi Hotel. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the venue.Carpeted rooms include air conditioning, minibar and an LCD TV with satellite channels. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and slippers.Daily breakfast is served in buffet style. Guests can enjoy their breakfast in the privacy of their rooms. Local restaurants, bars and cafes are within a couple minutes’ walk away.You can benefit from laundry and room service at Efendi. There is also a little balcony in the back to relax and socialise.Ataturk Airport is 20 km from Efendi Hotel. A shuttle service can be arranged upon request for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Efendi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Efendi Hotel details originally provided by Yellow.com.tr

If you own or manage Efendi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.