We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood gem with stellar food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acik Mutfak

Acik Mutfak
Galipdede Cad. Timarci sokak 6b | 26, Istanbul, Turkey
0212 293 7433
Improve this listing
Ranked #262 of 11,086 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem with stellar food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I popped in to this cozy neighborhood restaurant for dinner one night with my sister and her husband and we absolutely loved everything we ordered. The menu can change daily and it's just written on the chalkboard inside and you can also just peer at the dishes which are displayed in the tiny kitchen (the name of the restaurant is Open Kitchen after all!) just inside the entrance. Literally, everything is good! Light, modern, delicious and not too badly priced for being in a seemingly trendy part of town so near Galata tower!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    9
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Meze are wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We searched out this place, finding it was a bit of a challenge, but once I saw it from the outside I knew we were in good hands. The place has a casual charm, you enter past the open kitchen where platters of meze tempt. I had the Kofte- light and delicious, best you will find in Istanbul, and my husband enjoyed the stuffed eggplant. They set the bar rather high, eating this well again proved ellusive!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic to see but not recommentable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This small and beautiful located restaurant in Galata is an absolute eyecatcher for romantic tourists with a sense for regular türkisch cuisine. Though the furniture and the atmosphere make a nice impression, the dishes were not that good as in thoundands of the other little Büfets and Restaurants in Istanbul. Especially in relation of the unreasonable for the small portions.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little lovely ghost will tell you a sweet story...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Mysterious and cozy, you would never expect while walking on Galata area ( the historical area of Istanbul)to find such a miracle....you enter the place and immediatelly you stop and stare all this wonderful vintage decoration and you start steping backwards at your early childhood with the smells of your mothers and grandmothers receipes...you stay at the amazing garden and you feel like the queen of Pera, with Bosphorus wind refreshing the area! Just visit it and after you will write your own stories...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is a very cool restaurant, the employee's there gave great service,and you can get awsome Turkısh home-made food here. The owner of the restaurant cooks everthıng herselfö she is a excellent Chef I think she cooks best Turkish food in İstanbul!
It is a must for the Turkich Food experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acik Mutfak also viewed

 

Been to Acik Mutfak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acik Mutfak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.