We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location sorry breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnaura Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Magnaura Palace to your Saves list
The Magnaura Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location sorry breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is situated very close to Hagia Sofia , Blue Mosque ,Basilica Cistern and Topkapi Palace. Rooms are not to large but clean and nicely decorated some noise is coming thru the walls from neighbors. Don't plan to watch TV other that turkis channels and for breakfast you better wander the streets to look for other options because what they offer is pretty bla. If you want some turkis tea order chai otherwise you'll get some Lipton . Staff is friendly how long you keep them happy with some tips but that the custom in Turkey everybody is expecting you to give them some money.

Room Tip: Don't go on the third floor breakfast is served above and you will wake up at 7:30 in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    45
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
151
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel could not be in a more perfect spot for visiting the main attractions in The old city.
It is spotlessly clean, run by a fantastic team of people who can't do enough for you and we were very pleased with our room. We had a corner room, as did our friends. It was large and well furnished and the view was brilliant. The bathroom only had a power shower but that suited us.
You can walk to virtually everywhere but the tram stop is really close by. There are lots of restaurants nearby, too many to choose from.! If I had to make one slightly negative comment, it would be this. The two streets on which the hotel is positioned are somewhat dilapidated. Roman remains have been unearthed nearby, so there are hoardings erected opposite.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quite large. Ask for a mattress topper if you find the bed too firm for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel has a great location in a touristy but not too loud neighbourhood. Many sights are direct walking distance and the view from the rooftopterrace is nice, however some other hotels will have a better view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque.

The rooms are small, but not too small. The condition of the room is very good and they are very clean, thanks to the two very friendly cleaning ladies. One problem is the bed, which is quite hard and the pillows which are quite hard and tall as well. Smaller and softer pillows would be great! The other downside is the ventilation in the bathroom, which is not able to handle the moist after showering.

Breakfast is decent and the staff is very freindly and helpful. Overall I can recommend this hotel to anyone, who is in Istanbul for sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This small hotel is impressively clean! You can walk to every attraction in the old city. There are great restaurants very close and a wonderful view of the bosphorous. The "oversized double" is actually a queen sized bed. From the breakfast room you look over the blue mosque on one side and the hagia Sofia on the other. The staff are very helpful and friendly with a good command of English. The owner, Mehmet, is always available and happy to help with anything. We went to the European side for a few days and decided to return to the magnaura palace because it was so much better! We will most definitely return to this hotel when we come back to istanbul.

Room Tip: A bosphorous view room is great and a corner suite has more space. If you are only staying a few nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel has it all! Excellent location, beautiful rooms, extremely clean and wonderful staff. Have recently returned from a short break in Istanbul and would return there tomorrow. We were delighted with the everything the hotel offered and it went beyond our expectations with the level of staff service. Very impressive.

Room Tip: All rooms seem of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The overall appreciation of this hotel is simply out of this world! In my opinion, it should be rated THE NUMBER ONE! Everything was absolutely perfect; starting with the location: From my room I saw the Bosphore river and the Blue Mosque. The service at every level is top; extremely helpful, professional and friendly staff. The room was quiet and spotless, very comfortable and the breakfast buffet just great (from it's terrace you have the most beautiful view).
Don't look any further, this is the perfection. Personally I can hardly wait to go back.
Congratulations to all of you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I love the Marriotts, The Renaissance, The Four Seasons and the Ritz..and the Magnaura Palace Hotel! This is a boutique hotel with a 1st class service, and a 7star atmosphere..the friendliness of the staff is incomparable..only in Istanbul and only at this hotel..I have travelled to 48 countries, and thousand cities but nowhere i have ever found a hotel that has the best location, the warmest, friendliest, most caring staff 24/7.. My 1st trip to Istanbul was Sept 2012.. i've visited 4X since then..stayed at 8 different hotels..i was looking for the best one..i stayed at this htl in Jan, i went back again in Feb, stayed at the same hotel..the Magnaura Palace hotel is the BEST one..it is VERY VERY CLEAN...i was VERY IMPRESSED at how Mehmet runs this hotel..He works 16hrs everyday to make sure EVERYTHING is PERFECT!..His staff-Mami, Aydin, Umut, Ali, Tarik, the cleaning ladies, Nece(the cook) are ALL very professional, accomodating and friendly..Mehmet will help you in every way he can.. You are treated as guest, as a friend..by the time you leave, you are family..one big happy family! I fell in love with these people, it was hard to leave..my plan to stay for 3 nights ended up to 2wks stay..Yes, i plan to come back every chance i get and will only stay at this hotel..i can stay at the Ritz or the Renaissance/Marriott,
but the location is far from everything else..and where will i find such exemplary service..i feel like i have a personal butler..I had days where i didn't have to leave the hotel..the camaraderie with the staff is incomparable, fun..amazing time!
The breakfast selections are great, well balanced and delicious! The presentation is very very clean and impressive! Very efficient staff! The breakfast room is on the top floor with the view of the Marmara sea (while you eat, you can watch ships sailing, sea gulls, sunrise..it's mesmerizing..) the Blue Mosque on one side, the Hagia Sofia on the other side..the chairs are rich purple and stunning red velvet colors..a very happy room indeed! It makes you smile when you enter this room!
The hotel is brand new..the details, the colors, the decors are well planned, well thought
of..everything is 1st class..even if you are not staying at the hotel, visit their shop..check out the
ceramics- the selections are stunning, well priced..various selections..Mehmet has excellent
taste! Kudos Mehmet! Job well done in every aspect! Please come and visit Istanbul..stay at this hotel!.What are you waiting for? See for yourself! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magnaura Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnaura Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.