We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old City Sultanahmet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old City Sultanahmet to your Saves list
Old City Sultanahmet
Emin Sinan Mahallesi Piyerloti Caddesi #41 | Cemberlitas/Old City/Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34490, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
1 review
“Good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This is such nice and fine hotel.. Never forget about this hotel.. Coz the employee truely amazing.. Especially mr. Sinan were very helpfull.. Guest i would come here again.. This Old City Sultanahmet hotel located at nearest blue mosque not so clostly but nearest the historical place.. So stratigic to go every corner of this town.. May be you should come pair a visit to this hotel..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    18
    5
    7
    16
See reviews for
31
35
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel before and there is one word to describe the quality of service and facilities - Excellent!

Booking was easy and the manager Sinan replies to emails in a very timely manner. No false promises and the whole interaction is very transparent. The staff goes out of their way to ensure there are no issues.

I would definitely recommend the hotel also because you can't go wrong with the location, as all the main attractions like the Blue Mosque are walking distance !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just returned from Old City Sultanahmet Hotel. We liked the hotel very much! It is small,comfortable,clean,good situated, (right in the centre 5 minutes from famous Blue Mosque Square) Hotel, Many cheap groceries around where you can buy everything. Very clean rooms, excellent staff. Excellent view from cafe-terrase to Bosfor. Service was very good, the rooms was warm, linens was changed every day. Special thanks to Sinan Erdogan who helped us very much!
We are planning to return the Hotel this autumn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived very late in the evening, but they welcomed us warmly to their hotel. The room was quite spacious, and it was cleaned every day. The A/C was a relief since it was really hot to be October. The breakfast was pretty basic, but the foods were tasty and kept us going until afternoon. And the view from breakfast room was amazing!

The only cons were that our TV didn't work, and sleep quality wasn't that good. The traffic and call to prayers at night woke us up at times, so take some earplugs with you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My first night, I was put in a room across the street from the hotel that shared a wall with a shoe-making factory. The banging and hammering continued until 11:00PM and began again at 7:15 the next morning. The internet didn't work, the shower head was fixed to point at the ceiling and the shower door didn't close, so the water flowed out over the floor. My complaint got me a room in the hotel proper with a lovely view of the Sea of Marmara; however, after 1 night in that room, I was told I had to move because the room had been reserved. So, in less than 48 hours, I occupied 3 rooms. The breakfast is very poor quality compared with other hotels in Turkey: stale bread, margarine and rubbery cheese. The location is the only thing this hotel has going for it

Room Tip: My first night, I was put in a room across the street from the hotel that shared a wall with a shoe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

we has stayed in this hotel with my famliy seven days and very enjoyed.before we had not come this hotel i checked soem reviews via tripadvisor and when i come i see that's true really about terrace view and room as well.Rooms SMALL but PERSONELS'S HEART VERY BIG this is very imoprtant then hotel for us then i am thinking when i want to visit to Sultanahmet i will be choose this hotel again hopesully.
From Baku
ILGAR KHALILOV

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velika Gorica, Croatia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Now when I am reading such positive reviews about this hotel, I'm not sure we stayed in the same hotel. Old City Sultanahmet hotel has a great location near tram station and major tourist sights like Grand Bazaar (Kapalıçarşı), Topkapı Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Süleymaniye Mosque. Hotel also has reception staff and owner who are friendly, helpful and very nice, and because of them is hard for me to give a bad review. But I also feel kinda obligated to warn other tourists what to expect.

First of all, avoid 5th floor! It is located just under the terrace where breakfast is served. That wouldn't be a problem if a lady that servers and prepares breakfast didn't make such noise with rearranging tables, rattling with cutlery and plates, and rudely listen to such loud music. All of that at 6-7 a.m.! After complaining about that to hotel owner, he was kind enough to give us a room on the 4th floor. But noise problems continued because walls are paper-thin and you can hear other guests walking up and down the stairs, slamming their doors, showering, drying hair and even talking.

Rooms are not so clean as cleaning ladies never use vacuum cleaner and clean bathrooms only with used towels. Bathroom is small, with some fungi under the shower and with broken shower head.

Breakfast is modest, definitely not suitable for people who like meat and eat well in the morning. But there are cornflakes, some pastry and cheese, and a great view over Marmara Sea.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old City Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Sultanahmet

Address: Emin Sinan Mahallesi Piyerloti Caddesi #41 | Cemberlitas/Old City/Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old City Sultanahmet Hotel welcomes you with modern, clean and comfortable 18 rooms, Located at the heart of Istanbul's historical peninsula once was named as; Byzantium, Nova Rome, Constantinople, "Konstantinopolis, Dersaadet and Istanbul and with views of two of the most magnificent masterpieces of world architecture, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, Old City Sultanahmet Hotel offers a unique experience to the guests. It is in the center of the Old City, within walking distance of most of the major sites such as Topkapi Palace, Archaeology Museum, St. Irene Church, Sultanahmet Square, Grand Bazaar, Egyptian Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Old City Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old City Sultanahmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.