We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akin Fish

Akin Fish
Fermeneciler Cad. Ali Yazici Sok. Gumruk Han D:10 | Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey
2449776
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,636 of 10,924 restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This little spot is right pass the fish market by galata bridge. This was our favorite meal in Istanbul! Even thought this place is very simple it's an authentic experience, food is outstanding and the views are just incredible. Our meal for to was just $15 but the experience was priceless!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    6
    3
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Just Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stumbled on this gem behind the fish markets under the Galata Bridge. Get off the tram at Karakoy and then go down and walk through the fish markets and then it is behind at the end. Full of locals. Called Akin Balik in local parlance. Food is fresh, and excellent, particularly the choice of meze. Try the seaweed.

We were there in December, and the tables were all around the back of the building. They had metal trays under the table that they continually filled with hot coals to keep us warm. Fish was fresh (as you would imagine, being just behind the fresh fish market) and delicious.

Ask for the octopus too, and the tatziki is some of the best I've ever tasted.

We'll be going back. Not the cheapest, but well worth the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Irbid, Jordan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun little place, loved by locals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Tucked away at the end of the fish market on the Karakoy side of Galata Bridge, Akin Balik was recommended to my husband and I by the manager of our hotel (Portus House Istanbul) as "a great little fish place where locals go to eat". While it's certainly a local haunt, the staff are also accustomed to dealing with non-Turkish speakers - we were invited to "go and look at the fish, and choose", which made ordering easy. We chose two portions of different fish, and a simple but delicious mixed salad, a basket of fresh bread and a few beers to top it off, and it was all just delicious - fresh, tasty, just really good, simple food. (There are also a wide variety of mezze available, and I'm told that if you order raki here it's served in little tea glasses, which locals think is a bit of a quirk!) The atmosphere was great - even though it was bitterly cold outside, this place was great was really jumping, with patrons taking advantage of the trays of hot coals placed under each table to keep toes warm! Lots of fun!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aabenraa, Denmark
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Akin Balik - From the Istanbul Eats book? PERFECT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place is located little behind the fish market, close to the Galata bridge. Mostly locals eating here - but around 9 pm, it gest full. And im talking a 300 seater restaurant! Youre sitting outside, in what best can be descriped, as a garden.. The meze´s (Starters) are the best! Eggplant was so smoked and tasy. Haidary and yoghurt with pepper was also perfect! We also had Balik Ekmek - The traditional fish sandwich, wgich was also very good. But the best was the calamari - Squid, deepfried in a crispy batter - and oh god it was crispy and delicious. Dont understand why this place isnt toprated in Istanbul! Go here for sure, if you like FRESH fish!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akin Fish also viewed

 

Been to Akin Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Akin Fish details originally provided by Yellow.com.tr

If you own or manage Akin Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.