We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, Simple and Utilitarian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Septimum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Septimum Hotel to your Saves list
Septimum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hocapasa Mah. Orhaniye Cad. No:29 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Solid, Simple and Utilitarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had been staying across the Bosphorous in the Asian side of Istanbul for business for the previous few day. We wanted to be sure we wouldn't miss our early morning flight out of Ataturk the next morning, so we found a hotel much closer in Sultanhamet for our final night. There was nothing really wrong with this hotel; it was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and it has a great location. Simply put, my issues are a matter of personal preference. While none of these were bad, the beds were a little less plush, the blanket much less thin and more rough, and the room and elevator much smaller than I had been used to while traveling on both sides of the Bosphorous and throughout Turkey.

The rooftop terrace is also nice with a good view across the Bosphorus into the Northern European side of Istanbul.

As others have said before me, this room is perfect for the traveler who simply plans to sleep here and not spend any additional time. The location, near Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, Spice Market, Hagia Sofia, etc. make it an excellent point from which to see these attractions.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This tiny hotel, located in the Sultanahmet, the historical heart of Istanbul. Grat value, great price, great service. During our stay, me and my girlfriend were flying to and from Istanbul multiple times and Muammar, our driver, was always on time waiting to pick us up at the airports, and our stored luggage was perfectly safe and provided, when needed. Walking distance from Haghia Sophia, the amazing cisterns, Topkapi palace, Galata bridge and the Bazaars. Basic, but tasty breakfasts, amazing terrace, efficient and helpful reception. Irritating carpet sellers on the way to Haghia Sophia (simply ignore..)

Room Tip: With 2 or 3 rooms per floor, the stay was surprisingly relaxing. Wouldn´t expect it in such a busy c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankaran, Slovenia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a new hotel, which is in Sultanahmet area, it is located near the sea (Bosphorus). It is close to everything, it is 5-10 minutes from spices market and bazaar (to the bazar you must go uphill).The breakfast was good and it was at the entrace just after the reception, it could be situated somewhere else because everyone around the hotel could see us when we were eating - but this wasn`t a problem for us. The stuff of the hotel was very friendly - they helped us a lot with everything that we asked, they did everything that they could to help us when we were on our vacation.The room was new, very comfortable and they clean it every day. the wifi connection worked perfectly, because there was internet connection on every floor. I have seen that other reviewers writed that there was noise from the railway station but when we were staing there the railway station was closed for repairs - so for us it was a wonderfull holiday in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Septimum hotel has quite new. The location is good , near to the tram line and in walking distance to top kapi and hagia sophia. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is very good, far better that other hotels of the same level in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel located in old city of Istanbul really very good. Hotel staff very friendly especially Mr.Hasan. Room was very clean, breakfast was good. The food besides standard buffet dishes included local Turkish cheeses, vegetable, black and green olives and wonderful peach, vinegrapes and cherry home made jams. Original Turkish tea and coffee were available every time.
On the top hotel has a terrace with panoramic view on Bosphorus. Not far of hotel situated railway station Sikreci - famous train Orient Express (do you remember Agatha Christie novel?) was arriving and departure there some times ago. There is the restaurant 'Orient Express' and museum now.
I can recommend Septimum Hotel as the best budget hotels in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and new. Love the bed. Location is great as the sirkeci tram station is near. We, however changed hotel on the 2nd night because the room was too small for us. My husband was having a flu and we just needed a bigger room. I love the hotel though if not for the flu that my husband was having that made it necessary for us to move

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I spent a week end in Istanbul in January 2013 and I stayed at this hotel. Actually the first night we were moved to an other hotel nearby because, as we were told, of some technical problems with the room we had reserved. The other hotel was ok but Septimum Hotel was, as we could see later, really better. This is a new small hotel located in a strategic position to visit the town. The staff is kind and polite. As we had to spend one night in an other hotel we were upgraded to the best room they had which is the room at the 6th floor with a beautiful view of the Bosporus. The room was clean and well designed. The bed was really comfortable and spacious. The bathroom had a large shower. The breakfast is ok, despite the fact that I had better and richer breakfasts in the past in Turkey. I would really suggest to stay in this hotel to anyone who is looking for a simple, not too expensive place like Septimum Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Septimum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Septimum Hotel

Address: Hocapasa Mah. Orhaniye Cad. No:29 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Septimum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Septimum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Septimum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.