We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of old city Sultanahmet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnaura Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Magnaura Palace to your Saves list
The Magnaura Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Geldrop, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of old city Sultanahmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is quite new and the staff very friendly and helpful. When I arrived at the airport (Atatürk), they had their driver waiting for me at 1am. Rooms were very clean, great shower. Breakfast was good, not great. The hotel is within walking distance of many tourist attractions. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    45
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
151
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Firstly the first time ive ever written a review on trip advisor but feel the reviews here so far don't necessarily reflect a balanced view of hotel in our experience.
We stayed at this hotel for four nights at beginning of June - we had a lovely stay in a nice hotel but the hotel def offers less than it promises - and indeed quotes it has!
Positives first, location perfect .. Right in the middle of old town, sights on your doorstep, amazing restaurant street just two mins walk away with a vast selection of places of all price ranges, many with roof terraces and views of sea and blue mosque ( tho when we asked for a restaurant recommendation on the first night, the hotel suggested a fish restaurant that they could get us a taxi to ??!!) needless to say we said we would wander ourselves and find somewhere.
Rooms: Very clean, New and nicely furnished. Great shower and bathroom Lovely big bed and crisp fresh linens but small / tiny also llovely to have balcony but again tiny ... Would not be able to sit on it, as photo on website shows.

Now the not so good
Terrace. We had been swayed to book this hotel by the roof terrace - beautiful photos on web page of roof terrace laid out for dining - ummm NO in actual fact it isn't actually finished yet, its still under construction. it's open for you to go up and view the view ( stunning - truly will be amazing) but its not open for you to have breakfast on or sit up there for evening drinks - Infact hotel doesn't even serve Alcohol ( be aware - no bar at all) When we asked they suggested we could take the water or coke from the room fridge up there if we wanted to have a drink up there - showing photos of something they don't have and had clearly just been 'staged' for a photo is pretty off.
The staff didn't make any attempt to apologise for this or understand that might be an issue, just "it's how it's is - be finished soon, then be lovely" not very helpful when youre only there on a one off trip.

Breakfast - yea,have low expectations - its ok but pretty basic .... All Laid out and left to sit, cordial juice, bread, tomato, cheese, bowl of yogurt etc and a extraordinary cornflake machine that crushed as it dispensed!! Nothing much to wow you there!!

We loved our stay in istanbul but the hotel reviews seem to big it up a lot more than our experience - Do stay here and im sure you will have great time but expect good not amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Open just 40 days when we arrived on May 18, 2012. Never would have guessed that they were a new operation. Everything was up and running and totally organized. The hotel is well appointed, well furnished, well managed. Staff could not have been more helpful. Raining the night we arrived and we had no idea if we could even get to a restaurant. Not to worry. Not only did manager walk us under an umbrella to a nearby restaurant but waited until we were seated and ordered for us. a grand meal, a truly Turkish eating experience, complete with patrons playing chess and backgammon, smoking giant water pipes and a whirling dervish performance.


Next morning treated to an amazing lavish breakfast. Could not have asked for more.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

After many days of searching for the perfect hotel in Istanbul, my friend found The Magnaura and we booked it immediately. I cannot believe our good fortune. We managed to book a boutique hotel that is brand new, well-maintained, and situated right in the heart of Sultanahmet.

The hotel staff became our family away from home. Mami, Mehmet, Ali, Umut, and Hatice were very caring, hospitable, friendly, and helpful to us. We were treated like princesses. The gang offered suggestions for dining, shopping, and sight-seeing. Their suggestions were always wonderful and helpful.

Our rooms were cozy, modern, and very clean. The towels smelled like a combination of lavendar and chamomile; it was certainly an added little touch that made a huge difference for me and my friend. Breakfast was served from 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m and contained a variety of delights: several types of cheeses, french bread (even whole wheat- hard to find in Turkey), simit, and some sort of pastry. There was always an assortment of fresh fruit, fruit salad, yogurt, cererals, dry fruit such as figs and apricots, jams, butter, and other spreads. The hot bar varied daily with eggs, Turkish pastrami, mushroom medley, cheese cigars, and more. Turkish coffee, apple tea, and Turkish tea rounded the breakfast menu. Mami was even sweet enough to offer us tea, coffee, or whatever we needed whenever we wished.

The view from the roof is that of The Blue Mosque. It's a magnificent piece of architecture and at night, it looks even more fantastic with flocks of seagulls circling the dome. The hotel is situated in a quiet corner but in the middle of all action of Sultanahmet. It is a short distance walk from the The Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace and it's fantastic Gülhane Parkı (with a tea house at the very end of the park overlooking the Asian Side), Basilica Cistern, and more. Right around the corner is a 24-hour cafe and sheesha lounge (Café Meşale) and the vibrant Arasta Bazaar.

Next time I'm in Istanbul, I will definitely stay at my home away from home. I will also recommend this little gem of a hotel to my friends and family.
..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just got back from turkey and had a fabulous time at this boutique hotel. We diligently researched many hotels and were delighted to come across this one.

It's in a prime location near all the historic sites and the service is impeccable! The hotel is new, so everything is clean, sharp, and has a lovely style for those who pay attention to detail and decor. Their towels even smell nice lol, and the staff seriously made us feel like family. Mehmet, Ali, mami, and umut would make us laugh and made our stay very enjoyable. I would definitely return here again and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is in a great spot to get to the main historical attractions. It is surrounded with small shops and cafes. It is walking distance to the tram and bazar. It is in a quiet street with little noise. The staff are helpful with inside tips of where to go and where to avoid. For travelling with a family or on your own it is a suitable environment. To Muammar, the manager, the part-owner, the ladies who cook and clean and the receptionist, thank you for a lovely experience in Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This newly opened hotel near the Blue Mosque in Sultanahmet has a lot of catching up to do. Located just behind the Blue Mosque and offering excellent views from its rooftop terrace, this hotel is a short walk from the main street and other attractions. My sister and I booked the suite with a sea view, but thought there was some room for improvement (the TV didn't work and there's no safe in the room).

The staff is warm, friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magnaura Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnaura Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.