We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and tasty food, impeccable service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kybele Cafe Restaurant

Kybele Cafe Restaurant
Yerbatan Cad.35 | Sultanahmet district, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
212 511 77 67
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 11,077 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty food, impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Spurred by previous Tripadvisor comments, we searched out for this place, and what a gem! It's in a small colorful hotel right near the sights (not far downhill of Tokapi Palace). Our group had a great lunch with seafood and fresh salads (go for the one with warm beef!). The service was impeccable, and even after we paid our bills, they brought us tea with small chunks of cinnamon, apple and flowers. It's so good that we went back for dinner the next day! The decor is tasteful and unique, both the downstair restaurant place and the roof garden are excellent and different. We tried both!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    97
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kharkiv, Ukraine
2 reviews
“Cozy, glamorous and extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The restaurant has base floor in classic style and second openair floor with kind of colorful child style (they call it garden). We sat at the second floor and enjoyed much. The food was really delicious. I would certainly recommend visiting it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Something very unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Walking into the upstairs courtyard is a unique experience in itself. To find something so colourful and quaint in the middle of Istanbul was indeed special. The atmosphere created an ambience for a delicious dinner with really good helpful service. We couldn't fault anything about our experience. Take time to have a look around the cafe downstairs, it too is unique.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This place is cozy and pretty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a cup of Turkish coffee and rice based-oven baked dessert. Both were good. The forte of this place is of course those lights on the ceiling. They are absolutly prettly and generated certain atmosphere! Recommeded for thos who walk by this place. Stop by, and grab a cup of Turkish coffee!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cozy, quiet restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

- Kybele is a quiet respite from the noisy street and unrelenting restaurant touts
- ate dinner on the colourful garden terrace surrounded by plants
- while a bit heavy with the yogurt, the adana kebab meal was tasty and filling
- service was friendly (they'll take your photo if requested)
- although the terrace is relatively small and tables close together, other's conversations did not intrude

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kybele Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kybele Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kybele Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.